$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
474 reviews
Fantastic hotel at a great location

It couldn't be any better! We came in early, but they were able to give us a room immediately. No... See full review

  • nickskull
  • Jul 22, 2014
Great location!

Excellent staff, great view of Empire State building, I will stay at Wolcott Hotel again! See full review

  • Johnny Lyric
  • Jul 14, 2014
Henry Roger Wolcott hired John H. Duncan, the same designer who built Grant's Tomb, to build the Wolcott Hotel New York in 1904. The Erlich family purchased the hotel in 1975 and they have been dedicated to its meticulous restoration ever since. Adventurous travelers looking for a comfortable yet elegant home base while they tour New York City will find just what they're looking for at the Wolcott. Rich in history, the hotel is the place where, in 1907, Edith Wharton penned her novel, The Fruit of the Tree, while in residence. As time advanced, celebrities including Buddy Holly, the Everly Brothers and Miles Davis also stayed at the Wolcott. French and Renaissance styles, along with ornate stonework, crystal chandeliers, and marble columns adorn the Wolcott.
Key facts
  • 200 guestrooms
  • Conference room
  • Concierge
  • Gift shop and ATM
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Laundry facilities
Neighborhood
This grand hotel is located in Manhattan at 4 West 31st Street, between 5th Avenue and Broadway, which is just three blocks away from the Empire State Building, and close to Rockefeller Plaza and Madison Square Garden. Walk a couple of miles to reach Central Park for famous statues, movie spots, the John Lennon Strawberry Fields memorial, and adventure playgrounds where the kids can spend hours frolicking in the Big Apple sunshine.
Hints and tips
Talk to the concierge to help you book theater tickets to surprise your travel partner while you are enjoying your stay.

Some rooms come with a view of the Empire State Building, and you can also ask for a non-smoking or smoking option.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7465 -73.9867
Area served
New York, NY
Nearby airports
JFK Airport
Area description
Empire State Building United Nation

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wolcott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Wolcott Hotel Rooms

2 Twin Single Beds
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 2 single beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 270-400 sq.feet.
Jr. Suite
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. One room is the sleeping room with a queen bed, then pass through the open arch way into the parlor room with the day bed. Both rooms has TV, telephone, iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo, etc. 420-528 sq. ft.
3 Twin Beds
A great value, clean comfortable and affordable in New York City; room has 3 twin beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio tub shower, soap and shampoo. 420 sq feet.
Queen Bed
A great value, clean , comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 140-400 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Century Building: 0.7 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (474)

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
474 out of 474
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alex W
Manchester, UK
Nov 27, 2012

Pretty decent actually!

The Wolcott is more or less what it describes itself as, clean, functional (if a bit gaudy) and with an exceptional location. Subway stations were close by and the area was safe and quiet at night. Free wi-fi would have been a decent perk, rather than the high rates charged to get it yoursef. The room was on the small side and could have benefited from a tad more storage, but was clean and the standard of housekeeping was great. If you plan on being out and about rather than in a hotel, then that's not much of a problem! There was an issue with our reservation as *this website* had not released the funds to the hotel but the staff at the Wolcott assisted with this on our behalf and resolved the situation quickly. I did find some other staff members and the concierge a little on the brusk side, although I would happily return if on the same budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Get a Zagats guide and stick to it! There are a lot of wonderful places to eat in the city but around tourist areas, not so much.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lmb909
England
Nov 24, 2012

Girly getaway!

This hotel has an excellent location, helpful staff, Room upgrades which were free and a complimentary breakfast! This hotel is definitely value for money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Princess Poogly
Durham, UK
Nov 21, 2012

Great hotel, great location!

We stayed here November 2012 for 5 nights and loved it! Staff were really helpful, and the room we had was huge compared to other rooms we've had in NYC. Bathroom wasn't as roomy, but still ok and the shower was awesome and helped to blow away the jetlag! The hotel is in a great location - step out of the door and you can see the Empire State Building (2 blocks away). There's loads of bars and diners nearby and various subway lines are only 5 minutes walk away. There was coffee and muffins available every morning - but who wants to eat a full breakfast in the hotel when there's so many diners to try?! The room was clean and tidy and serviced every day - on the whole a great hotel and we would definitely stay there again if we go back to New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Murray Hill area (34th St / 3rd Avenue) has some good bars and restaurants within short walk

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JackS
Ireland
Nov 20, 2012

New York Getaway

Wonderful hotel, perfect location, I'd go back there in the morning if I was in New York. A thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris Durko
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Nov 20, 2012

40th birthday surprise

I took my wife to NY in Nov 12 and stayed at the Wolcott. Lovely Art Deco reception area with free muffins and tea/coffee everyday from 630-1030am and the staff were very helpful. Stayed in junior suite which was a really good size and was of a good standard for what you pay. We stayed in room 331 on 3rd floor but it was noisey due to air on units on top of the roof of the building outside window going off every half hour. Went to reception 730am on first morning to complain and Alan the night porter on reception was very helpful and showed me a different room on the other side of the hotel which was much better. Previously stayed in the Edison hotel and this was much better but about 10 mins walk from Theatre district but wasn't an issue. Rooms cleaned everyday. Empire State, Macys and subway on your doorstep. We bought NY pass before we went and saved some money overall on attractions. Water taxi around Liberty island and movie bus tour great value. Woodbury common outlet 50 mins away and 42 dollars return per person, but some good bargains when your there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ayrshire Scotland
Nov 19, 2012

Fab city location

I went with a friend we thoroghly enjoyed our stay staff were very helpfull with the exeption of the concierge who didnt seem to have a clue.. But think she was self employed anyway,room was clean and warm coffe and muffins in the morning were very welcome..location couldnt be better would stay there again happily..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ticket centre at times square very usefull also when walking around counting avenues before streets got quicker results.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2012 Anonymous
Boston, MA
Nov 5, 2012

Old but good for the price

Fine, not the cleanest place but not too bad. Mainly outdated stuff. Great price for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andysj
Aberdeen, Scotland
Nov 5, 2012

Sandy Visit in NYC

I don't normally write reviews but we enjoyed our stay at the hotel so much I just wanted to write a few words for anyone worried about staying at this "budget" hotel. We definately will be back next year. The beds are the comfiest I have ever slept on. The rooms are clean, well maintained and very comfortable and just perfect for a city break. The staff friendly and helpful and given the hurricance that hit during our visit, and no doubt concerns for their homes etc, professional and courteous. Nothing appeared to be a problem. Complimentary teas, coffees and stunning muffins were amazing and the concierge in the hotel made booking travel arrangement for our return to the airport effortless and stress free. The location of the hotel couldn't be better for some of the major attractions and sights and in closing I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Many thanks to all the staff, front desk and housekeeping who were there during our stay for making our holiday a fantastic time in what was a difficult week for them and the city as a whole. Andrew, Stuart and Callum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great breakfast just round the corner on W 32.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jane Elizabeth
Bristol, UK
Oct 20, 2012

Clean, comfortable hotel

Loved the location the hotel, hotel staff were very helpful.....would stay there anytime I was in New York

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Must do the bus tours you see so much you wouldn't cover on your own

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Annielaura
West Midlands
Oct 11, 2012

Girlie weekend away

Great location, within walking distance of Times Square and Broadway. We had view of someones fire escape, but kept blinds closed and meant that we had no noise from traffic! Foyer is very impressive, rooms however are basic, but very clean and comfortable. Lovely clean towels everyday! Staff were very friendly and always ready to help. The muffins served in the foyer at breakfast time were delicious and lasted us through to lunch. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top