$190 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
395 out of 395
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aunty Melvina
new Zealand
Aug 17, 2013

an oasis of calm and Olde worlde charm

From the first moment I walked in the door I felt comfortable. Fantastic foyer, friendly helpful staff and on site information desk where you can book discounted shows and various sightseeing options. The room was lovely;spacious, clean and homely. No fridge or coffee machine however. But that is minor. Complimentary muffins and coffee served in the morning. Location top notch, right on 5th Avenue and close to many attractions and subway. Would thoroughly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cryd
Business
Austin tx
Dec 16, 2013

Good but could have been great

The hotel is a beautiful old ornate hotel that was a good buy for the money for NYC. The staff was helpful though businesslike. Location was good very near Madison Squ Garden and Empire State Bldg. We felt very safe there. The things that detracted from our experience were: hotel rooms were uncomfortably warm even when the maintenance men turned off the radiator, which knocked loudly at times making it difficult to sleep. We slept with the air conditioner on though the highs were below freezing and it was snowing. However, it blows right on your head at night so we had to put a chair in front of the window a/c to divert the blowing air at night. There is not much insulation between rooms so we heard doors slam all night. We were close to the cleaning closet and elevators as all junior suites are in the middle of the hotel so we would recommend a room further from the center hallway. Showers went from scalding hot to cold when another guest must have flushed or run water, so we took tub baths. Free coffee tea and muffins each morning was nice though they were exactly the same muffins every day of five, which we wondered why they couldn't rotate another choice occasionally. No cream for coffee, just weak skim milk, so that could easily be fixed too at little cost to the hotel. And one of our guests didn't drink tea or coffee so juice or better milk would have been welcome. Beds slept well, towels were nice and fluffy. If the hotel can fix these items, I would have rated them 4 or 4 1/2. Even just whole milk or cream for coffee, more variety of muffins, and maybe a juice choice would have made a better experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Martinique on Broadway was a great experience. Good value, variety and excellent food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christmas Traveler
Business
Phoenix
Dec 16, 2013

Wolcott Hotel is great

We arrived at the hotel and were immediately impressed with the decor. It is fabulous. Thenight staff greeted us enthusiastically. The rooms have twin beds, but for us, it was just right. The rooms are clean. The bathrooms are big and clean. The location is good - it is just 3 blocks from the Empire State Building and 1 long block and 4 or 5 short blocks to Macy's.. It would be good to know ahead of time where the restaurants are located, but we did find some good pizza places. And there is a Dunkin Doughnuts and Subway just across the street. There was coffee and muffins in the morning. I would stay here again. Note, if it rains, ask the staff to put a towel on the A/C unit outside the window to deaden the sound of water dripping. Again, good hotel, good price, good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Empire State Building

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bintang Oka
Business
Boston, ma
Dec 15, 2013

Couples getaway

Owh I really recommend this hotel to others and I'm going back to this hotel for sure coz naim the name of the staff who is helping me is very nice and helpful and the other staff to nice information while they give. I love this place. I would like to get a special price when I'm staying so I can stay any longer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Good place for shopping sightseeing tour and a lot of activities you can do it and to know the area that you have never know. The price you pay the service you get

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
briblack
Business
Brooklyn
Dec 14, 2013

ultimate crash pad

Stayed one night after the office party. Woke up had the free coffee muffin walked to work. Perfect. What a lobby! Like a walk back to the 20th c.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's is two blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Charuchan
Business
Orlando, Florida
Dec 14, 2013

Great hotel

Love muffin they served in the morning :) staff is very kind and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kidder
Business
Stoke- On- Trent, England.
Dec 13, 2013

Brilliant Christmas getaway.

The Wolcott Hotel is in a fantastic location just off fifth avenue. It is ideally situated for all midtown places of interest. With the Empire State Building and Macys only 3 streets away. Times Square and the fantastic Christmas tree at Rockerfeller just a short stroll away. The hotel itself is small and cosy and you are made to feel welcome. We had the junior suite which was tastefully decorated and very comfortable. There were coffee and muffins in the foyer for breakfast which were very tasty and set you up for the morning. We would definitely go back to the Wolcott if we visit New York again. We have previously stayed in the Waldorf Astoria but felt cosier in the Wolcott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tick Tock Diner on 35th /8th avenue( under New Yorker hotel). Very good value meals. Set you up for the day. Portions are massive. Used it 3 times during our 5 day stay and each time it was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CFWS
Business
Glenelg, MD
Dec 13, 2013

Older but great staff

Hotel a bit South but close to Herald Square and subway. Staff wonderful . Brought us a refrig.when we asked for a place to store our doggie bags. Asked for extra washcloths and they brought us eight. Yummy complimentary gourmet style muffins in AM. Old but clean and worked for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Love Carmine's....must make reservation

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TP61
Business
TP Notingham
Dec 12, 2013

Wife`s birthday trip

Great holiday, hotel good, staff polite and helpful, would use the same hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

use subway or taxi

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ruthie7777
Business
Southern California
Dec 12, 2013

Amazing Location and Great Staff!

The price is great for what you get. The rooms aren't amazing but you're in the middle of everything. Walking distance to Madison Square Garden and Empire State Building. It doesn't get any better than that!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Eataly! It is an amazing Italian restaurant!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jacqui jo
Business
N Ireland
Dec 11, 2013

Great hotel in ideal location

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel in an excellent location midway between both downtown and Times Square and just round the corner from macys and penn station. It is also just two streets from the Empire State Building. Staff were all helpful and the room cleaned and towels changed daily. The muffins and coffee for breakfast were yummy too and saved us time in the mornings as they could be eaten in the large foyer en route out for the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Within walking distance of 5th ave shopping, Times Square and also macys.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top