$135 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 5, 2014 Check-out: Nov 6, 2014

West Side YMCA

2 stars
5 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
179 reviews
Best Valued acomodations in the heart of NY

Clean, Inexpensive, Best Location, Courteous Staff, and more. I am considering of purchasing... See full review

  • Taisho
  • Jun 6, 2014
I had a wonderful stay. The staff was great very professional.

I had such a wonderful stay. The staff was great very professional. See full review

  • mohogany
  • Dec 9, 2013
Competitive prices for visitors on the move in New York
The West Side YMCA a hostel favorite for backpackers, travelers, a family sticking to a budget (or, really, anyone who is traveling on a budget). Located just off Central Park West and a short walk from the Columbus Circle Travel Hub, the Y is great for guests who want to be close to Central Park, Times Square, Lincoln Center, the Museum of Natural History and Carnegie Hall. Tecumseh Playground, the Museum of Modern Art and the Intrepid Sea, Air, and Space Museum are also within walking distance. The West Side YMCA has a 65,000 square foot fitness center that is perfect for guests who are interested in working out. The West Side WMCA is a great hostel option for back packers and visitors to New York who want to enjoy the very best of the Big Apple on a budget.
Reasons to stay
  • Competitive prices for travelers on a budget
  • Superb location near major New York City attractions
  • Clean, well-maintained rooms
  • Large fitness center for guests who want to work out
  • A television in every room
West Side YMCA rooms
The West Side YMCA has 360 rooms that are a mixture of single bedrooms and bunks. The interior is practical, clean and well maintained, and designed for guests who are planning to be on the move and use the rooms simply as a stop off point to sleep or rest. The New York Tourist Board awarded the West Side YMCA with the accolade of best elder hostel in 1997, and that level of quality has been meticulously maintained ever since. All of the West Side YMCA's comfortable air-conditioned rooms are supplied with a color television. The bathroom facilities are shared but private, and a private bath is available on request.
Things to do nearby
  • Central Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Tecumseh Playground (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (1.3 mi/2.09 km)
  • Intrepid Sea, Air, and Space Museum (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
Policies and fees
The property is currently undergoing renovations of the 10th and 11th floors which will encompass complete modernization of the bathrooms and corridors as well as installation of new lighting and new carpets.  In addition, rooms on those floors will undergo some basic cosmetic upgrades to complement the new bathrooms and hallways. Work will take approximately 10 weeks and should be completed by July 15. Signs are placed throughout the building regarding the work being done.  Please be advised that we will take every precaution to ensure comfort during this period.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7708 -73.9808
Area served
New York.
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK)
Area description
YMCA West Side is located just off Central Park West and steps from Lincoln Center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed West Side YMCA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

West Side YMCA Rooms

Single
The room offers 1 Twin Bed with shared bathrooms, color TV and air conditioning.
Bunk
The room offers 1 Bunk Bed with upper and lower berth, with shared bathrooms, color TV and air conditioning.
Premium Single
The room offers 1 Twin Bed with semi-private bathroom, color TV and air conditioning.
Premium Bunk
The room offers 1 Bunk Bed with upper and lower berth, with semi-private bathroom, color TV and air conditioning.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant

Nearby points of interest

  • Broadway: 0.1 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.3 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.3 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.1 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.3 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.3 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.4 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.4 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.4 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.4 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.5 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.5 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.5 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.5 mi
  • Roseland: 0.5 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.6 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.6 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.6 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.6 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.6 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.6 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.6 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.6 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.7 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (179)

Ratings and reviews for West Side YMCA

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
179 out of 179
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lewisburg
Aug 27, 2008

Ideal location

The Westside Y is conveniently located between Lincoln Center and Central Park, and a gew blocks from rhe theater district. The opportunity to use their pool/firness id wonderful. Poor TV and the restroom is a walk down the hall. BUT who goes to NYC to spend time in a room. I'll go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Theaters, monies, clube, museums etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sparta
Aug 9, 2008

