$190 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
434 out of 434
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jo124
Business
new york
Jul 27, 2013

Perfect Hotel for Convenience

Needed a hotel near Penn Station. Reviews on this said rooms were small but the room was just right. bed comfortable, spacious bathroom with nice bath products. friendly staff. even offered continental breakfast which I did not know about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kedo
Business
N/A
Mar 20, 2015

Great value, great staff, great location

This hotel has bags of character and really good staff. It's in midtown Manhattan - literally a block away from the Empire State Building and just round the corner from Macy's - in a safe location. More than 100-years-old, its glory days were probably decades ago and if you are looking for luxury, modern or chic hotels this one is not for you. The lobby is impressively ornate, the rooms have seen better days - threadworn carpets, dull decor, heavy brown furniture and enamel-chipped bathroom fitments. But the rooms are big for NYC and spotlessly clean. The staff are impressive - on two occasions I had minor problems in the room (the TV and the security safe) on both occasions there was someone from maintenance at my door within 5 minutes of phoning reception and sorted out the problems quickly and efficiently. The amenities are fairly standard for a 3 star hotel - there is a TV, iron, safe, basic toiletries. No mini bar/fridge, coffee/tea making facilities, you pay extra for wifi - and it is expensive for what it delivers (about $9.99 /24hours for average speed). They serve muffins and tea/coffee every morning in the lobby, which is a nice way to start the day, and more than you'd expect from a 3 star. The heating was a bit of an issue - it could get very hot or quite chilly during the night. There is no climate control in the rooms (although there were extra blankets). But it was really just a minor point. Overall, this is a safe, great value hotel in central NYC with pleasant, efficient staff. I'd recommend it and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Josh from NYC
Business
Bronx
Mar 19, 2015

Money-Grubbing and Arrogant

Here goes -- our view outside the window was of a garbage disposal and dirty bricks, the heater was busted and turned on and off randomly, we had to call down multiple times for towels and soap, and there was an odd odor on the floor. But the kicker was the mandatory $3 charge for printing literally two pieces of paper. When I mentioned that the charge was quite excessive the man behind the counter, in a condescending manner, basically told me if I didn't like it I could take my business elsewhere. So I shall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David M.
Business
N/A
Mar 17, 2015

Superb Location

Lovely old hotel with stunning features, would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Russophile
Business
New London
Mar 12, 2015

decent hotel

the hotel's location is perfect for me - very close to Penn Station and a block away from Koreatown. The room has an interesting decor, but is spacious for New York. Shortcomings: no free wifi and the heater makes funny noise at night. Overall, it's a decent hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emir
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

ideal for first visit to NYC

We had a cosy room with no view and great refurbished bathroom. Staff, including concierge were professional and efficient. We loved the historic foyer décor. We found the room cleaning excellent. the location was safe and not too far from subway and attractions. The only strange thing was the hotel shop which could be turned into a positive amenity but now is understocked and often with nobody serving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emir
Business
N/A
Mar 4, 2015

ideal choice

The location was safe and central - very close to subway at 34th St and/or 28th St. and near enough to Penn Station for the LIRR and Airtrain from JFK. Staff very full and professional. room cosy with great bathroom. Lobby very striking and historic. Strange, understocked shop needs upgrading. We loved the muffins at breakfast. Super value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Philip H.
Business
Houston
Mar 4, 2015

Great location

A good value for NYC during Memorial Day Weekend. Great location - close to a lot of bars and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
m. c.
Business
New York
Mar 3, 2015

NYC Convienience

No Complaints, Staff was helpful and expedited things efficiently! Thanks Sraff Night 3/01

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rihm
Business
washington
Feb 24, 2015

very good,

Old Hotel, well maintained Nice staff The only complaint wifi not free, and you have to pay per device. However overall good experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christine H.
Business
N/A
Feb 23, 2015

Great Service in an Excellent Location

The hotel met all of my expectations. Assisted by friendly staff throughout my stay. Room was clean and spacious. Only complaint is that traffic was pretty audible from my room at night which was a quick fix with ear plugs as most of downtown NYC is pretty noisy. Would definitely recommend to friends and/or visit the Wolcott Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top