$114 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

West Side YMCA

2 stars
View map of 5 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
191 reviews
amazing stay as always

this is my 3rd time staying here and it is as good as ever, the staff are friendly ad helpful. the... See full review

  • gbgreebo25
  • Sep 30, 2014
Best Valued acomodations in the heart of NY

Clean, Inexpensive, Best Location, Courteous Staff, and more. I am considering of purchasing... See full review

  • Taisho
  • Jun 6, 2014
Competitive prices for visitors on the move in New York
The West Side YMCA a hostel favorite for backpackers, travelers, a family sticking to a budget (or, really, anyone who is traveling on a budget). Located just off Central Park West and a short walk from the Columbus Circle Travel Hub, the Y is great for guests who want to be close to Central Park, Times Square, Lincoln Center, the Museum of Natural History and Carnegie Hall. Tecumseh Playground, the Museum of Modern Art and the Intrepid Sea, Air, and Space Museum are also within walking distance. The West Side YMCA has a 65,000 square foot fitness center that is perfect for guests who are interested in working out. The West Side WMCA is a great hostel option for back packers and visitors to New York who want to enjoy the very best of the Big Apple on a budget.
Reasons to stay
  • Competitive prices for travelers on a budget
  • Superb location near major New York City attractions
  • Clean, well-maintained rooms
  • Large fitness center for guests who want to work out
  • A television in every room
West Side YMCA rooms
The West Side YMCA has 360 rooms that are a mixture of single bedrooms and bunks. The interior is practical, clean and well maintained, and designed for guests who are planning to be on the move and use the rooms simply as a stop off point to sleep or rest. The New York Tourist Board awarded the West Side YMCA with the accolade of best elder hostel in 1997, and that level of quality has been meticulously maintained ever since. All of the West Side YMCA's comfortable air-conditioned rooms are supplied with a color television. The bathroom facilities are shared but private, and a private bath is available on request.
Things to do nearby
  • Central Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Tecumseh Playground (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (1.3 mi/2.09 km)
  • Intrepid Sea, Air, and Space Museum (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
Policies and fees
The property is currently undergoing renovations of the 10th and 11th floors which will encompass complete modernization of the bathrooms and corridors as well as installation of new lighting and new carpets.  In addition, rooms on those floors will undergo some basic cosmetic upgrades to complement the new bathrooms and hallways. Work will take approximately 10 weeks and should be completed by July 15. Signs are placed throughout the building regarding the work being done.  Please be advised that we will take every precaution to ensure comfort during this period.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed West Side YMCA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

West Side YMCA Rooms

Single
The room offers 1 Twin Bed with shared bathrooms, color TV and air conditioning.
Bunk
The room offers 1 Bunk Bed with upper and lower berth, with shared bathrooms, color TV and air conditioning.
Premium Single
The room offers 1 Twin Bed with semi-private bathroom, color TV and air conditioning.
Premium Bunk
The room offers 1 Bunk Bed with upper and lower berth, with semi-private bathroom, color TV and air conditioning.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant

Nearby points of interest

  • Broadway: 0.1 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.3 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.3 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.1 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.3 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.3 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.4 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.4 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.4 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.4 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.5 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.5 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.5 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.5 mi
  • Roseland: 0.5 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.6 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.6 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.6 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.6 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.6 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.6 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.6 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.6 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.7 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for West Side YMCA

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
191 out of 191
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
2.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Marcia visiting Paul
Business
Haddonfield, NJ
Apr 18, 2014

Fine if you expect just a bed and bathroom

Upon arrival, the first room given me was without a bathroom which I had paid for. The second room had a bathroom but neither was clean. Had my son not accompanied me to drop me off, I would not have been able to start the air-conditioner--the only source of air available. The location was fine. The staff not really helpful or friendly. The room was simple and small. There was an overhead light which could be turned off and on from the bed--a positive feature. I am not familiar with NYC prices, but it was not cheap for the inconveniences and lack of cleanliness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, D.C.
Nov 26, 2009

Never again!!

