$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
391 out of 391
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TP61
Business
TP Notingham
Dec 12, 2013

Wife`s birthday trip

Great holiday, hotel good, staff polite and helpful, would use the same hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

use subway or taxi

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jacqui jo
Business
N Ireland
Dec 11, 2013

Great hotel in ideal location

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel in an excellent location midway between both downtown and Times Square and just round the corner from macys and penn station. It is also just two streets from the Empire State Building. Staff were all helpful and the room cleaned and towels changed daily. The muffins and coffee for breakfast were yummy too and saved us time in the mornings as they could be eaten in the large foyer en route out for the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Within walking distance of 5th ave shopping, Times Square and also macys.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Woking Kay 53
Business
Surrey, UK
Dec 10, 2013

GOOD BUDGET MID TOWN MANHATTAN

FRIENDLY, CLEAN, COMFORTABLE AND GREAT LOCATION. A BIT DATED AND WOULD HAVE PREFERRED TEA MAKING FACILITIES BUT IT HAD AN IRON, HAIRDRYER AND FREE SAFE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chrismd
Business
Uk
Dec 8, 2013

Awesome central hotel

Stayed here from the 1st December for four nights. The location is perfect. Smack bang in the middle of manhattan. Five min walk to The Empire State Building, Time Square and Macy's. Room was fine. Fantastic shower. Decor not easy on the eye but it added to the faded glamour. Only downside was a searingly hot radiator which whistled like a boiling kettle through the night. Also the room had a fabulous view of the Empire State Building and loved the addition of muffins and coffee for breakfast. Staff where great. Had a problem with wi fi which was switly felt with and ordered a cab for the journey back to JFK and was greeted by a white stretch limo playing Xmas songs for the same money. All in all a great little hotel in a perfect location. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Geordie Wench
Business
North Lincolnshire England
Dec 5, 2013

Just round corner from Empire State and Macy's

Nice hotel great location, relaxed breakfast of fresh muffins tea or coffee in lobby . We had a twin smoking room for my niece who is a smoker but even as a non smoker it did not smell strongly of smoke. Good size twin and large bathroom, no view but also no noise. Shower was a little temperamental on temperature. Free luggage storage on last day.. Naomi was helpful when I emailed her prior to our arrival.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Heartland brewery bar right next door to Empire State good place to eat and drink. The taxi drivers do not know where they are going half the time unless you tell them the full address e.g. We wanted planet Hollywood in Times Square but he could only take us to Times Square as we didn't know the cross street number so we had to walk last bit and ask where it was. As a stranger to London, I know this would never happen to me with a London Cab driver.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dee dee
Business
Dublin
Dec 1, 2013

A great find

Loved this hotel ,great location for shopping and There is a subway nearby. Staff are very friendly, the rooms have comfy beds and are very clean. I must say the tea/ coffee and muffins are a delicious treat every morning. I would definitely recommend this lovely hotel to my friends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
'The organiser'
Business
manchester UK
Nov 27, 2013

Great Location and cleanliness

My first trip to NY, girls shopping and sightseeing, Hotel isJust off 5th Ave and 2 mins from the Empire state building. Great Location. The hotel is spotless, the rooms are a good size, but very warm when the heating is on, which we couldnt turn down , although there is a small air con unit. The reception staff were very helpful, The concierage was patronising and unhelpful We had a fantastic time, and Would definitely stay there again..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Empire state 2 mins Main Shopping 5 - 10 mins Times Sq 10 - 15 mins walk Taxis are not expensive

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
YS623
Business
Los Angeles, California
Nov 26, 2013

First time in New York City

This hotel was perfect. Located near the Herald Square subway station that connects to other subway lines and is one stop away from Times Square. Location was great. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly and the room was perfect and very clean. Not your average New York hotel! They also have complimentary muffins and tea in the morning. Thanks for being accommodating, Wolcott Hotel Staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to subway station on 32nd and Broadway.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Passanezi
Business
Ribeirao Preto, Brasil
Nov 21, 2013

Comments

The hotel is very good, great location, confortable, clean, attentive staff. Negative point: no free wifi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

from macys

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Drew Scotland
Business
Inverness Scotland
Nov 13, 2013

Quirky but in a good way

Very comfortable and pleasant hotel. Beautiful building inside and out. Was given double room though travelling alone. Smoking room as requested. Lobby is magnificent, a pleasant change to usual bland modern hotel type. Room generously sized despite other comments. Noise not a problem heard nothing except sirens which are not rare in Manhattan! Room was cleaned spotlessly each day. Staff are all polite and pleasant. Actually I never encountered the notorious New York rudeness anywhere. Enjoyed my coffee and muffins in the morning. Would be nice if hotel supplied breakfast and had a bar. However I knew all that in advance, so can't complain. And I finally know what a muffin is! Hotel location could not be improved upon, most sights within walking distance and Empire State just around corner. Incidentally my favourite spot was the famous Flatiron building. Mesmerising! Hotel price remarkably reasonable by midtown Manhattan standards. I will stay here again and am happy to recommend hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice meals in O'Reilly's Bar between hotel and Penn Station. Look left coming out hotel and you'll see the sign.

Back to menu Return to top