$135 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

West Side YMCA

2 stars
5 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
253 reviews
Best Valued acomodations in the heart of NY

Clean, Inexpensive, Best Location, Courteous Staff, and more. I am considering of purchasing... See full review

  • Taisho
  • Jun 6, 2014
I had a wonderful stay. The staff was great very professional.

I had such a wonderful stay. The staff was great very professional. See full review

  • mohogany
  • Dec 9, 2013
Competitive prices for visitors on the move in New York
The West Side YMCA a hostel favorite for backpackers, travelers, a family sticking to a budget (or, really, anyone who is traveling on a budget). Located just off Central Park West and a short walk from the Columbus Circle Travel Hub, the Y is great for guests who want to be close to Central Park, Times Square, Lincoln Center, the Museum of Natural History and Carnegie Hall. Tecumseh Playground, the Museum of Modern Art and the Intrepid Sea, Air, and Space Museum are also within walking distance. The West Side YMCA has a 65,000 square foot fitness center that is perfect for guests who are interested in working out. The West Side WMCA is a great hostel option for back packers and visitors to New York who want to enjoy the very best of the Big Apple on a budget.
Reasons to stay
  • Competitive prices for travelers on a budget
  • Superb location near major New York City attractions
  • Clean, well-maintained rooms
  • Large fitness center for guests who want to work out
  • A television in every room
West Side YMCA rooms
The West Side YMCA has 360 rooms that are a mixture of single bedrooms and bunks. The interior is practical, clean and well maintained, and designed for guests who are planning to be on the move and use the rooms simply as a stop off point to sleep or rest. The New York Tourist Board awarded the West Side YMCA with the accolade of best elder hostel in 1997, and that level of quality has been meticulously maintained ever since. All of the West Side YMCA's comfortable air-conditioned rooms are supplied with a color television. The bathroom facilities are shared but private, and a private bath is available on request.
Things to do nearby
  • Central Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Tecumseh Playground (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (1.3 mi/2.09 km)
  • Intrepid Sea, Air, and Space Museum (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
Policies and fees
The property is currently undergoing renovations of the 10th and 11th floors which will encompass complete modernization of the bathrooms and corridors as well as installation of new lighting and new carpets.  In addition, rooms on those floors will undergo some basic cosmetic upgrades to complement the new bathrooms and hallways. Work will take approximately 10 weeks and should be completed by July 15. Signs are placed throughout the building regarding the work being done.  Please be advised that we will take every precaution to ensure comfort during this period.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7708 -73.9808
Area served
New York.
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK)
Area description
YMCA West Side is located just off Central Park West and steps from Lincoln Center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed West Side YMCA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

West Side YMCA Rooms

Single
The room offers 1 Twin Bed with shared bathrooms, color TV and air conditioning.
Bunk
The room offers 1 Bunk Bed with upper and lower berth, with shared bathrooms, color TV and air conditioning.
Premium Single
The room offers 1 Twin Bed with semi-private bathroom, color TV and air conditioning.
Premium Bunk
The room offers 1 Bunk Bed with upper and lower berth, with semi-private bathroom, color TV and air conditioning.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant

Nearby points of interest

  • Broadway: 0.1 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.3 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.3 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.1 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.3 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.3 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.4 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.4 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.4 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.4 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.5 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.5 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.5 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.5 mi
  • Roseland: 0.5 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.6 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.6 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.6 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.6 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.6 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.6 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.6 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.6 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.7 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (253)

Ratings and reviews for West Side YMCA

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
253 out of 253
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nick88888888
Oakland, NJ
Jan 8, 2013

Great place to stay for the night

This Ymca is in the perfect location. It's near Central Park, on a safe and quiet side street, and near Columbus Cirlce and the subway. It's the cheapest place to stay in Manhattan and the best value for the night. The room was clean and simple but comfortable. The check in process was simple. Overall, I would stay here again and anytime I stay in Manhattan I will be staying at this Ymca.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dancing Chris
Washington DC
Jul 21, 2014

West side YMCA

It was a cool experience. Lots of foreigners which is nice. It was clean, quiet, and a good rest. That's all I wanted and neede. The staff was friendly and helpful and the location is the best!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Whole Foods 3 blocks away

Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
A glaswegian
Glasgow, Scotland
Jul 2, 2014

