$135 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 20, 2014 Check-out: Oct 22, 2014

West Side YMCA

2 stars
5 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
175 reviews
Best Valued acomodations in the heart of NY

Clean, Inexpensive, Best Location, Courteous Staff, and more. I am considering of purchasing... See full review

  • Taisho
  • Jun 6, 2014
I had a wonderful stay. The staff was great very professional.

I had such a wonderful stay. The staff was great very professional. See full review

  • mohogany
  • Dec 9, 2013
Competitive prices for visitors on the move in New York
The West Side YMCA a hostel favorite for backpackers, travelers, a family sticking to a budget (or, really, anyone who is traveling on a budget). Located just off Central Park West and a short walk from the Columbus Circle Travel Hub, the Y is great for guests who want to be close to Central Park, Times Square, Lincoln Center, the Museum of Natural History and Carnegie Hall. Tecumseh Playground, the Museum of Modern Art and the Intrepid Sea, Air, and Space Museum are also within walking distance. The West Side YMCA has a 65,000 square foot fitness center that is perfect for guests who are interested in working out. The West Side WMCA is a great hostel option for back packers and visitors to New York who want to enjoy the very best of the Big Apple on a budget.
Reasons to stay
  • Competitive prices for travelers on a budget
  • Superb location near major New York City attractions
  • Clean, well-maintained rooms
  • Large fitness center for guests who want to work out
  • A television in every room
West Side YMCA rooms
The West Side YMCA has 360 rooms that are a mixture of single bedrooms and bunks. The interior is practical, clean and well maintained, and designed for guests who are planning to be on the move and use the rooms simply as a stop off point to sleep or rest. The New York Tourist Board awarded the West Side YMCA with the accolade of best elder hostel in 1997, and that level of quality has been meticulously maintained ever since. All of the West Side YMCA's comfortable air-conditioned rooms are supplied with a color television. The bathroom facilities are shared but private, and a private bath is available on request.
Things to do nearby
  • Central Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Tecumseh Playground (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (1.3 mi/2.09 km)
  • Intrepid Sea, Air, and Space Museum (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
Policies and fees
The property is currently undergoing renovations of the 10th and 11th floors which will encompass complete modernization of the bathrooms and corridors as well as installation of new lighting and new carpets.  In addition, rooms on those floors will undergo some basic cosmetic upgrades to complement the new bathrooms and hallways. Work will take approximately 10 weeks and should be completed by July 15. Signs are placed throughout the building regarding the work being done.  Please be advised that we will take every precaution to ensure comfort during this period.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7708 -73.9808
Area served
New York.
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK)
Area description
YMCA West Side is located just off Central Park West and steps from Lincoln Center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed West Side YMCA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

West Side YMCA Rooms

Single
The room offers 1 Twin Bed with shared bathrooms, color TV and air conditioning.
Bunk
The room offers 1 Bunk Bed with upper and lower berth, with shared bathrooms, color TV and air conditioning.
Premium Single
The room offers 1 Twin Bed with semi-private bathroom, color TV and air conditioning.
Premium Bunk
The room offers 1 Bunk Bed with upper and lower berth, with semi-private bathroom, color TV and air conditioning.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant

Nearby points of interest

  • Broadway: 0.1 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.3 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.3 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.1 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.3 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.3 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.4 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.4 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.4 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.4 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.5 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.5 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.5 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.5 mi
  • Roseland: 0.5 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.6 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.6 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.6 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.6 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.6 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.6 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.6 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.6 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.7 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (175)

Ratings and reviews for West Side YMCA

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
175 out of 175
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
HangZhou, China
May 24, 2011

It is good

It is good, but I think if free WIFI can get will be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mickchick
Jacksonville Beach, FL
May 10, 2011

GREAT location and price

This is a spartan room, without a private bathroom, BUT I could have eaten off the tiled floor in my room, which was exceptionally clean, I was able to use my netbook from my room with the free wi-fi, and the location was awesome. I am a 61 year old single female, I was there by myself, and I walked everywhere I wanted to go, leaving around 8 in the morning and returning around 11:30 at night.The biggest drawback, for me, was the showers which were extremely small but had even smaller shower curtains, and the sound level from the hallway. However, I worked around it, using the showers when I got back at night while the younger women were still out, and that way I had the showers pretty much to myself. When I was tired enough, I was able to go to sleep regardless of the noise level.I wouldn't suggest going here for a romantic getaway, but for a travel base for Manhattan at a great price - I don't see how it could be beat. [...]checked me in[...] She was extremely friendly and helpful, as were the other clerks that I had dealings with. I not only would recommend it, I would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northeast Ohio
Apr 22, 2011