Rude staff, but hard-to-beat price for the location

I can't decide if the West Side YMCA is someplace I'd recommend or not... it's in a great location (cross the street and you're in Central Park) and is extremely cheap, but it's very bare-bones and the staff seems bored and uncaring. My room was tiny and had a dorm-like feel to it -- flourescent lighting, desk, cardboard bed and tile flooring. On my third day there, I came back to my room to find myself locked out (swipe key entry system). I went downstairs to the guest services desk and had to wait in line for awhile. The room was on a better floor (12th floor has private toilet+shower rooms in the hallway), so I couldn't complain too much, but it was still a hassle to have to pack everything up and move... I missed valueable sight-seeing time! On the plus-side, the gym is amazing -- personal tv's on each piece of equipment, very clean, great view of central park. I t`

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

1. Duane Reade, like a Walgreens or CVS, is on the corner of Broadway and 63rd, so you can pick up any supplies you forgot to bring. 2. Subway line within walking distance (Red line, Lincoln Center) 3. Plenty of cafes, bistros, restaurants on Broadway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 7, 2008

A cool place to stay in!

Very nice hotel, quite normal, clean, staff they were very nice, good location! I did like it! no complaints! I was my best option to get my acccomodation in The Big Apple!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to train station... just 3 blocks away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jul 5, 2008

Excellent Location

You can't beat the location, near subway and Central Park. Only issue I had is with the shared men's room, kind of smelly, but it was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a Wholefoods nearby where you can eat a nice meal for cheap before hitting the sites

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madrid
May 11, 2008

Excellent location

Excellent location, nice and attentive staff, but higynic conditions not very good. room doors do not close well and noise and light come through the door at night. the building ventilation is really noisy and goes on 24h a day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It was nice to be near central park to relax and get away from noisy Manhattan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Myers, FL
Apr 17, 2008

Good value for the money.

The West Side YMCA is not fancy, but quite adequate. Room and bath facilities were clean. It is much like living in a college dormitory, and as long as it is clean, it is fine. Furthermore, it is in an excellent location. I was going to events at Lincoln Center, so it was perfect. With Starbucks nearby for breakfast, I was OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Near Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall, and the Columbus Circle Subway station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 30, 2008

Great location

My college student daughter and I loved being two short blocks from Lincoln Center, two short blocks from Columbus Circle and half a block from Central Park. We love to walk in Central Park. Easy access to anywhere you want to go in NY via subway. This is the first time in our 4 visits to NYC we have taken advantage of the many opportunities in and around Lincoln Center. The New York Public Library for Performing Arts has free access to the internet--no need to lug a computer. The beds were clean and comfortable. The room was very basic--but we were not there to spend our time in the room. Very international feel with lots of people of all ages speaking many different languages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Rush tickets to every Metropolitan Opera performance are available for $20 to the first 150 people in line. Line starts forming about three hours before show time. Check at ticket office for specific times.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Younjung
Business
USA
Mar 28, 2008

good choice for self traveler

If you want to find a secure place to sleep in affordable price in New York, this could be a good choice. Cnovenient access to subway, nearby Central Park. You can also enjoy the YMCA swimming pool, exercising room and sauna.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 28, 2007

Awesome View with a Awesome Price!!

I was very happy with my stay at the West Side YMCA in Manhattan. I felt very safe and comfortable there. I was not expecting a lot for the money so my expectations were very low but I was so pleased with my stay. I was not expecting a TV in my room and someone to check on my room everyday. I only had trouble getting a free washroom once and the elevator was a bit of hassle at times. You really can't beat the location!! Central Park is just so close and there is always a Starbucks nearby. Lots to do closeby and the shopping was terrific!! Nothing was too far away!! Definitely would recommend and stay again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a drugstore and a fruitstand at the end of the block. I picked up some fruit for a few days, snacks and a small case of water. That will save you a few bucks when you need a drink or quick snack without paying 3X as much at the vendors.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, IL
Sep 25, 2007

Great location, but......

The YMCA is in a great location. The rooms are very small for two people but the beds were clean and somewhat comfortable (we had bunkbeds). The bathrooms on our floor were not convenient or clean and smelled like kitty litter. The staff, for the most part, were hospitable and helpful. If you are looking for inexpensive and convenient..this is the place. If you are looking for any luxury...look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants and shopping close by and Central Park is just across the street. The location is great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top