$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2015 Check-out: Oct 1, 2015

West Side YMCA

2 stars
View map of 5 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for West Side YMCA

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
174 out of 174
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Liruiv
Friends
Mexico
Jul 13, 2012

Perfect location!

Bunk bed, but comfortable enough. Room is tiny, but that is OK, we did't plan to stay in the room much. Perfect location, easy to go all sides! The price is expensive for us. But it's New York. So people understand. Generally speaking, it's a good place for the tourist!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ZdenekPrague
Single
Czech Republic
Jun 24, 2012

Very dirty hotel

Dirty rooms, wretched work during cleaning. The bathroom & toilets very dirty and a big fear from the infection everywhere you give a look... Unfortunatelly can not recommend even there is the lower price compare to others. The internet only in the groud floor and only in the hotel corridor - and not much chairs to sit down with your working tools...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
most for the money
Friends
NYC
Jun 3, 2012

Two seniors meeting in the Big Apple

The location is excellent. We walked one block to Lincoln Center. We were close to subway and buslines. We were next to Central Park and the weather was perfect. We walked to Madison Avenue and took the bus back. We took in the Cinema at Lincoln Center, an abundance of restaurants, and many places we saved for the next trip.y. People in NYC were very helpful and at the Y too. We had a great visit. and the budget prices allow for a return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Center offers theater, ballet, concerts, and opera.

Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Actor Girl
Business
Syracuse, NY
May 30, 2012

When on a budget and need to be in Manhattan overnight--good deal!

Came for a two day workshop in the City and only needed a room to sleep--this place fit the bill! I did have to switch rooms when I first signed in--the first room smelled very smoky/odorous/mildewy and didn't have a security bolt on the door; door didn't seem secure and I worried about that with open access by elevators and shared bathrooms... But the staff was very kind and accommodating to switch me to another floor to a more pleasing room, albeit very spartan. Thank goodness the AC worked nicely! My biggest quibble is the excessive mildew odor that permeated the hallways, rugs and my room and the uncleanliness of the shared bathrooms. It might be a good idea to bring flip-flops to the shared bathrooms as the tiled floors were constantly wet, rust/mildew stained and unkempt... Oh, and shower early in the morning! I luckily just missed the bathroom rush hour waiting for a shower stall at 8:30 AM on a Sunday--but know there is one especially on the weekend! For just one night, I'd stay here again... but the convenience of being in a prime spot of Manhattan was its strongest selling point!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a nice Indy Movie House if you like independent films very close to this hotel site--Lincoln Plaza Cinemas!

Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gbgreebo25
Single
manchester
May 15, 2012

great value and location

2nd time have stayed here and will be back again next year. the location is perfect, right next to central park, and walking distance to bway, time sq and lots of places to visit. and handy for subway to bottom end of NY. the staff are friendly and helpful, and the access to the pool, gym etc is a def bonus. room is basic but as all you will do is sleep there its all you need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rider of Giraffes
Business
North West England
May 9, 2012

Typical hostel acommodation

I basically needed a bed for the night, and this was reasonable value. Good location, friendly staff, comfortable and reasonably quiet room. As typical for a hostel it was a shared shower room and toilet block. In essence, it was a bed for the night. I'm going to tick the "No, I would not recommend" box because it's not a hotel, although I would stay there again if, as before, I just needed somewhere to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bel24
Couples
Houston, TX, USA
Mar 16, 2012

surprisingly not bad

First time staying in a hostel and id stay in one again. Perfect location. Room and bathrooms were clean. Rooms had tv, desk, shelves, towels, soaps, ac and beds. My room card stopped working after a few days and they switched it out immediately. No complaints

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Raymusch
Single
Michigan
Dec 26, 2011

A Bargain

The hotel is a bargain, being exactly what it is -- a European-style, simple but adequate hotel across the street from Lincoln Center. If you are interested in attending opera, ballet or symphony, there is no better bargain in the city. Three bus lines and the subway are also across the street and make it central to other places you may want to visit. I have recommended it to friends being careful to note what 'European-style' means.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jobin
Single
Virginia
Dec 21, 2011

Good for budget

What you would expect. Great if on a budget. Not very clean, and not fancy, but if you are only going to be there to sleep it's a good bargain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Natural Museum of History is only a few blocks walk away.

Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reveden
Business
Texas, USA
Dec 20, 2011

NYC-YMCA

Staff was friendly and helpful. I enjoyed the gym, the pool and the restaurant. The room was clean and quiet. The neighborhood was safe. I walked to a performance of Handel's Messiah at the Lincoln Center and to the Big Apple Circus and to wonderful restaurants. The subway was a five minute walk and Central Park was a two minute walk. Find me a better experience for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Met, NYC Ballet & Philharmonic are down the block. A one hour dry cleaner is across the street, and for someone on a business trip, the gym and pool is an elevator's ride from your room. The overall experience was stress relieving.

Back to menu Return to top