$135 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 15, 2015

West Side YMCA

2 stars
5 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
184 reviews
Best Valued acomodations in the heart of NY

Clean, Inexpensive, Best Location, Courteous Staff, and more. I am considering of purchasing... See full review

  • Taisho
  • Jun 6, 2014
I had a wonderful stay. The staff was great very professional.

I had such a wonderful stay. The staff was great very professional. See full review

  • mohogany
  • Dec 9, 2013
Competitive prices for visitors on the move in New York
The West Side YMCA a hostel favorite for backpackers, travelers, a family sticking to a budget (or, really, anyone who is traveling on a budget). Located just off Central Park West and a short walk from the Columbus Circle Travel Hub, the Y is great for guests who want to be close to Central Park, Times Square, Lincoln Center, the Museum of Natural History and Carnegie Hall. Tecumseh Playground, the Museum of Modern Art and the Intrepid Sea, Air, and Space Museum are also within walking distance. The West Side YMCA has a 65,000 square foot fitness center that is perfect for guests who are interested in working out. The West Side WMCA is a great hostel option for back packers and visitors to New York who want to enjoy the very best of the Big Apple on a budget.
Reasons to stay
  • Competitive prices for travelers on a budget
  • Superb location near major New York City attractions
  • Clean, well-maintained rooms
  • Large fitness center for guests who want to work out
  • A television in every room
West Side YMCA rooms
The West Side YMCA has 360 rooms that are a mixture of single bedrooms and bunks. The interior is practical, clean and well maintained, and designed for guests who are planning to be on the move and use the rooms simply as a stop off point to sleep or rest. The New York Tourist Board awarded the West Side YMCA with the accolade of best elder hostel in 1997, and that level of quality has been meticulously maintained ever since. All of the West Side YMCA's comfortable air-conditioned rooms are supplied with a color television. The bathroom facilities are shared but private, and a private bath is available on request.
Things to do nearby
  • Central Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Tecumseh Playground (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (1.3 mi/2.09 km)
  • Intrepid Sea, Air, and Space Museum (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
Policies and fees
The property is currently undergoing renovations of the 10th and 11th floors which will encompass complete modernization of the bathrooms and corridors as well as installation of new lighting and new carpets.  In addition, rooms on those floors will undergo some basic cosmetic upgrades to complement the new bathrooms and hallways. Work will take approximately 10 weeks and should be completed by July 15. Signs are placed throughout the building regarding the work being done.  Please be advised that we will take every precaution to ensure comfort during this period.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed West Side YMCA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

West Side YMCA Rooms

Single
The room offers 1 Twin Bed with shared bathrooms, color TV and air conditioning.
Bunk
The room offers 1 Bunk Bed with upper and lower berth, with shared bathrooms, color TV and air conditioning.
Premium Single
The room offers 1 Twin Bed with semi-private bathroom, color TV and air conditioning.
Premium Bunk
The room offers 1 Bunk Bed with upper and lower berth, with semi-private bathroom, color TV and air conditioning.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant

Nearby points of interest

  • Broadway: 0.1 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.3 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.3 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.1 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.3 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.3 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.4 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.4 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.4 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.4 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.5 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.5 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.5 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.5 mi
  • Roseland: 0.5 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.6 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.6 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.6 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.6 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.6 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.6 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.6 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.6 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.7 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (184)

Ratings and reviews for West Side YMCA

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 184
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Colby
Business
Orlando
Dec 5, 2014

Great location

I dont visit NYC to stay in my room so this was perfect for me and my boyfriend. We had bunkbeds but we made it work. Luckily we were there in the fall/winter because our window AC unit didnt really work. The bathrooms are not very clean, I would advise wearing shower shoes. Didnt really interact with the staff other than checking in so no opinion on that. Its similar to staying in a hostel. The location is absolutely perfect, I love staying on the upper west side. I would stay here again due to the fact that Im barely in my room when I visit NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
eristcr
Business
Berlin, Germany
May 31, 2013

Outstanding Location, but...