geat location, friendly staff,small room

Great location right next to Central Park near Columbus Circle. The room was small with only a bunk bed, but it was clean. Clean sheets and towels everyday. Courteous staff. Be sure to carry your room key with you everywhere in the building as it is your id; you cant't enter the building without it. From here we walked to Times Square, Rockafeller Center, Belvedere Castle and Central Park, Serendipity for yummy frozen hot chocolate. I would recommend staying at the West YMCA, but not with a family. Ro $100 a night,you can only have 2 people in a room and it is a shared bathroom down the hall. A family would require more rooms, so a hotel might be a bette choice. Excellent for anyone who doesn't mind bunk beds and shared bathrooms. The price is also excellent compared to any hotels in the area. Bus lines, Greyline tour buses, subways are all close making it easy to get around. There is a nice coffee shop, cafe in the first floor. The main thing that could be an improvement at the Y is if they had rooms with a private bathroom. At times it was awkward to be in the very small shared shower room. I would pay more for a private bath/room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are MANY places to eat between Columbus Circle and Times Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sydney, Australia
Apr 2, 2011

OK for the price

my single room was clean, sheets changed every 2 days, and the bed nice and firm. I missed a basin in the room, and the bathrooms could have been cleaner (but that was because of the other guests, rather than the Y's fault!). The location (especially for the Lincoln Centre/opera) can't be beaten. If you can get the room at the [...]price, it's a good deal. If you go to other sites - like [...]- you will end up paying over $90 a night. At that price, go to the Comfort Inn on W 71st Street instead, where for an extra few dollars you'll get your own bathroom, breakfast and free wifi in your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid the ticket scalpers at the Met - but go instead either for standing room at $25 (tickets go on sale at the box office at 10am on the day) or start lining early in the day for Rush tickets - 100 orchestra seats at $20 each that go on sale at 6pm on the day. Be warned - people start queueing for the latter very early in the morning!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scrubbie
Orange County, CA
Mar 30, 2011

Incredible Value

This is the third time I've stayed at the YMCA West Side. (Each stay has been in the last 365 days). I am a single traveler who doesn't mind using a shared bathroom. I value the location and price over the lack of amenities. To be able to stay in mid-Manhattan, next to Central Park and not pay a fortune, I don't mind bringing my own soap! The rooms are always clean. The beds are small and simple, but I am out till 2am and only need a place to sleep for 8 hours before I am back out enjoying the city. I love the free use of the gym. (and the gym is amazing). If you set your expectations appropriately, this is an incredible value!! (If you want a private bathroom and are willing to pay a bit more, try the Herald Square Hotel).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The subway is only one block away at 58th street and Columbus circle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Providence, RI
Jan 3, 2011

Defintely not my best trip to NYC

I usually stay at the Vanderbilt YMCA on the lower East Side (47th and 3rd). I was very disappointed with my stay here. The walls were paper thin and I could hear the televisions from the rooms all around me. The bathrooms were old and smelled a bit. The gym was not what I was used to at the Vanderbilt. The only good thing about the hotel was its location to the theaters and attractions in midtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Makisupa
Milwaukee, WI
Jan 2, 2011

Great deal for the price.

I only used the room to store my stuff and sleep. If i wanted it for any other purposes it would have left much to be desired

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great chowder restaurant next to the starbucks down the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
texas
Dec 14, 2010

Westside YMCA

Was ok, but needs some maintenance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central park is across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
MIAMI,FL
Dec 6, 2010

FANTASTIC FAMILY

I WOULD LOVE COME BACK ON JULY FOR MY VACATION BECAUSE NEAR CENTRAL PARK RIDE BIKE AND VISIT MY BROTHER IN EAST VILLAGE. LAST MONTH THANKSGVING I WENT YMCA AND STAY FOR 1 WEEK REALLY ENJOY AROUND NEAR LINCLON HALL, SHOPPING OLLIE RESTURANT ETC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Salvatiere
Silver Spring, Maryland
Dec 5, 2010

Great Location! We'll be back!

I had my doubts at first, because some bad reviews I read here. Yes it's small, nothing fancy, very simple, but hey! you don't go to New York City to stay in the Hotel! (and if you do then look somewhere else, this place is NOT for you) we've been in the city so many time, why spend $400 or 500 dollars for just 2 nights (That's even cheap for NYC)?? YMCA is way cheaper! they have wireless, a nice cafeteria downstairs, very secure area, Central Park is half a block, metro 2 block away, you can be in 42nd St in 20 minutes, bed's are ok, our 10th floor was quiet, we went to the 11th and it was kind of a mess, the guys for front desk were nice. Beware! one bathroom for floor, no privacy at all if you want to shower, the hotel uses the same elevator for the YMCA daily thing, so it's always traffic of people coming and going. Give it a try! if you dare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Travel light and smart, the room it's small so do not, i repeat do not bring a lot with you, that will make you reduce space less comfortable than it is.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search