$150 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
391 reviews
Beautiful Hotel, Great Location!

We chose the hotel based on location and value for the price but got SO much more than we expected.... See full review

  • Martie H
  • Mar 24, 2015
Great father daughter trip!

This was the first time we stayed here. It was very convenient to everything we needed. We will... See full review

  • Mandy Hockey Fan
  • Mar 22, 2015
Henry Roger Wolcott hired John H. Duncan, the same designer who built Grant's Tomb, to build the Wolcott Hotel New York in 1904. The Erlich family purchased the hotel in 1975 and they have been dedicated to its meticulous restoration ever since. Adventurous travelers looking for a comfortable yet elegant home base while they tour New York City will find just what they're looking for at the Wolcott. Rich in history, the hotel is the place where, in 1907, Edith Wharton penned her novel, The Fruit of the Tree, while in residence. As time advanced, celebrities including Buddy Holly, the Everly Brothers and Miles Davis also stayed at the Wolcott. French and Renaissance styles, along with ornate stonework, crystal chandeliers, and marble columns adorn the Wolcott.
Key facts
  • 200 guestrooms
  • Conference room
  • Concierge
  • Gift shop and ATM
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Laundry facilities
Neighborhood
This grand hotel is located in Manhattan at 4 West 31st Street, between 5th Avenue and Broadway, which is just three blocks away from the Empire State Building, and close to Rockefeller Plaza and Madison Square Garden. Walk a couple of miles to reach Central Park for famous statues, movie spots, the John Lennon Strawberry Fields memorial, and adventure playgrounds where the kids can spend hours frolicking in the Big Apple sunshine.
Hints and tips
Talk to the concierge to help you book theater tickets to surprise your travel partner while you are enjoying your stay.

Some rooms come with a view of the Empire State Building, and you can also ask for a non-smoking or smoking option.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wolcott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Wolcott Hotel Rooms

2 Twin Single Beds
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 2 single beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 270-400 sq.feet.
Jr. Suite
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. One room is the sleeping room with a queen bed, then pass through the open arch way into the parlor room with the day bed. Both rooms has TV, telephone, iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo, etc. 420-528 sq. ft.
3 Twin Beds
A great value, clean comfortable and affordable in New York City; room has 3 twin beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio tub shower, soap and shampoo. 420 sq feet.
Queen Bed
A great value, clean , comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 140-400 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Century Building: 0.7 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.7 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
391 out of 391
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Johnny Lyric
NJ
Jul 14, 2014

Great location!

Excellent staff, great view of Empire State building, I will stay at Wolcott Hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Louise E.
Business
N/A
Apr 9, 2015

Teenage shopping trip!

Good location right near Macy's . Good value for money n friendly staff n nice to have coffee n muffins am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phil
Business
Durham
Apr 7, 2015

Trip to hear granddaughter sing the lead in an opera at Loew's Theater

We easily achieved our primary purpose of seeing our granddaughter sing the lead role in the NYU production of the opera Cendrillon and met with numerous members of our family and friends. We also did a bit of site seeing, but this was a quick trip and was limited somewhat by my wife's physical limitations. It was also the weekend of the Final Four, so I got to watch that also and since my team won, it was great! We found the hotel to be very clean, convenient, with an impressive lobby and very friendly and helpful staff. It met our needs quite well and we would be pleased to go back there again. I did not rate the wifi service since we did not use it, but if I am required to rate it anyway in order to complete the survey, I will rate it as good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Martie H
Business
N/A
Mar 24, 2015

Beautiful Hotel, Great Location!

We chose the hotel based on location and value for the price but got SO much more than we expected. The lobby was gorgeous! It was one block from my daughters college. It was immaculate and the room was huge! We will definitely be staying here frequently!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linda M.
Business
Aptos
Mar 23, 2015

NYC getaway

Older hotel with lots of charm. Great location and value. Staff was very friendly. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mandy Hockey Fan
Business
Reidsville
Mar 22, 2015

Great father daughter trip!

This was the first time we stayed here. It was very convenient to everything we needed. We will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kedo
Business
N/A
Mar 20, 2015

Great value, great staff, great location

This hotel has bags of character and really good staff. It's in midtown Manhattan - literally a block away from the Empire State Building and just round the corner from Macy's - in a safe location. More than 100-years-old, its glory days were probably decades ago and if you are looking for luxury, modern or chic hotels this one is not for you. The lobby is impressively ornate, the rooms have seen better days - threadworn carpets, dull decor, heavy brown furniture and enamel-chipped bathroom fitments. But the rooms are big for NYC and spotlessly clean. The staff are impressive - on two occasions I had minor problems in the room (the TV and the security safe) on both occasions there was someone from maintenance at my door within 5 minutes of phoning reception and sorted out the problems quickly and efficiently. The amenities are fairly standard for a 3 star hotel - there is a TV, iron, safe, basic toiletries. No mini bar/fridge, coffee/tea making facilities, you pay extra for wifi - and it is expensive for what it delivers (about $9.99 /24hours for average speed). They serve muffins and tea/coffee every morning in the lobby, which is a nice way to start the day, and more than you'd expect from a 3 star. The heating was a bit of an issue - it could get very hot or quite chilly during the night. There is no climate control in the rooms (although there were extra blankets). But it was really just a minor point. Overall, this is a safe, great value hotel in central NYC with pleasant, efficient staff. I'd recommend it and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Josh from NYC
Business
Bronx
Mar 19, 2015

Money-Grubbing and Arrogant

Here goes -- our view outside the window was of a garbage disposal and dirty bricks, the heater was busted and turned on and off randomly, we had to call down multiple times for towels and soap, and there was an odd odor on the floor. But the kicker was the mandatory $3 charge for printing literally two pieces of paper. When I mentioned that the charge was quite excessive the man behind the counter, in a condescending manner, basically told me if I didn't like it I could take my business elsewhere. So I shall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David M.
Business
N/A
Mar 17, 2015

Superb Location

Lovely old hotel with stunning features, would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Russophile
Business
New London
Mar 12, 2015

decent hotel

the hotel's location is perfect for me - very close to Penn Station and a block away from Koreatown. The room has an interesting decor, but is spacious for New York. Shortcomings: no free wifi and the heater makes funny noise at night. Overall, it's a decent hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emir
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

ideal for first visit to NYC

We had a cosy room with no view and great refurbished bathroom. Staff, including concierge were professional and efficient. We loved the historic foyer décor. We found the room cleaning excellent. the location was safe and not too far from subway and attractions. The only strange thing was the hotel shop which could be turned into a positive amenity but now is understocked and often with nobody serving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top