$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
390 out of 390
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maine College Mom
Business
Brewer, Maine
May 25, 2013

Close to Herald Square

Room was very spacious for the city -- and clean. My biggest complaint would be that smoking is allowed and the hallways were unbearable at times. Also, don't count on the concierge for accurate information...we knew more than she did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RaySFO
Business
San Francisco
Apr 23, 2013

Classic Hotel Find

The Wolcott Hotel is a delight. The staff is very helpful, rooms are very clean, bright and cheery, and its location is wonderful, only blocks from New York Penn Station, several restuarants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Short cab ride from Broadway theatre district. Or, short walk to subway, or busses.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
megan travel
Business
New Hampshire
Apr 21, 2013

small but clean

Rooms are small, but I wasn't in the room much so it was fine. Everything was clean and the location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

O'Reily's pub, excellent food!

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ibbe
Business
Bradford West Yorks
Apr 17, 2013

just the job

Great no probs whatsoever great value close to alot of the attractions especially the Empire State Building

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TitchBrighton
Business
Brighton, UK
Apr 16, 2013

Great location

The hotel staff were extremely helpful and most welcoming. The Wolcott is situated between fifth and sixth avenues, a few minutes from the Empire State Building and Macy's situated on sixth avenue. We were able to stroll along to Times Square which is no longer than 15 - 20 minute. Plenty of restaurants in the area, vary from Korean to steak houses. Buy a ticket for the bus tours you can negotiate an extra day and can hop on and hop off all over Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the Staten Island ferry for your Statue of Liberty viewing, free from Battery park and seems to run every half an hour

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DennisB6060
Business
Chicago
Apr 5, 2013

Decent value, but that's about it...

This is a very nice, clean, older hotel in a good spot near Macys and Madison Square Garden, and within quick walking distance to the Flatiron and Gramercy areas. It tends to attract younger and foreign groups travelling together as I witnessed during my stay. My room was very small but quite usable for sleeping and not much more. They gave me a high floor so it was fairly quiet. The bathroom sink and shower were very slow to react. And I was disappointed that the room lacked free internet. I'd recommend this to someone who needs very basic rooming for a reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Washburn
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 1, 2013

Week-end on the town

We thought this was good value. The staff was VERY accommodating and helpful. We liked the parking arrangement which did not cost an arm and a leg. Good muffins in the morning. And, yes, I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gigi23
Business
Dublin, Ireland
Mar 24, 2013

Good hotel in a great location

Good hotel, great central location for midtown sights (Empire State Building, Rockefellar, Times Square), shopping on 5th Avenue and surrounding areas and entertainment (near Broadway), but not ideal if you would like to be near bars or restaurants that real New Yorkers go to (ie East Village/ Lower East side). However, if you are happy to take a taxi downtown to these places, then the Hotel Wolcott is a good choice. The rooms could do with some updating/modernising, but overall they were clean and comfortable. The free coffee and muffins at breakfast is a real bonus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Best mom
Business
Birmingham England
Mar 15, 2013

My daughter Paige's 21st birthday treat

We arrived at the hotel and staff was very polite and welcoming, upgraded me and my daughter for free as she was 21 with a view of the Empire State from our room... Room was very clean with all that we needed.. Hotel lobby was amazing and we loved the stairs.. I have been to New York twice before and this was the best hotel I've stayed in... And will definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends and family... Amazing stay and an amazing time as was close to all attractions.. Loved it....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's... Empire State...

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Todd '65
Business
Washington DC
Mar 12, 2013

Good buy in good location

The Wolcott is an old hotel but it is well maintained, with bright attractive halls and rooms. Mostly just the basics for amenities but more than adequate for my needs. Unfortunately there are no coffee makers in the rooms but complimentary coffee and muffins are provided in the lobby from 6:30AM-10:30AM daily and there are fast food outlets just steps away. From the many languages heard in passing the Wolcott seems to be popular with international tourists. Though not luxurious it is comfortable and gives excellent value for a midtown Manhattan property. The staff was pleasant and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just around the corner from Manhattan's Korea Town (32nd St.) with its numerous Korean restaurants. Many fast food chains are nearby on 5th and there are other dining options availabe in the Flatiron District.

Back to menu Return to top