$150 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
397 out of 397
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Best mom
Family
Birmingham England
Mar 15, 2013

My daughter Paige's 21st birthday treat

We arrived at the hotel and staff was very polite and welcoming, upgraded me and my daughter for free as she was 21 with a view of the Empire State from our room... Room was very clean with all that we needed.. Hotel lobby was amazing and we loved the stairs.. I have been to New York twice before and this was the best hotel I've stayed in... And will definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends and family... Amazing stay and an amazing time as was close to all attractions.. Loved it....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's... Empire State...

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Medway Mouse
Couples
England
May 18, 2014

Location, Location, Location!

We felt the Hotel has a perfect location whilst still having a quiet room as requested. We felt the only minor let down were certain amenities missing in the room ie; kettle and free wi-fi although was available at a cost. We would return and also recommend to others. An unusual service offered were the free muffins and coffee for breakfast in the foyer! Most welcome if this is your thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Intrepid - Air, Sea & Space Museum

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Inferno
Family
San Antonio
May 16, 2014

Great Location

Great location and great staff. The bathroom was little bit small but it was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lou50
Friends
New York City
May 14, 2014

Great trip to NYC

The Wolcott lived up to the reviews! From the minute we walked into the beautiful foyer we felt welcomed. The staff were very friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. The complimentary muffins and tea & coffee every morning were greatly appreciated. The room (a Queen suite) was clean and comfortable and met our needs completely. The location was Midtown and within wlaking distance of shops, subway and just round the corner was the Empire State Building (could even see it from the front of the hotel!) I would recommend this hotel without hesitation to people who prefer ambience to amenities, although it did have a small gym. Great value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: In Hotel

Most things within walking distance - wear comfortable shoes!! Would recommend cycling round Central Park - walking is pretty tough going!!

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mk1977
Oklahoma City, OK
May 13, 2014

Small, but cozy rooms in a great location

The room was much smaller than I anticipated from the pictures, but they were still comfortable and meet our needs (a place to sleep, shower and change clothes.) The thing I was must concerned about staying in Manhattan was not being able to sleep with all the noise in the streets. This was not an issue at The Wolcott. It was quiet. We had an interior facing room, so not a lot of light coming through the windows. This, plus the quiet was nice for sleeping in! The location was great. Not a lot of traffic in front of the hotel, but close to several Subway stations, which made it great to get to different attractions. The staff were always friendly and helpful. Although hotel has that antique look and feel, the bedding and furnishings were nice and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The breakfast here was ok if you are in hurry (muffins and coffee.) At the end of the block, across the street is a great deli (bread and butter) that has great prepared, made-to-order and buffet style food. We ate there every morning for a reasonable price. Lots of options, healthy or otherwise

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Little dutch girl
Couples
The Netherlands
May 11, 2014

Great location, very central!

Our room was a perfect New York size room. Enough room to open a suitcase, and enough room to move around. The room was clean and the cleaning staff was friendly. The man at the front desk was friendly. The location is ideal to get around to all the popular sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ground zero /Memorial Currently you can go for free (donations highly recommended) to see the new "Twin Towers" and the memorial fountains.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paloss
Couples
Ecuador
May 5, 2014

Amazing location

The hotel is very close to two subway stations, 2 blocks away from the empire state, lots of restaurates around. The hotel was clean, staff friendly, the room was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Owen super dad
Family
Long Island NY
May 5, 2014

Nice midtown NYC hotel

This hotel is in a fantastic location in midtown but the room was very dated and the bathroom was very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Irvioooo
Single
Boston, MA
May 2, 2014

Great for Price/Location

This was a a decent hotel. It was very affordable and close to everything in Midtown. You are a block behind the Empire State Building. The rooms were a little small. The staff was friendly. The hotel does have a vintage feel to it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jasongn
Friends
NYC
Apr 21, 2014

great value and location

clean rooms, friendly staff, fantastic location and great value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
trey72
Family
Oregon
Apr 8, 2014

Great Place

My daughter and I traveled to NYC for the first time and this was a great place to stay. I loved that is was old looking and the staff was amazing!! They were great with any questions we had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the subway everywhere!

Back to menu Return to top