$113 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2015 Check-out: Aug 8, 2015

West Side YMCA

2 stars
View map of 5 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
173 reviews
great for the price and location

Being in the heart of Manhattan for this price? I am in! If the view from your hotel window is of... See full review

  • Lyudmila F.
  • Apr 17, 2015
amazing stay as always

this is my 3rd time staying here and it is as good as ever, the staff are friendly ad helpful. the... See full review

  • gbgreebo25
  • Sep 30, 2014
The West Side YMCA a hostel favorite for backpackers, travelers, a family sticking to a budget (or, really, anyone who is traveling on a budget). Located just off Central Park West and a short walk from the Columbus Circle Travel Hub, the Y is great for guests who want to be close to Central Park, Times Square, Lincoln Center, the Museum of Natural History and Carnegie Hall. Tecumseh Playground, the Museum of Modern Art and the Intrepid Sea, Air, and Space Museum are also within walking distance. The West Side YMCA has a 65,000 square foot fitness center that is perfect for guests who are interested in working out. The West Side WMCA is a great hostel option for back packers and visitors to New York who want to enjoy the very best of the Big Apple on a budget.
Rooms
The West Side YMCA has 360 rooms that are a mixture of single bedrooms and bunks. The interior is practical, clean and well maintained, and designed for guests who are planning to be on the move and use the rooms simply as a stop off point to sleep or rest. The New York Tourist Board awarded the West Side YMCA with the accolade of best elder hostel in 1997, and that level of quality has been meticulously maintained ever since. All of the West Side YMCA's comfortable air-conditioned rooms are supplied with a color television. The bathroom facilities are shared but private, and a private bath is available on request.
Highlights
  • Competitive prices for travelers on a budget
  • Superb location near major New York City attractions
  • Clean, well-maintained rooms
  • Large fitness center for guests who want to work out
  • A television in every room
Nearby attractions
  • Central Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Tecumseh Playground (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (1.3 mi/2.09 km)
  • Intrepid Sea, Air, and Space Museum (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
Policies
The property is currently undergoing renovations of the 10th and 11th floors which will encompass complete modernization of the bathrooms and corridors as well as installation of new lighting and new carpets.  In addition, rooms on those floors will undergo some basic cosmetic upgrades to complement the new bathrooms and hallways. Work will take approximately 10 weeks and should be completed by July 15. Signs are placed throughout the building regarding the work being done.  Please be advised that we will take every precaution to ensure comfort during this period.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed West Side YMCA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

West Side YMCA Rooms

Single
The room offers 1 Twin Bed with shared bathrooms, color TV and air conditioning.
Bunk
The room offers 1 Bunk Bed with upper and lower berth, with shared bathrooms, color TV and air conditioning.
Premium Single
The room offers 1 Twin Bed with semi-private bathroom, color TV and air conditioning.
Premium Bunk
The room offers 1 Bunk Bed with upper and lower berth, with semi-private bathroom, color TV and air conditioning.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant

Nearby points of interest

  • Broadway: 0.1 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.3 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.3 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.1 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.3 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.3 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.4 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.4 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.4 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.4 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.5 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.5 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.5 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.5 mi
  • Roseland: 0.5 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.6 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.6 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.6 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.6 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.6 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.6 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.6 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.6 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.7 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for West Side YMCA

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
173 out of 173
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
2.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PlusSizeTravelGuy
Business
Little Rock, Arkansas
Jun 18, 2012

Perfect No Frills Place To Stay

I initially chose the Y because of the price. I was thinking about the locations in the South and did not have my hopes up to high for anything more. I was surprised at the size of my private room and the private bathrooms all of which included a shower. The room is basic. I bed, chair, desk, television, lamp, and a closet. If you need more then stop reading and go check into one of the more expensive hotels. Was pleasantly surprised to see the amount of children at the hotel. That sealed it for me because anyplace that is kid friendly is a safe place. I was a short walk from Central Park, Columbus Circle, and for me Times Square. The subway is two blocks away which will give you the rest of the city for a small fee. Even when you check out if you need to stow your bags before you fly out they will lock them away for you for $1 per bag. My only issue with the place is that I needed to iron a shirt and no iron was available and the cleaners across the street needed 48hrs to press a shirt. If you are looking for a clean quiet place to stay I strongly recommend staying their.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan to stay in NYC longer than 3 nights and are not scary. Spend $29 for a weekly Metro pass for access to the buses and subway.

Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NHZKA
Business
Hangzhou
Jul 1, 2015

Good hotel

The location is very good, which is close to the central park. It is a good hotel for travelers, since it's cheap price and good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Amy G.
Business
Minneapolis
Jun 14, 2015

Good location and that's it.

Location was awesome! Rooms were very very small but what do you expect for $90 a night in NYC? Front desk staff was rude. Bring your own shampoo, etc. Showers were dirty, bring shower shoes. Rooms were adequately cleaned. Bunks were comfy enough to sleep on after a full day of walking around. We weren't there to spend time in the room so it served our purpose well. Just come prepared for no amenities and poor service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicsgo man
Business
Chicago
May 22, 2015

A New York Value Near Lincoln Center

A great location across from Lincoln Center on W 63rd ...if you don't mind sharing a bathroom, this place is an extreme NY value. It has great place for coffee, pastries and snacks on premises. Incredible gym on the 4th floor and an Olympic size swimming pool too. What you save on staying here, you can spent on Broadway shows and museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anna M.
Business
N/A
Apr 24, 2015

Solo trip

It was very simply hotel. Clean. Nothing special. I stayed just one night and felt safe, that was important to me :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
donavon b.
Business
Tampa
Apr 21, 2015

Pretty good

My only two complaints were that the second day my room key stopped working, but the lady at the front desk fixed it very quickly and she was very helpful. The other was that the security guard was rude with me when I came in. I will say that I had some trouble leaving which was my fault. The gentleman at the desk was extremely helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
donavon b.
Business
Tampa
Apr 21, 2015

Pretty good

My only two complaints were that the second day my room key stopped working, but the lady at the front desk fixed it very quickly and she was very helpful. The other was that the security guard was rude with me when I came in. I will say that I had some trouble leaving which was my fault. The gentleman at the desk was extremely helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lyudmila F.
Business
west palm beach
Apr 17, 2015

great for the price and location

Being in the heart of Manhattan for this price? I am in! If the view from your hotel window is of no importance, if you are ok with shared amenities (shower room), if you are there to spend most of your time outside of the hotel and not in it - it is for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mazzuca
Business
Rochester
Mar 4, 2015

Great value and location

This was perfect for my needs - I was traveling alone and only needed a place to sleep. It's not exactly a place where I'd like to spend a lot of time, but who hangs out in their hotel room when they're in NY city, anyways?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Here and There 24
Business
Charlotte
Mar 1, 2015

Great Value

It's a hostile or dorm, but the location is perfect, a block from Central Park and a couple of blocks from the nearest subway station. Exactly what I hoped it would be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MCfan
Business
N/A
Feb 20, 2015

One night stay

Had an issue with prvt bathroom that I booked, but besides that I would stay again. My issued was rectified within 10 minutes. Great location for the concert I was attending and convenient to the subway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top