$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2014 Check-out: Apr 30, 2014

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
327 reviews
Great Place

My daughter and I traveled to NYC for the first time and this was a great place to stay. I loved... See full review

  • trey72
  • Apr 8, 2014
great hotel.great location.great price

The hotel was a very enjoyable stay.the bed was so comfortable to sleep in.quiet location but only... See full review

  • sandra and james
  • Mar 22, 2014
Get some rest and rejuvenation in a centrally located NYC hotel

From the moment that guests lay their eyes on the Wolcott Hotel, they will notice its impressive construction, complete with classic French style and decor.  This hotel prides itself on providing accommodation that is rich with elegance, but that is also reasonably priced.  It is situated in a prime location, thus making it convenient for guests to walk to the many desirable sights, including shops, dining, world-famous attractions and theaters.  Visitors can also obtain tickets to the numerous local attractions via the concierge desk.  For those traveling on business, the Wolcott Hotel has a 265 square foot meeting room.

Reasons to stay
  • Within walking distance of theaters, shops, dining and attractions
  • Plush, luxurious accommodation at affordable rates
  • Several room size options, including two-room suites
Wolcott Hotel rooms

The Wolcott Hotel features 200 guest rooms, including 63 two-room suites that come with two or three beds and a common parlor area.  Standard rooms come with either two twin-sized beds or one queen-sized bed.  No matter what size room a guest chooses, in-room amenities include TVs with pay-per-view and Nintendo gaming systems, telephone with voicemail service, iron and ironing board, safe and bathroom with shower/tub combinations and hair dryers.  Some rooms also provide great views of the Empire State Building.

Things to do nearby
  • Empire State Building (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Macy's Herald Square (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Theater District (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Central Park (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Ground Zero (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Yankee Stadium (8.5 mi/13.7 km)

Wolcott Hotel Rooms

2 Twin Single Beds
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 2 single beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 270-400 sq.feet.
Jr. Suite
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. One room is the sleeping room with a queen bed, then pass through the open arch way into the parlor room with the day bed. Both rooms has TV, telephone, iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo, etc. 420-528 sq. ft.
3 Twin Beds
A great value, clean comfortable and affordable in New York City; room has 3 twin beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio tub shower, soap and shampoo. 420 sq feet.
Queen Bed
A great value, clean , comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 140-400 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wolcott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7465 -73.9867
Area served
New York, NY
Nearby airports
JFK Airport
Area description
Empire State Building United Nation

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Century Building: 0.7 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (327)

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
327 out of 327
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Lmb909
England
Nov 24, 2012

Girly getaway!

This hotel has an excellent location, helpful staff, Room upgrades which were free and a complimentary breakfast! This hotel is definitely value for money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Best mom
Birmingham England
Mar 15, 2013

My daughter Paige's 21st birthday treat

We arrived at the hotel and staff was very polite and welcoming, upgraded me and my daughter for free as she was 21 with a view of the Empire State from our room... Room was very clean with all that we needed.. Hotel lobby was amazing and we loved the stairs.. I have been to New York twice before and this was the best hotel I've stayed in... And will definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends and family... Amazing stay and an amazing time as was close to all attractions.. Loved it....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's... Empire State...

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Todd '65
Washington DC
Mar 12, 2013

Good buy in good location

The Wolcott is an old hotel but it is well maintained, with bright attractive halls and rooms. Mostly just the basics for amenities but more than adequate for my needs. Unfortunately there are no coffee makers in the rooms but complimentary coffee and muffins are provided in the lobby from 6:30AM-10:30AM daily and there are fast food outlets just steps away. From the many languages heard in passing the Wolcott seems to be popular with international tourists. Though not luxurious it is comfortable and gives excellent value for a midtown Manhattan property. The staff was pleasant and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just around the corner from Manhattan's Korea Town (32nd St.) with its numerous Korean restaurants. Many fast food chains are nearby on 5th and there are other dining options availabe in the Flatiron District.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Hawaiian Traveler
Tustin, CA
Mar 11, 2013

Great Stay in NY

The location was great, value terrific and the Jr. Suite very comfortable. The staff at the front desk was not very cordial or friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
tinat
herts uk
Mar 7, 2013

long weekend

Hotel in good location just round the corner from empire building and Macys. Hotel needs updating, But we had a good stay. we had a twin room which was a good size, but bathroom needs updating. Hotel ok for long weekend. I would stay again for long weekend but no longer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Loraine Serious Shopper
Limerick, Ireland
Feb 21, 2013

Irish Eyes are Smiling

Having visited NY many many times, I decided to try a different hotel this time. The Wolcott both met and exceeded my expectations, with the friendly staff, free morning refreshment in lobby, a clean comfortable room (although this was a bit too hot for comfort). Woulddefinitely stay here again and highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Use Taxis instead of subway, you get there quicker, see NY and is much more comfortable way to travel

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Vandershredder
Silver Spring, MD
Feb 19, 2013

Great Location

The hotel is in a wonderful location! The price was just right and the lobby was beautiful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Keen's Steakhouse was amazing! There is so much history that you can soak up. Their specialty are mutton chops. There was great!

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
sometimes visitor
New Castle County, De
Feb 18, 2013

winter weekend

Room was much smaller than expected, listed as a suite with sofa bed- that turned out to be a trundle. Bathroom old and shower didn't work well - no cold water from shower head and tub drained very slowly. TV's old with poor reception. Very high price for WIFI use

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
World Travel Bug
Business
UK
Feb 17, 2013

Budget-friendly but missing key perks

Staff were nice and liked they offer coffee and muffins each morning. You cannot beat this location - it is perfect and allows you to walk everywhere. My disappointments were that the room was out of date and felt musty and old, there were crumbs in one corner of the room. Also didn't like that wifi is an extra charge when so many hotels in the same neighborhood offer for free. Surprised that upon checkout they don't keep your bags free of charge but instead you have to pay for a locker - first time I've ever seen this in any hotel. My room also faced inside so no nice view or natural light. Won't go back because I like my perks and for the same price I can get a much cleaner room with a nice city view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
JGB953
Business
Philadelphia
Feb 14, 2013

NIce for the price

Nothing special but very good for the price. Got upgraded for free when I checked in

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
EddieC
Ireland
Feb 13, 2013

nice and quite,

enjoyed our stay,hotel very clean,comfortable,staff very helpful,hotel very quiet which is grand if that's what your looking for. no bar or restaurant but complimentary tea coffee and muffins

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top