$114 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 9, 2015 Check-out: Apr 12, 2015

West Side YMCA

2 stars
View map of 5 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for West Side YMCA

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
191 out of 191
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
2.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
A glaswegian
Business
Glasgow, Scotland
Jul 2, 2014

Nice location but staff not very helpful

The west side YMCA has one of the best locations for a budget traveller that New York can offer. I didn't expect much seeing as it was so cheap, but I have to say that I was disappointed with the unhelpfulness of the staff. Apart from Nick (I think that is the guys name if I remember correctly), no one else seemed to want to offer any help at all. In fact the guy at the desk when I arrived told me that I could go and find somewhere else to stay (after they'd taken my money) when I asked why he needed to take my passport from me overnight. I know it is a youth hostel, but the rooms could also do with a lick of paint. In short, if you're heading to New York and you need a cheap place to stay, cut your trip by 1 day and use the money you save to stay somewhere else

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Viagero
Business
Glendale, CA
Jun 15, 2014

Basic, but great value for NYC

Staff helpful, if somewhat impersonal. Change of room based on a faulty air conditioner was handled OK, if a bit slowly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AbsalomAbsalom
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 13, 2014

You get what you're hoping for

you'll get exactly the level of service, location, amenities you would expect. It's a really great option for anyone on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Taisho
Business
Woodbridge, Va
Jun 6, 2014

Best Valued acomodations in the heart of NY

Clean, Inexpensive, Best Location, Courteous Staff, and more. I am considering of purchasing membership. The best value for the $ you pay !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Beast of Central Park
Business
Charlotte
Jun 4, 2014

Storage and sleeping retreat only

I opted for the semi-private (bathroom) room because it offered the private, although shared, bathroom. The employees were nice and polite during both check in and check out. The room was tiny. Just enough to squeeze a single bed, desk, and a stand alone open closet with two hangers and three or four small shelves. There was a small flatscreen TV that I received good reception on for the limited amount of time I watched anything. The mattress was maybe four inches thick. You are supplied with one sheet, one very thin blanket, and a frail pillow. My back is still aching four days after my last night sleeping in that bed. The bathrooms were one hall over from my room. There were three bathrooms which included a sink, toilet, and shower and you could lock the door. I never had an issue with finding one vacant immediately when required. The actual cleanliness of the bathrooms were not so bad, with the exception of what other guests had left since the last cleaning. The problem with the bathrooms are that they look like they have not been updated since the building was built in 1896. The tile is old, broken, cracked, unaesthetic, and the grout is degraded. I did see mold in two of the three showers along the caulk lines. The location at W 63rd and Central Park West is phenomenal for the price. Most subway trains and buslines are located nearby. You can walk to much of midtown Manhatten and Broadway. Bottom line, if you plan on doing nothing more than storing your luggage and sleeping there, it is probably the cheapest you will find in this locale. This is not a hostel for families, at least not ones with children, or people with cleanliness issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the subway entrances at Columbus Circle. There is also a Whole Foods in Columbus Circle for quick grabs, but expect to spend your "Whole Paycheck" and spend an eternity waiting in line to pay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Marcia visiting Paul
Business
Haddonfield, NJ
Apr 18, 2014

Fine if you expect just a bed and bathroom

Upon arrival, the first room given me was without a bathroom which I had paid for. The second room had a bathroom but neither was clean. Had my son not accompanied me to drop me off, I would not have been able to start the air-conditioner--the only source of air available. The location was fine. The staff not really helpful or friendly. The room was simple and small. There was an overhead light which could be turned off and on from the bed--a positive feature. I am not familiar with NYC prices, but it was not cheap for the inconveniences and lack of cleanliness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
maryannz
Business
St. Paul MN
Apr 15, 2014

Convenient, low-cost, but spartan

My only real complaint is about the state of the shared bathrooms. One three-toilet, four-shower, four-sink bathroom serves almost a hundred rooms, and toilets and floors should be cleaned more often than they are. And where does one store one's key card while one showers? Still, the location--blocks from Central Park and Lincoln Center--is superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Here and There 24
Business
Charlotte, NC
Mar 28, 2014

If you're not there for the hotel ...

The location is perfect. Half a block from Central Park and a couple of blocks away from the Columbus Circle metro station. The Y is basically a dorm. I knew that going in, so that's what I expected. It was clean and convenient--exactly what I was looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Here and There 24
Business
Charlotte, NC
Dec 30, 2013

Exactly what I was looking for

The hotel/hostel was what I was expecting. Nothing fancy, but a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. The location (next to Central Park and only a few blocks from the Columbus Circle station) was perfect. The staff was friendly and helpful. Most of the other guests seemed to be European students. But it was quiet for our 3 nights' stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mohogany
Business
63 street ny ny
Dec 9, 2013

I had a wonderful stay. The staff was great very professional.

I had such a wonderful stay. The staff was great very professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top