$110 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 24, 2015 Check-out: Jun 27, 2015

West Side YMCA

2 stars
View map of 5 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for West Side YMCA

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
211 out of 211
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
2.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Uruguay
May 5, 2013

Very bad experience

The hotel is reallly bad, very dirty, rooms with out bathroom,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pm12
Business
philadelphia
Apr 29, 2013

it performs

I needed a cheap place to crash for about 9 hrs and was willing to settle for a clean, safe place with decent bathrooms in a suitable location. That it did, but truly no more. By clean I mean the sheets, the room was just OK. All in all it fit the bill,given the location and the city, a good deal at about $100.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

espresso at Zibetto, Fika

Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Edtravel
Business
Jackson, MS
Apr 29, 2013

Location and Value

The location, Central Park and Lincoln Center, is great. The price is low. The rooms are minimal, clean bed, TV, dresser, closet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Center: Met Opera; NY Philharmonic and other orchestras, theater, ballet, and chamber music, etc., at Juillard.

Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
travelsnow
Business
New York, NY
Apr 22, 2013

Failed

Because we reserved thru an online website, we were unable to upgrade to a room with a bath. Because we reserved thru an online website, we were stuck in a room that has never been updated - imagine a cell in a prison abandoned 40 years ago. The windows were so dirty we could not see out of them. The television did not work and the maintenance person was unable to fix it. There was no light switch in the wall socket only the motion sensor. Two minutes after we switched out the lights, they would turn back on again. It was nearly midnite when the maintenance person returned to our room and installed a light switch. Shared baths were filthy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pausa5
Business
Mexico
Apr 9, 2013

Its OK for one night ands if you are not spending a lot of time there

The bathrooms were not clean, not in a good shape. The room was OK but the bed is not comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
FrancoAmericanCPL
Business
Mpls/France
Mar 26, 2013

Good location and price, but too noisy

PROS: For the price in Manhattan, this works. It is very near Columbus Circle, so it is very easy to get to a number of train lines. It is across the street from central park, which makes for a nice morning run or day strolling through the park. Lincoln Center and shopping (although mostly your chain franchises) are just down Broadway. In fact, friends of mine who are locals said that it was a good value for the location. CONS: Internet connection is horrible. It barely works in the rooms. Further, the Y has content blockers that randomly block webpages, even if they aren't illicit (I couldn't read a page in Timeout magazine--a website that gives you info on all the things to do in the city during your stay; The Times things-to-do section was also blocked). Mobile phone connection: Tmobile coverage was spotty in the room and the lounge. Needless to say, data coverage was random. Bathrooms: I've stayed in many hotels/hostels with shared facilities. These are the most inconvenient. (1) The showers are super small and tight, (2) there is only one hook to hang your towel, so you either have to walk down the hall wrapped in a towel or be ok with possible getting your clothes wet, (3) the bathroom itself is small. In fact, the door to one of the stalls is over half blocked by a structural post. Some of the latches don't lock on stall doors, too. Noise: It's on a quiet street, so there is no noise from that. But inside! Every night I was there over half the rooms on my floor were taken up by teenagers on school trips. Slamming doors, screaming down the halls, congregating in front of random rooms happened at all hours of the night. I did not get a single night's sleep without being woken up once. The problem is that there is no surveillance of the kids by either the chaperones or the staff. Location: It's a very residential type neighborhood. Most of the stores there are the same ones that you can find in your local mall--a few exceptions. As for dining: there isn't anything special around. Plenty of Starbucks and a cafe or two for breakfast, but if you are looking for a very New York dinner you will have to go downtown. Sum up: Ok for a night or two, or if you are on a very tight budget and can sleep through anything. I've stayed at the Y on the westside, too, and preferred that. It was newer, quieter, cleaner. A little further out of the way, but perhaps a better alternative. On the other hand, if I were only going to be in town for one or two nights, and could secure a room in a proper hotel for $50-$75 more per night, I might do that instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Danupstate ny
Business
Ny
Mar 18, 2013

Good location, uncomfortable bed

For the price, location is unbeatable, but the bed gave me quite a back ache the next morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Danupstate ny
Business
Ny
Mar 18, 2013

Good loc, uncomfortable bed

Good location for the price, but bed is quite incomfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
time drifter
Business
Pittsburgh
Mar 4, 2013

Didn't realize it was a hospice

Didn't check-in had a family emergency & had no symapthy for refunding payment. Paid BUT did NOT stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

cheap but not compassionate

Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nick88888888
Business
Oakland, NJ
Jan 8, 2013

Great place to stay for the night

This Ymca is in the perfect location. It's near Central Park, on a safe and quiet side street, and near Columbus Cirlce and the subway. It's the cheapest place to stay in Manhattan and the best value for the night. The room was clean and simple but comfortable. The check in process was simple. Overall, I would stay here again and anytime I stay in Manhattan I will be staying at this Ymca.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top