...everything else was disappointing. Shared bathrooms and showers were disgusting--and this comes from someone who has traveled extensively in developing countries. Rather than making the bunk beds (more on those in a minute) daily, staff should clean the bathrooms more often. And none of the urinals flushed, so that was fun, too. Especially with two urinals for the entire floor we were on. Good times. Bunk beds weren't purpose-built. Rather, the Y just stacked two twins on top of each other. They didn't even bother to secure them in any way shape or form, e.g. screw them together. Made for an interesting night, never knowing whether the whole thing will come crashing down or not. Mattresses were way beyond their prime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Whole Foods in Columbus Circle

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
travelsnow
Business
New York, NY
Apr 22, 2013

Failed

Because we reserved thru an online website, we were unable to upgrade to a room with a bath. Because we reserved thru an online website, we were stuck in a room that has never been updated - imagine a cell in a prison abandoned 40 years ago. The windows were so dirty we could not see out of them. The television did not work and the maintenance person was unable to fix it. There was no light switch in the wall socket only the motion sensor. Two minutes after we switched out the lights, they would turn back on again. It was nearly midnite when the maintenance person returned to our room and installed a light switch. Shared baths were filthy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Danupstate ny
Business
Ny
Mar 18, 2013

Good location, uncomfortable bed

For the price, location is unbeatable, but the bed gave me quite a back ache the next morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Danupstate ny
Business
Ny
Mar 18, 2013

Good loc, uncomfortable bed

Good location for the price, but bed is quite incomfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nick88888888
Business
Oakland, NJ
Jan 8, 2013

Great place to stay for the night

This Ymca is in the perfect location. It's near Central Park, on a safe and quiet side street, and near Columbus Cirlce and the subway. It's the cheapest place to stay in Manhattan and the best value for the night. The room was clean and simple but comfortable. The check in process was simple. Overall, I would stay here again and anytime I stay in Manhattan I will be staying at this Ymca.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bel24
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Mar 16, 2012

surprisingly not bad

First time staying in a hostel and id stay in one again. Perfect location. Room and bathrooms were clean. Rooms had tv, desk, shelves, towels, soaps, ac and beds. My room card stopped working after a few days and they switched it out immediately. No complaints

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Salvatiere
Business
Silver Spring, Maryland
Dec 5, 2010

Great Location! We'll be back!

I had my doubts at first, because some bad reviews I read here. Yes it's small, nothing fancy, very simple, but hey! you don't go to New York City to stay in the Hotel! (and if you do then look somewhere else, this place is NOT for you) we've been in the city so many time, why spend $400 or 500 dollars for just 2 nights (That's even cheap for NYC)?? YMCA is way cheaper! they have wireless, a nice cafeteria downstairs, very secure area, Central Park is half a block, metro 2 block away, you can be in 42nd St in 20 minutes, bed's are ok, our 10th floor was quiet, we went to the 11th and it was kind of a mess, the guys for front desk were nice. Beware! one bathroom for floor, no privacy at all if you want to shower, the hotel uses the same elevator for the YMCA daily thing, so it's always traffic of people coming and going. Give it a try! if you dare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Travel light and smart, the room it's small so do not, i repeat do not bring a lot with you, that will make you reduce space less comfortable than it is.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Millersburg, PA
Nov 30, 2010

Simple cheap, dont have high expectation

Price and location was our motive for staying at the YMCA. We came for Thansgiving Day parade and were not disappointed. Parade route was right outside the door! Room was small with bunk bed, small desk and TV. It was clean but it is small. It is perfect though if just a place to sleep. 2 issues: No hot water at 6:30 am. Also, someone had vommitted all over the bathroom, which is shared.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you like Italian food, go to Carmine's in the Theater District. It's family style 1 entree serves 4-6 comfortably. If just 2 people be careful not to order salad and entree as you will not be able to finish either. Great place to eat. Get reservations if you can.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
funonthecheap
Business
steel town, pa.
Nov 16, 2010

wow, for the price!!!!!

wow, for the bucks! service great, clean, clean, clean.....No bugs.....superior fitness facilities.....central park, columbus circle stones throw away. subway to anywhere. GREAT for families with children!!!! airport shuttle available with one day advanced notice. hey, these guys even watch your luggage ($1/bag) at check-out for additional sightseeing. top notch security, you will feel safe here. you can't go wrong here!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

for peace of mind, go to central park across street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top