$135 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 3, 2015 Check-out: Mar 5, 2015

West Side YMCA

2 stars
View map of 5 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
188 reviews
amazing stay as always

this is my 3rd time staying here and it is as good as ever, the staff are friendly ad helpful. the... See full review

  • gbgreebo25
  • Sep 30, 2014
Best Valued acomodations in the heart of NY

Clean, Inexpensive, Best Location, Courteous Staff, and more. I am considering of purchasing... See full review

  • Taisho
  • Jun 6, 2014
Competitive prices for visitors on the move in New York
The West Side YMCA a hostel favorite for backpackers, travelers, a family sticking to a budget (or, really, anyone who is traveling on a budget). Located just off Central Park West and a short walk from the Columbus Circle Travel Hub, the Y is great for guests who want to be close to Central Park, Times Square, Lincoln Center, the Museum of Natural History and Carnegie Hall. Tecumseh Playground, the Museum of Modern Art and the Intrepid Sea, Air, and Space Museum are also within walking distance. The West Side YMCA has a 65,000 square foot fitness center that is perfect for guests who are interested in working out. The West Side WMCA is a great hostel option for back packers and visitors to New York who want to enjoy the very best of the Big Apple on a budget.
Reasons to stay
  • Competitive prices for travelers on a budget
  • Superb location near major New York City attractions
  • Clean, well-maintained rooms
  • Large fitness center for guests who want to work out
  • A television in every room
West Side YMCA rooms
The West Side YMCA has 360 rooms that are a mixture of single bedrooms and bunks. The interior is practical, clean and well maintained, and designed for guests who are planning to be on the move and use the rooms simply as a stop off point to sleep or rest. The New York Tourist Board awarded the West Side YMCA with the accolade of best elder hostel in 1997, and that level of quality has been meticulously maintained ever since. All of the West Side YMCA's comfortable air-conditioned rooms are supplied with a color television. The bathroom facilities are shared but private, and a private bath is available on request.
Things to do nearby
  • Central Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Tecumseh Playground (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (1.3 mi/2.09 km)
  • Intrepid Sea, Air, and Space Museum (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
Policies and fees
The property is currently undergoing renovations of the 10th and 11th floors which will encompass complete modernization of the bathrooms and corridors as well as installation of new lighting and new carpets.  In addition, rooms on those floors will undergo some basic cosmetic upgrades to complement the new bathrooms and hallways. Work will take approximately 10 weeks and should be completed by July 15. Signs are placed throughout the building regarding the work being done.  Please be advised that we will take every precaution to ensure comfort during this period.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed West Side YMCA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

West Side YMCA Rooms

Single
The room offers 1 Twin Bed with shared bathrooms, color TV and air conditioning.
Bunk
The room offers 1 Bunk Bed with upper and lower berth, with shared bathrooms, color TV and air conditioning.
Premium Single
The room offers 1 Twin Bed with semi-private bathroom, color TV and air conditioning.
Premium Bunk
The room offers 1 Bunk Bed with upper and lower berth, with semi-private bathroom, color TV and air conditioning.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant

Nearby points of interest

  • Broadway: 0.1 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.3 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.3 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.1 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.3 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.3 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.4 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.4 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.4 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.4 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.5 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.5 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.5 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.5 mi
  • Roseland: 0.5 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.6 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.6 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.6 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.6 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.6 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.6 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.6 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.6 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.7 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (188)

Ratings and reviews for West Side YMCA

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
188 out of 188
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
2.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
May 27, 2009

Disappointed

No towels in room, 2 of 3 elevators broken, so it took a lot of time to get from the top to the 1st floor to request towels in the morning, then it took even more time to get back up, one staff member was really rude and inconsiderate. Wasted a lot of my time on behalf of their mistakes. Small room, no remote for the TV, AC didn't work that well, no drinking fountain on the floor so I had to go to the lobby to get water. You share a big bathroom with everyone else on the floor (male and female separate, of course). Small room, with tile, not carpeted. Check in is at 230, which sucks if you get in early in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Willcnow
Business
Los Angeles
May 8, 2009

Best on a Budget

The hotel was as expected. Clean, bathroom down the hall - a bit smelly but clean. Staff was very helpful, extra blankets or pillow on request, and I got stuck in the hall on the way to the shower having left my room key - used the house phone and they were there to let me in in 5 minutes! Purpose of trip was Broadway Shows - saw 6 - hotel is between Broadway and Central Park West. I had a marvelous trip and will certainly stay there again next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to TKTS in Times Square - go in the early afternoon because the lines fill up quickly, but you can get great seats for almost any Broadway show that evening for 40 - 60% off!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
May 2, 2009

