$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
390 reviews
Fabulous stay

I would recommend this hotel to everyone. It is beautiful and old! Loved that! Great muffins and... See full review

  • Satisfied Grammy
  • Jul 22, 2015
I love NYC!!!

This was my first time in NYC. The Wolcott is conveniently located and the price is great! Rome is... See full review

  • hokiejay95
  • Jul 12, 2015
Henry Roger Wolcott hired John H. Duncan, the same designer who built Grant's Tomb, to build the Wolcott Hotel New York in 1904. The Erlich family purchased the hotel in 1975 and they have been dedicated to its meticulous restoration ever since. Adventurous travelers looking for a comfortable yet elegant home base while they tour New York City will find just what they're looking for at the Wolcott. Rich in history, the hotel is the place where, in 1907, Edith Wharton penned her novel, The Fruit of the Tree, while in residence. As time advanced, celebrities including Buddy Holly, the Everly Brothers and Miles Davis also stayed at the Wolcott. French and Renaissance styles, along with ornate stonework, crystal chandeliers, and marble columns adorn the Wolcott.
Location
This grand hotel is located in Manhattan at 4 West 31st Street, between 5th Avenue and Broadway, which is just three blocks away from the Empire State Building, and close to Rockefeller Plaza and Madison Square Garden. Walk a couple of miles to reach Central Park for famous statues, movie spots, the John Lennon Strawberry Fields memorial, and adventure playgrounds where the kids can spend hours frolicking in the Big Apple sunshine.
Highlights
  • 200 guestrooms
  • Conference room
  • Concierge
  • Gift shop and ATM
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Laundry facilities
Policies
Talk to the concierge to help you book theater tickets to surprise your travel partner while you are enjoying your stay.

Some rooms come with a view of the Empire State Building, and you can also ask for a non-smoking or smoking option.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wolcott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Wolcott Hotel Rooms

2 Twin Single Beds
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 2 single beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 270-400 sq.feet.
Jr. Suite
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. One room is the sleeping room with a queen bed, then pass through the open arch way into the parlor room with the day bed. Both rooms has TV, telephone, iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo, etc. 420-528 sq. ft.
3 Twin Beds
A great value, clean comfortable and affordable in New York City; room has 3 twin beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio tub shower, soap and shampoo. 420 sq feet.
Queen Bed
A great value, clean , comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 140-400 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Century Building: 0.7 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.7 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
390 out of 390
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pusspuss
Cork, Ireland
Jan 23, 2013

You get what you pay for

I think anybody who would voice criticism about this hotel would be sadly lacking. If you want five star standard, then be prepared to pay five star rates. The hotel claims to be a 2 to 3 star and that is the standard it has set. In fact, in my opinion it is a 4 star standard. The foyer is impressive with old fashioned carpet complimenting the magnificent ceiling. The bedroom is small, but adequate. The bathroom is small, but again adequate. The bath is for bathing, not luxuriating in, in other words it is too small to lie within. The room is not sparkling clean, but is certainly acceptably clean. Travelling on my own, I felt safe in the hotel and the surrounding area. In fact I walked from Grand Central to the hotel at 11pm. on a Friday night. The two lifts are located directly beside reception, which gave me the feeling that nobody would have access to the lifts without being noticed. This helped me to feel secure. There are muffins and coffee/tea served in the foyer in the morning, for which there is no charge, so I certainly hope that nobody would have the nerve to be critical about any aspect of this service. There are two lifts, both are small, there is no dining room, the bedroom and bathroom are not big, but if you choose to stay in an inexpensive hotel, then you get inexpensive standards. I have stayed in other hotels in New York, one being THE LONDON HOTEL. Superb hotel with superbly high rates. You get what you pay for, please remember that. All in all, the Wolcott was superb value for New York and I most definitely would recommend it to anybody that isn't picky and silly about where they stay..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Leslie C.
Business
seattle
Jul 26, 2015

Noisy

We were awakened every morning by the sound of the hot water running through the pipes. For being on west coast time, this was EXTREMELY early and not a good way to start the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Satisfied Grammy
Business
EPSOM
Jul 22, 2015

Fabulous stay

I would recommend this hotel to everyone. It is beautiful and old! Loved that! Great muffins and coffee complimentary in the morning. Fantastic service! The staff is the best! Our room was actually 2 rooms! Bathroom small, but who cares when you have such great service and the rest of he room is so large.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hope A.
Business
N/A
Jul 12, 2015

Terrific Time

It was my elderly mom's first time to NYC and the Wolcott was centrally located to all of the action- cabs, public transportation was easy accessible. During our stay my mom got sick and the staff assisted her while I was out on business. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hokiejay95
Business
Wilmington
Jul 12, 2015

I love NYC!!!

