$135 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

West Side YMCA

2 stars
5 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
252 reviews
Best Valued acomodations in the heart of NY

Clean, Inexpensive, Best Location, Courteous Staff, and more. I am considering of purchasing... See full review

  • Taisho
  • Jun 6, 2014
I had a wonderful stay. The staff was great very professional.

I had such a wonderful stay. The staff was great very professional. See full review

  • mohogany
  • Dec 9, 2013
Competitive prices for visitors on the move in New York
The West Side YMCA a hostel favorite for backpackers, travelers, a family sticking to a budget (or, really, anyone who is traveling on a budget). Located just off Central Park West and a short walk from the Columbus Circle Travel Hub, the Y is great for guests who want to be close to Central Park, Times Square, Lincoln Center, the Museum of Natural History and Carnegie Hall. Tecumseh Playground, the Museum of Modern Art and the Intrepid Sea, Air, and Space Museum are also within walking distance. The West Side YMCA has a 65,000 square foot fitness center that is perfect for guests who are interested in working out. The West Side WMCA is a great hostel option for back packers and visitors to New York who want to enjoy the very best of the Big Apple on a budget.
Reasons to stay
  • Competitive prices for travelers on a budget
  • Superb location near major New York City attractions
  • Clean, well-maintained rooms
  • Large fitness center for guests who want to work out
  • A television in every room
West Side YMCA rooms
The West Side YMCA has 360 rooms that are a mixture of single bedrooms and bunks. The interior is practical, clean and well maintained, and designed for guests who are planning to be on the move and use the rooms simply as a stop off point to sleep or rest. The New York Tourist Board awarded the West Side YMCA with the accolade of best elder hostel in 1997, and that level of quality has been meticulously maintained ever since. All of the West Side YMCA's comfortable air-conditioned rooms are supplied with a color television. The bathroom facilities are shared but private, and a private bath is available on request.
Things to do nearby
  • Central Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Tecumseh Playground (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (1.3 mi/2.09 km)
  • Intrepid Sea, Air, and Space Museum (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
Policies and fees
The property is currently undergoing renovations of the 10th and 11th floors which will encompass complete modernization of the bathrooms and corridors as well as installation of new lighting and new carpets.  In addition, rooms on those floors will undergo some basic cosmetic upgrades to complement the new bathrooms and hallways. Work will take approximately 10 weeks and should be completed by July 15. Signs are placed throughout the building regarding the work being done.  Please be advised that we will take every precaution to ensure comfort during this period.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

West Side YMCA Rooms

Single
The room offers 1 Twin Bed with shared bathrooms, color TV and air conditioning.
Bunk
The room offers 1 Bunk Bed with upper and lower berth, with shared bathrooms, color TV and air conditioning.
Premium Single
The room offers 1 Twin Bed with semi-private bathroom, color TV and air conditioning.
Premium Bunk
The room offers 1 Bunk Bed with upper and lower berth, with semi-private bathroom, color TV and air conditioning.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed West Side YMCA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7708 -73.9808
Area served
New York.
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK)
Area description
YMCA West Side is located just off Central Park West and steps from Lincoln Center.

Nearby points of interest

  • Broadway: 0.1 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.3 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.3 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.1 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.3 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.3 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.4 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.4 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.4 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.4 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.5 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.5 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.5 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.5 mi
  • Roseland: 0.5 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.6 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.6 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.6 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.6 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.6 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.6 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.6 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.6 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.7 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (252)

Ratings and reviews for West Side YMCA

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
252 out of 252
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Mar 30, 2008

Great location

My college student daughter and I loved being two short blocks from Lincoln Center, two short blocks from Columbus Circle and half a block from Central Park. We love to walk in Central Park. Easy access to anywhere you want to go in NY via subway. This is the first time in our 4 visits to NYC we have taken advantage of the many opportunities in and around Lincoln Center. The New York Public Library for Performing Arts has free access to the internet--no need to lug a computer. The beds were clean and comfortable. The room was very basic--but we were not there to spend our time in the room. Very international feel with lots of people of all ages speaking many different languages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Rush tickets to every Metropolitan Opera performance are available for $20 to the first 150 people in line. Line starts forming about three hours before show time. Check at ticket office for specific times.

Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Myers, FL
Apr 17, 2008

Good value for the money.

The West Side YMCA is not fancy, but quite adequate. Room and bath facilities were clean. It is much like living in a college dormitory, and as long as it is clean, it is fine. Furthermore, it is in an excellent location. I was going to events at Lincoln Center, so it was perfect. With Starbucks nearby for breakfast, I was OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Near Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall, and the Columbus Circle Subway station.

Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Monica, CA
Sep 8, 2008

Great location and good value

The location of the West Side YMCA is exceptional. You can walk to many New York sights. Just off Central Park West, it is also only steps from Columbus Circle, Lincoln Center and public transit. Although the hotel and room furnishings are old and extremely basic, the value for money is good. I do not think you could do much better for the price -- especially during peak travel season when the price of New York hotel rooms is very high. Washrooms and showers are located down the hall and not in any of the rooms. You must bring flip flops to use in the shower. As a hotel guest, you can also use the YMCA's gym facilities for free. My only real complaint was that the hotel seemed to have a problem with their room key cards. They often did not work and had to be replaced. I got locked out of my room one night when I went to use the washroom and the night staff was unable to reprogram the key card. They had to break into the room to let me back in. When you check in, make sure the staff programs your key card to work for your entire stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I enjoyed being able to go running in Central Park which is located only a few feet from the hotel.

Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PlusSizeTravelGuy
Business
Little Rock, Arkansas
Jun 18, 2012

Perfect No Frills Place To Stay

I initially chose the Y because of the price. I was thinking about the locations in the South and did not have my hopes up to high for anything more. I was surprised at the size of my private room and the private bathrooms all of which included a shower. The room is basic. I bed, chair, desk, television, lamp, and a closet. If you need more then stop reading and go check into one of the more expensive hotels. Was pleasantly surprised to see the amount of children at the hotel. That sealed it for me because anyplace that is kid friendly is a safe place. I was a short walk from Central Park, Columbus Circle, and for me Times Square. The subway is two blocks away which will give you the rest of the city for a small fee. Even when you check out if you need to stow your bags before you fly out they will lock them away for you for $1 per bag. My only issue with the place is that I needed to iron a shirt and no iron was available and the cleaners across the street needed 48hrs to press a shirt. If you are looking for a clean quiet place to stay I strongly recommend staying their.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan to stay in NYC longer than 3 nights and are not scary. Spend $29 for a weekly Metro pass for access to the buses and subway.

Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Mar 30, 2008

Great location

My college student daughter and I loved being two short blocks from Lincoln Center, two short blocks from Columbus Circle and half a block from Central Park. We love to walk in Central Park. Easy access to anywhere you want to go in NY via subway. This is the first time in our 4 visits to NYC we have taken advantage of the many opportunities in and around Lincoln Center. The New York Public Library for Performing Arts has free access to the internet--no need to lug a computer. The beds were clean and comfortable. The room was very basic--but we were not there to spend our time in the room. Very international feel with lots of people of all ages speaking many different languages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Rush tickets to every Metropolitan Opera performance are available for $20 to the first 150 people in line. Line starts forming about three hours before show time. Check at ticket office for specific times.

Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Monica, CA
Sep 8, 2008

Great location and good value

The location of the West Side YMCA is exceptional. You can walk to many New York sights. Just off Central Park West, it is also only steps from Columbus Circle, Lincoln Center and public transit. Although the hotel and room furnishings are old and extremely basic, the value for money is good. I do not think you could do much better for the price -- especially during peak travel season when the price of New York hotel rooms is very high. Washrooms and showers are located down the hall and not in any of the rooms. You must bring flip flops to use in the shower. As a hotel guest, you can also use the YMCA's gym facilities for free. My only real complaint was that the hotel seemed to have a problem with their room key cards. They often did not work and had to be replaced. I got locked out of my room one night when I went to use the washroom and the night staff was unable to reprogram the key card. They had to break into the room to let me back in. When you check in, make sure the staff programs your key card to work for your entire stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I enjoyed being able to go running in Central Park which is located only a few feet from the hotel.

Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 7, 2008

A cool place to stay in!

Very nice hotel, quite normal, clean, staff they were very nice, good location! I did like it! no complaints! I was my best option to get my acccomodation in The Big Apple!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to train station... just 3 blocks away!

Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ayse
USA
Aug 12, 2007

good value for the money

the room was very clean, bathrooms were clean (some of them lack soap though, so you'd better have one for your own), the neighborhood is safe, it is a short walk to subway. Timesquare is in walking distance and it's close to good restaurants and little grocery stores.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

couple restaurants at the corner and also always starbucks nearby.

Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 28, 2008

New York City on a budget

I've been to the city four times this year and it seems that each time I go it gets more and more expensive. Room was small and the carpet stained and definitely somewhat run down, the bed was clean, the towel was clean and the bathrooms (shared in the halls) were kept clean. Besides, you're in NYC, how much time are you actually spending in the room? I am typically out on the town from 8 am til no later than midnight. There is also a pool ( which I didn't use, as I didn't bring a swim suit, as well as a sauna, which I did use and was quite nice after the toll my legs took from walking around the city. I will definitely be back and have and will recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

I went to the Museum of Natural History ( which I felt was more run down than the Y. it should be called the dust museum ) as well as the Museum of Arts and Design (just down the street at the lower corner of the park) ( this was the grand opening weekend ) I highly recommend this museum, some extremely interesting art, and really nice people.

Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, FL
Sep 11, 2007

very NICE!

Located just off Central Park West.Good location!! The West Side YMCA is clean and comfortable.And If you don't mind shared baths (each one that I used was clean and spacious), then you should definitely stay here. the internet access is not good ...but I recommend to a friend... great place!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top