Great Location - Bare Bones Accomodation

The bathroom, down the hall, needed a good exhaust fan . . . much too humid. Showers sometimes leaked onto floor. The bunk beds didn't have the worst mattresses in the world but I did wish for a more comfortable one for my back. It was great having the little cafe right there in the Y, esp. for breakfast. Food fairly good and very reasonable cost. Our AC didn't work. We wondered if they would have them checked and working by summer. Fitness Center very good and very convenient. Having internet available was important. Usually not a wait to use it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take advantage of the proximity to the great Natural History Museum.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
East Side Tripper
Business
Southern Wisconsin
Apr 22, 2009

It's Not Fun To Stay at the YMCA

While in New York City for five days, I took advantage of the location of the Westside YMCA. That is really the only 'plus' for this lodging. Noise: Walls are thin, generally folk are non-considerate when moving about late at night. Comfort: The beds are beyond terrible. They severely sag in the middle and it's really difficult to get a good night's sleep (then combine THAT with noise. . .). Unclean: I did my best not to use the shared toilets. They are sorely outdated and definitely not kept up to standards of cleanliness. Staff: Upon my check-in Maximo (Customer Service) made an enormous scene about my reservation and made me feel utterly humiliated in front of other members as well as staff. While I conveyed my complete disgust directly to his manager, this is something that should never have happened.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eight Avenue, between 53rd and 40th, is a bounty of restaurants. If you can't find a diner or full-scale restaurant to your liking here, you're insatiable. Pam's Thai on 43rd is a solid thai restaurant with non-expensive pricing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Erie
Dec 7, 2008

Great Location

If you are coming for a short trip it is good. I wouldn't really recommend it if you like the bathroom... The bathroom was gross and the toilets were bad.. But the room was pretty compfy just extreamly small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbuck right on the corner and right at Central Park West

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Anaheim
Dec 5, 2008

This hotel is part of the ...

This hotel is part of the Westside YMCA so it is not really the same as the many other hotels in NYC. It is well located for uptown museums and only about 12 blocks from the theater district and Times Square. It is a basic clean well taken care of property, has friendly staff, and has an inexpensive cafe where you can get a good mean fairly cheaply. That is a real value in NYC. For the price it cannot be beat. The rooms are functional and clean with hot hot water in the showers and also some great views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Christmas Market in Central Park was only two blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 28, 2008

New York City on a budget

I've been to the city four times this year and it seems that each time I go it gets more and more expensive. Room was small and the carpet stained and definitely somewhat run down, the bed was clean, the towel was clean and the bathrooms (shared in the halls) were kept clean. Besides, you're in NYC, how much time are you actually spending in the room? I am typically out on the town from 8 am til no later than midnight. There is also a pool ( which I didn't use, as I didn't bring a swim suit, as well as a sauna, which I did use and was quite nice after the toll my legs took from walking around the city. I will definitely be back and have and will recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

I went to the Museum of Natural History ( which I felt was more run down than the Y. it should be called the dust museum ) as well as the Museum of Arts and Design (just down the street at the lower corner of the park) ( this was the grand opening weekend ) I highly recommend this museum, some extremely interesting art, and really nice people.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bellevue
Sep 9, 2008

Good Bang for your buck if you dont mind roughing it a little

This hotel is located a block from Lincoln Center, a stones through from Central Park, with east quick travel to Times Square and many other toursit attractions. Although it was a little rough in one respect as there are few dining options without traveling at least 3 blocks and it had shared showers/ bath rooms which is more a perosnal preference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Center, Rockefeller Center, Central Park Times Square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Sep 8, 2008

Great location and good value

The location of the West Side YMCA is exceptional. You can walk to many New York sights. Just off Central Park West, it is also only steps from Columbus Circle, Lincoln Center and public transit. Although the hotel and room furnishings are old and extremely basic, the value for money is good. I do not think you could do much better for the price -- especially during peak travel season when the price of New York hotel rooms is very high. Washrooms and showers are located down the hall and not in any of the rooms. You must bring flip flops to use in the shower. As a hotel guest, you can also use the YMCA's gym facilities for free. My only real complaint was that the hotel seemed to have a problem with their room key cards. They often did not work and had to be replaced. I got locked out of my room one night when I went to use the washroom and the night staff was unable to reprogram the key card. They had to break into the room to let me back in. When you check in, make sure the staff programs your key card to work for your entire stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I enjoyed being able to go running in Central Park which is located only a few feet from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lewisburg
Aug 27, 2008

Ideal location

The Westside Y is conveniently located between Lincoln Center and Central Park, and a gew blocks from rhe theater district. The opportunity to use their pool/firness id wonderful. Poor TV and the restroom is a walk down the hall. BUT who goes to NYC to spend time in a room. I'll go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Theaters, monies, clube, museums etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top