This was my first time in NYC. The Wolcott is conveniently located and the price is great! Rome is a little small however if you are going to NYC you aren't going there to spend it in the room. The room was very clean and comfortable. There are free muffins or coffee in the morning but there is a Dunkin Donuts conveniently located across the street. I will definitely be staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Claus K.
Business
Dublin
Jul 9, 2015

Cheap budget stay

The Wolcott is an old style hotel with many interesting features. However since Miles Davis stayed here not much has changed. The room was clean and comfortable but a bit of renovation would be nice. Hot water in the bathrooms needs some 5 minutes to appear hot and the pipes are quite noisy. WIFI is not complimentary but $10 per 24h and if you want it for multiple devices you have to purchase for each device. Breakfast is not available at all but therefor free coffee and muffins are provided in the lobby from 6am. Staff was very friendly and provided a late-check-out for free and I could leave my luggage with them for another few hours before I had to take my the shuttle to the airport which could be booked for reasonable $30 in the reception. If you are not looking for a romantic weekend stay but rather for a budget hotel in midtown this is perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Famfun
Business
N/A
Jul 8, 2015

Classic and beautiful look. Comfy. Delightful

The most beautiful hotel with a classic look. Devine. Staff were pleasant and courteous. My first choice hotel on my next trip into the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dilia D.
Business
N/A
Jul 7, 2015

Awesome weekend getaway

The hotel was quiet clean unique and perfect for someone on a budget

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kthom
Business
Philadelphia
Jul 7, 2015

Nice hotel in a great location!

I got this hotel for a deal and was a little concerned since I paid such a small amount but I couldn't of been happier when I arrived. I booked the twin bed room and it was spacious for New York standards. The room and the bathroom was spotless. The location is awesome! Close to Macy's, Empire State Building and loads of subway lines. The only thing I can really complain about is that the staff weren't super nice but they were helpful and that wouldn't deter me from staying there again. Lovely hotel and I will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent NYC visitor 16
Business
basking ridge
Jul 7, 2015

High Value at Time Visited

Got very low rate on summer Fri night before July 4. Though not exciting location, safe and short walk to multiple subway lines. Within half mile walk to wide range of shopping, parks, entertainment etc. Few long blocks from Penn Sta. Walkable with luggage and beats long taxi lines or dragging luggage in and out of subways. Agree with others re: age but comfortable and there are some interesting room configurations - e.g. mini suite-type with trundle and queen bed in separate sleeping area, 2 TVs, 1 bath. Only ice machine requires elevator to lobby then walk down to sub level. Old ornate lobby fun to see and offers sofa and lounge chair seating. Newer low cost hotels often have minimal lobbies and no gathering space. Didn't pay to use internet (an irritant but just used cell phone). From hotel go south on 5th Av very short walk to EATALY. Very cool Italian marketplace with lots to sample.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Valerie S.
Business
N/A
Jul 5, 2015

Fantastic trip for my daughter grand-daughter and I

I have stayed at the Hotel Wolcott before so new it was very good. We had a triple room which was excellent for 3 adults (my grand-daughter is 18) It was very clean and had air-con. The bathroom was quite small but it wasn,t a problem. The staff were very friendly and helpful with any queries. We were on the 10th floor looking out onto the street so the view was very good. Hotel very close to Broadway, Seventh Ave, so walking distance to Times Square, Macys and Empire States. My only 2 negative would be that there isn't any tea and coffee making facilities in the room although every morning in the Foyer they had coffee plus muffins for the guests. There is a Subway (Dunkin Doughnuts) nearly opposite the hotel which is ideal for breakfast. Also you have to pay for WiFi but Subway has it free. So I would recommend this hotel for couples and families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top