Nice location but staff not very helpful

The west side YMCA has one of the best locations for a budget traveller that New York can offer. I didn't expect much seeing as it was so cheap, but I have to say that I was disappointed with the unhelpfulness of the staff. Apart from Nick (I think that is the guys name if I remember correctly), no one else seemed to want to offer any help at all. In fact the guy at the desk when I arrived told me that I could go and find somewhere else to stay (after they'd taken my money) when I asked why he needed to take my passport from me overnight. I know it is a youth hostel, but the rooms could also do with a lick of paint. In short, if you're heading to New York and you need a cheap place to stay, cut your trip by 1 day and use the money you save to stay somewhere else

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Viagero
Glendale, CA
Jun 15, 2014

Basic, but great value for NYC

Staff helpful, if somewhat impersonal. Change of room based on a faulty air conditioner was handled OK, if a bit slowly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AbsalomAbsalom
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 13, 2014

You get what you're hoping for

you'll get exactly the level of service, location, amenities you would expect. It's a really great option for anyone on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Taisho
Business
Woodbridge, Va
Jun 6, 2014

Best Valued acomodations in the heart of NY

Clean, Inexpensive, Best Location, Courteous Staff, and more. I am considering of purchasing membership. The best value for the $ you pay !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Beast of Central Park
Charlotte
Jun 4, 2014

Storage and sleeping retreat only

I opted for the semi-private (bathroom) room because it offered the private, although shared, bathroom. The employees were nice and polite during both check in and check out. The room was tiny. Just enough to squeeze a single bed, desk, and a stand alone open closet with two hangers and three or four small shelves. There was a small flatscreen TV that I received good reception on for the limited amount of time I watched anything. The mattress was maybe four inches thick. You are supplied with one sheet, one very thin blanket, and a frail pillow. My back is still aching four days after my last night sleeping in that bed. The bathrooms were one hall over from my room. There were three bathrooms which included a sink, toilet, and shower and you could lock the door. I never had an issue with finding one vacant immediately when required. The actual cleanliness of the bathrooms were not so bad, with the exception of what other guests had left since the last cleaning. The problem with the bathrooms are that they look like they have not been updated since the building was built in 1896. The tile is old, broken, cracked, unaesthetic, and the grout is degraded. I did see mold in two of the three showers along the caulk lines. The location at W 63rd and Central Park West is phenomenal for the price. Most subway trains and buslines are located nearby. You can walk to much of midtown Manhatten and Broadway. Bottom line, if you plan on doing nothing more than storing your luggage and sleeping there, it is probably the cheapest you will find in this locale. This is not a hostel for families, at least not ones with children, or people with cleanliness issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the subway entrances at Columbus Circle. There is also a Whole Foods in Columbus Circle for quick grabs, but expect to spend your "Whole Paycheck" and spend an eternity waiting in line to pay.

Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Marcia visiting Paul
Haddonfield, NJ
Apr 18, 2014

Fine if you expect just a bed and bathroom

Upon arrival, the first room given me was without a bathroom which I had paid for. The second room had a bathroom but neither was clean. Had my son not accompanied me to drop me off, I would not have been able to start the air-conditioner--the only source of air available. The location was fine. The staff not really helpful or friendly. The room was simple and small. There was an overhead light which could be turned off and on from the bed--a positive feature. I am not familiar with NYC prices, but it was not cheap for the inconveniences and lack of cleanliness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
maryannz
St. Paul MN
Apr 15, 2014

Convenient, low-cost, but spartan

My only real complaint is about the state of the shared bathrooms. One three-toilet, four-shower, four-sink bathroom serves almost a hundred rooms, and toilets and floors should be cleaned more often than they are. And where does one store one's key card while one showers? Still, the location--blocks from Central Park and Lincoln Center--is superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Here and There 24
Charlotte, NC
Mar 28, 2014

If you're not there for the hotel ...

The location is perfect. Half a block from Central Park and a couple of blocks away from the Columbus Circle metro station. The Y is basically a dorm. I knew that going in, so that's what I expected. It was clean and convenient--exactly what I was looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Here and There 24
Charlotte, NC
Dec 30, 2013

Exactly what I was looking for

The hotel/hostel was what I was expecting. Nothing fancy, but a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. The location (next to Central Park and only a few blocks from the Columbus Circle station) was perfect. The staff was friendly and helpful. Most of the other guests seemed to be European students. But it was quiet for our 3 nights' stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top