$165 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
397 out of 397
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
colette super woman
Couples
Dublin , Ire
Mar 26, 2014

couples get away

ideal location , 2 blocks from statue of liberty and just off 5th ave.we up graded to a junior suite and well worth the extra. staff always very friendly and helpful. the free muffins and tea or coffee in the morning were a treat. we stayed in N.Y last summer in an apartment but further downtown, here we found you were no more than 10 to 15 mins walk to all main attractions, we really enjoyed walk over Brooklyn bridge and the highline, would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

try " rattle and Hum" on 33rd or oReillys on 35th for great food and drinks.!

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LucyApril 2013
Family
NYC
Mar 24, 2014

Clean and convenient

No frills, no free internet. Clean, comfortable, convenient, and muffins w coffee every morning in the lobby. We had a semi suite w 3 twin beds. Nice and quiet, while only 2 blocks to the ESB.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cross the street to Ayza for wine and chocolate. Hit up Mandoo Bar for Korean one block north.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
irish girls
Friends
Ireland
Mar 24, 2014

location, location, location

3 blocks from the empire state building and very close to Penn station which made exploring the city so simple and cheap

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

"Bread and butter" located just over 5th ave for great value range for food and drinks 24/7. City pass is good value if you are ready to pack the sight seeing into a short time. We got a 3 day pass but its can be hard to fit enough to cover the cost price. The Century 21 store on Broadway and cortlandt st is great value for shopping in Manhattan

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jones 2014
Family
Exeter
Mar 24, 2014

Amazing location!

Great value for money and perfect location for seeing all the sights. Could see the empire state building from our bed room window :) Staff were nice a bit off-ish at times but nothing major. Lots of places to eat close by!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Deli/cafe on the corner of E31st opposite dunkin doughnuts, amazing selection of food all freshly prepared and great value for money.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sandra and james
Couples
westmeath ireland
Mar 22, 2014

great hotel.great location.great price

The hotel was a very enjoyable stay.the bed was so comfortable to sleep in.quiet location but only mins away from all the hussle of 34th st and 10 mins from times sq.the tea and muffins were great every morning.only downside was no free wifi.would defo stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Buba gumps in times square.excellent food and service not to be missed.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Egon3
Couples
New York
Feb 26, 2014

charming quirky hotel

This was perfect for a one night get away. The room was spacious (for New York) and exceptionally clean. The décor is a quirky combo of Old New York and motel modern. Location proximity to Penn Station was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ansam
Single
New York
Feb 26, 2014

A pleasant experience

Although the hotel was very pleasant, clean and well positioned I found the facilities basic. I found it difficult to get used to the cardboard cups for coffee and eating breakfast in the lobby amongst the hustle and bustle of tourists coming and going. However I did enjoy my stay I particularly found the hotel very convenient for accessing the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
m and p
Couples
brighton
Feb 23, 2014

great location and good value

We enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is very near to Macys, empire state, and the Metro. You can walk to time square easily. The hotel is old fashioned, it has a grand lobby and lounge area. The rooms are quite 1980's in decor but we did not mind this. The hotel has a cheap laundry room, ice machine and vending machines in the basement which was really handy. Really nice free muffins and coffee each morning was a real bonus. Would recommend a stay here. We stayed in 719 which has a view of the empire state. We did book a junior suite but this was at back of hotel and waa dark so we moved. Smoking is also permitted in hotel which we didn't like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to macys visitors centre to get 10% discount voucher. Bring passport for this.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ChristinaAaron
Couples
st augustine, fl
Feb 21, 2014

Great spot to stay at in the city

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Wolcott. The hotel location is more than ideal, everything you need is within walking distance. The room was clean, not fancy but more than sufficient for our needs. We will stay there again and we both recommend it to anyone that is looking for a clean, affordable place to stay at in manhattan. Thanks guys!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk anywhere! :)

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mei's Robot
Couples
MA
Feb 9, 2014

Very Good For Sight Seeing in New York

The location is excellent, just in the center of Manhattan. It's near Korean Town so very easy to find restaurants. The room is large. The down side is that the Internet costs a bit and is per device.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top