$190 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
434 reviews
Great trip

We had a great time in New York. The location of the Woldorf was first class - we could walk to all... See full review

  • Ann Mac
  • May 21, 2015
great location!

We loved our cute room. They held our bags do we could go shopping before we traveledon. Loved our... See full review

  • Tori the Teacher
  • May 12, 2015
Henry Roger Wolcott hired John H. Duncan, the same designer who built Grant's Tomb, to build the Wolcott Hotel New York in 1904. The Erlich family purchased the hotel in 1975 and they have been dedicated to its meticulous restoration ever since. Adventurous travelers looking for a comfortable yet elegant home base while they tour New York City will find just what they're looking for at the Wolcott. Rich in history, the hotel is the place where, in 1907, Edith Wharton penned her novel, The Fruit of the Tree, while in residence. As time advanced, celebrities including Buddy Holly, the Everly Brothers and Miles Davis also stayed at the Wolcott. French and Renaissance styles, along with ornate stonework, crystal chandeliers, and marble columns adorn the Wolcott.
Key facts
  • 200 guestrooms
  • Conference room
  • Concierge
  • Gift shop and ATM
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Laundry facilities
Neighborhood
This grand hotel is located in Manhattan at 4 West 31st Street, between 5th Avenue and Broadway, which is just three blocks away from the Empire State Building, and close to Rockefeller Plaza and Madison Square Garden. Walk a couple of miles to reach Central Park for famous statues, movie spots, the John Lennon Strawberry Fields memorial, and adventure playgrounds where the kids can spend hours frolicking in the Big Apple sunshine.
Hints and tips
Talk to the concierge to help you book theater tickets to surprise your travel partner while you are enjoying your stay.

Some rooms come with a view of the Empire State Building, and you can also ask for a non-smoking or smoking option.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wolcott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Wolcott Hotel Rooms

2 Twin Single Beds
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 2 single beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 270-400 sq.feet.
Jr. Suite
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. One room is the sleeping room with a queen bed, then pass through the open arch way into the parlor room with the day bed. Both rooms has TV, telephone, iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo, etc. 420-528 sq. ft.
3 Twin Beds
A great value, clean comfortable and affordable in New York City; room has 3 twin beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio tub shower, soap and shampoo. 420 sq feet.
Queen Bed
A great value, clean , comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 140-400 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Century Building: 0.7 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.7 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
434 out of 434
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nickskull
Cape Coral, Florida
Jul 22, 2014

Fantastic hotel at a great location

It couldn't be any better! We came in early, but they were able to give us a room immediately. No problems with the reservation. The location is absolutely amazing. One of the corners is 5th Ave and to the other side is Broadway. 10 minutes to Times Square, 5 minutes to the nearest subway. Rooms were very clean and comfortable, they also cleaned the room each day, including sheets, towels and everything. They also have smoking rooms. Free breakfast (coffee + muffin) saves money and time, so that is a big plus! Don't go for the hotels with "big names" (Hilton, Marriot...), they are just overpriced and at worse locations. This is what you really want if you are going to visit New York for it's history, attractions, sightseeing etc. Great job, Wolcott Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

I know you all hear awe about Empire State, but honestly, the view from Top of the Rock is much much better and there are almost no queues compared to the Empire State Building. Go visit Top of the Rock!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ann Mac
Business
N/A
May 21, 2015

Great trip

We had a great time in New York. The location of the Woldorf was first class - we could walk to all the main attractions. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and the service was prompt. Complimentary coffee and muffins was most welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. Hotel was quiet and our room was well presented.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Giannie B.
Business
Miami beach
May 15, 2015

Sweet surprise

The hotel was a sweet surprise for me! Great location. Only 2 blocks from The Empire state bldg. half block from 5th Avenue. The rooms was clean and quiet. I really like it and reccomend it. Its not a fancy place but its decente and worth what you pay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tori the Teacher
Business
Oakland
May 12, 2015

great location!

We loved our cute room. They held our bags do we could go shopping before we traveledon. Loved our short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SXHARLEY
Business
Phoenix
Apr 29, 2015

Not bad... Not great...

Friendly staff and very clean rooms BUT with SINGLE Bed! Bathroom clean and shower pressure very good Certainly a basic and adequate hotel but furnishings and decor are 'dated' and need 'freshening' Free breakfast coffee and muffins etc were nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gemma S.
Business
N/A
Apr 22, 2015

3 night trip to New York

When we first arrived at the hotel, i thought that it was a little run down. the room that we had was a little bit dated. But the staff were absolutely amazing. There was free coffee and muffins every morning. The location is great, and after all you only sleep in the room and basic is all we needed. The hotel was excellent value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Louise E.
Business
N/A
Apr 9, 2015

Teenage shopping trip!

Good location right near Macy's . Good value for money n friendly staff n nice to have coffee n muffins am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phil
Business
Durham
Apr 7, 2015

Trip to hear granddaughter sing the lead in an opera at Loew's Theater

We easily achieved our primary purpose of seeing our granddaughter sing the lead role in the NYU production of the opera Cendrillon and met with numerous members of our family and friends. We also did a bit of site seeing, but this was a quick trip and was limited somewhat by my wife's physical limitations. It was also the weekend of the Final Four, so I got to watch that also and since my team won, it was great! We found the hotel to be very clean, convenient, with an impressive lobby and very friendly and helpful staff. It met our needs quite well and we would be pleased to go back there again. I did not rate the wifi service since we did not use it, but if I am required to rate it anyway in order to complete the survey, I will rate it as good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Martie H
Business
N/A
Mar 24, 2015

Beautiful Hotel, Great Location!

We chose the hotel based on location and value for the price but got SO much more than we expected. The lobby was gorgeous! It was one block from my daughters college. It was immaculate and the room was huge! We will definitely be staying here frequently!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linda M.
Business
Aptos
Mar 23, 2015

NYC getaway

Older hotel with lots of charm. Great location and value. Staff was very friendly. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mandy Hockey Fan
Business
Reidsville
Mar 22, 2015

Great father daughter trip!

This was the first time we stayed here. It was very convenient to everything we needed. We will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top