The only thing we will remember about this hotel is seeing German cockroaches running on my bed, walls and a mirror as we entered the room in the evening!! That's good we have strong nerves... Among other things was the TV which existed in the room but was unavailable to watch because the only working outlet was located too far. I was too tired to go demand other room just for one night, but I will never stay here again for sure!! It is the height of imprudence to ask this price for such conditions!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sleepless in New York
Business
Buffalo, NY
Apr 9, 2010

Awful Night's Sleep

An awful night's sleep! The bed was as hard as a rock. The pillow was flat and painfully hard too. After trying to sleep for an hour on the bed and pillow, I went to the front desk at 11 p.m. and asked for another pillow. I was told that housekeeping had left for the day and that there was no way to get a pillow! No one on staff tried to accommodate this totally unsatisfactory situation, and just kept repeating the same thing over and over, and then suggested that I try to "use a blanket" as a pillow. I had an awful night, and was exhausted the next day. I would not stay there again and will not recommend it to anyone. It was not even inexpensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Asla
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 23, 2010

Poor

It was a very primitive and poor hotel. Floor of the room does not have carpet. The lightening of the room is very bad and the room is very depressing. The bathrooms are not clean and smells bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wu
Business
dfasd,CA
Jun 9, 2011

[*] service

the service is bad.I locked my door card once, and the front guy actually asked me stay outside. And he said I should pay him for open the door for me. [*]!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
matthewsf
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Oct 21, 2011

A basic yet depressing & dirty room

Having stayed in a room at the YMCA in Flushing, Queens, I already had some sort of idea and expectation (minimal) of what I would be getting as far as what their rooms are like and amenities. This is basically a very large hostel with shared bathrooms on each floor, bunk-bed rooms and small single beds for solo travelers like me. I also realize that like most visitors to NYC, you aren’t going to be spending a lot of time inside your (hotel) room except for getting a night’s sleep. So all I was expecting was a clean and comfortable room to have as a base in Manhattan and get me through the night. Unfortunately, it couldn’t even deliver that. Here is what awaited me in my room: • Lot’s of hair all over the floor. Clearly they don’t mop/vacuum/sweep it between guests. • Paint chipping/pealing on the walls and/or window. • No shade/blinds on the 2 east facing windows, so forget any privacy. No charge for natural lighting coming from the early morning rising sun. • A bed on rollers that slid around every time you got in/out, moved or turned. The bare linoleum floor helped contribute to this. The only good, positive characteristic I could find about this facility is the location. It is indeed very convenient and close to the subway, sights and shopping/restaurants. This place is great for college students or 20-somethings, or anyone else that doesn’t have any money to spend on lodgings or have any real standards when it comes to where they lay their head down at night. For anyone else, you’d be better off looking at any other well know hotel brands in Brooklyn, Queens or even Jersey City or Secaucus (which are always cheaper than Manhattan) and take the subway or bus into the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lifelong student
Business
San Francisco California
Oct 23, 2011

Horrible Bathrooms

I stayed at the YMCA for only one night in a single room with shared bathroom. This shared bathroom had only one toilet working with the other two almost overflowing and disgusting. To begin with, three toilets are not sufficient when there are more than 50 rooms on the floor. For a hostel with so much limited comfort, the price was outrageous. The best part of this YMCA is its location next to Lincoln Center. Otherwise, I will look for other accommodations on my next visit to New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ZdenekPrague
Business
Czech Republic
Jun 24, 2012

Very dirty hotel

Dirty rooms, wretched work during cleaning. The bathroom & toilets very dirty and a big fear from the infection everywhere you give a look... Unfortunatelly can not recommend even there is the lower price compare to others. The internet only in the groud floor and only in the hotel corridor - and not much chairs to sit down with your working tools...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Armine
Business
SF
Aug 18, 2012

The worst hotel I have ever stayed

The hotel was very very dirty, noisy, there was some smell in the room, the service was very poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SpartanIL
Business
Sparta, IL, USA
Sep 23, 2012

Bad Experience

I am sorry to say that I had a very unhappy experience at the West Side Y this trip. I had stayed there a few years ago and been satisfied. My flight arrived early in the day and when I inquired about an early checkin one staff member said she would check to see if the room was available. It was not but when I asked again later in the day I was chastised by another staff member for even inquiring telling me, "She told you this morning you couldn't check in early." I apologized for the misunderstanding but then was treated like a problem guest when I did check in at the appropriate time. I witnessed other people being allowed to check in earlier than the 2:30 check in time. Plaster was falling from the wall around the window in the room I was assigned. The bathrooms on my floor were not clean. They stunk. On another occasion when a YMCA member and I tried to board an elevator in the lobby a YMCA staff member snapped at us to "hurry it up!" This was after she closed the elevator door on me. No apology for the door hitting me in the arm. Just a "hurry up!" The door had only been open a few seconds. She had pushed the close button. Many on staff were friendly but there were a good many staff members who did not seem to realize they were working in a service industry. The halls on my floor were never completey clean and the entire place was filled with large groups of foreign tourists (mostly very young). They left the bathrooms dirty. Wifi was only available in the lobby and could often not be accessed because of the large amounts of guests logged into the system. A cafeteria that was in operation a few years ago on the ground floor was no longer operating.It had been a good place to catch several economical meals on my last trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top