$135 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 8, 2014

West Side YMCA

2 stars
5 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
175 reviews
Best Valued acomodations in the heart of NY

Clean, Inexpensive, Best Location, Courteous Staff, and more. I am considering of purchasing... See full review

  • Taisho
  • Jun 6, 2014
I had a wonderful stay. The staff was great very professional.

I had such a wonderful stay. The staff was great very professional. See full review

  • mohogany
  • Dec 9, 2013
Competitive prices for visitors on the move in New York
The West Side YMCA a hostel favorite for backpackers, travelers, a family sticking to a budget (or, really, anyone who is traveling on a budget). Located just off Central Park West and a short walk from the Columbus Circle Travel Hub, the Y is great for guests who want to be close to Central Park, Times Square, Lincoln Center, the Museum of Natural History and Carnegie Hall. Tecumseh Playground, the Museum of Modern Art and the Intrepid Sea, Air, and Space Museum are also within walking distance. The West Side YMCA has a 65,000 square foot fitness center that is perfect for guests who are interested in working out. The West Side WMCA is a great hostel option for back packers and visitors to New York who want to enjoy the very best of the Big Apple on a budget.
Reasons to stay
  • Competitive prices for travelers on a budget
  • Superb location near major New York City attractions
  • Clean, well-maintained rooms
  • Large fitness center for guests who want to work out
  • A television in every room
West Side YMCA rooms
The West Side YMCA has 360 rooms that are a mixture of single bedrooms and bunks. The interior is practical, clean and well maintained, and designed for guests who are planning to be on the move and use the rooms simply as a stop off point to sleep or rest. The New York Tourist Board awarded the West Side YMCA with the accolade of best elder hostel in 1997, and that level of quality has been meticulously maintained ever since. All of the West Side YMCA's comfortable air-conditioned rooms are supplied with a color television. The bathroom facilities are shared but private, and a private bath is available on request.
Things to do nearby
  • Central Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Tecumseh Playground (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (1.3 mi/2.09 km)
  • Intrepid Sea, Air, and Space Museum (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
Policies and fees
The property is currently undergoing renovations of the 10th and 11th floors which will encompass complete modernization of the bathrooms and corridors as well as installation of new lighting and new carpets.  In addition, rooms on those floors will undergo some basic cosmetic upgrades to complement the new bathrooms and hallways. Work will take approximately 10 weeks and should be completed by July 15. Signs are placed throughout the building regarding the work being done.  Please be advised that we will take every precaution to ensure comfort during this period.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7708 -73.9808
Area served
New York.
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK)
Area description
YMCA West Side is located just off Central Park West and steps from Lincoln Center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed West Side YMCA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

West Side YMCA Rooms

Single
The room offers 1 Twin Bed with shared bathrooms, color TV and air conditioning.
Bunk
The room offers 1 Bunk Bed with upper and lower berth, with shared bathrooms, color TV and air conditioning.
Premium Single
The room offers 1 Twin Bed with semi-private bathroom, color TV and air conditioning.
Premium Bunk
The room offers 1 Bunk Bed with upper and lower berth, with semi-private bathroom, color TV and air conditioning.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant

Nearby points of interest

  • Broadway: 0.1 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.3 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.3 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.1 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.3 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.3 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.4 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.4 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.4 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.4 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.5 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.5 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.5 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.5 mi
  • Roseland: 0.5 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.6 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.6 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.6 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.6 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.6 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.6 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.6 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.6 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.7 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (175)

Ratings and reviews for West Side YMCA

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
175 out of 175
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PlusSizeTravelGuy
Business
Little Rock, Arkansas
Jun 18, 2012

Perfect No Frills Place To Stay

I initially chose the Y because of the price. I was thinking about the locations in the South and did not have my hopes up to high for anything more. I was surprised at the size of my private room and the private bathrooms all of which included a shower. The room is basic. I bed, chair, desk, television, lamp, and a closet. If you need more then stop reading and go check into one of the more expensive hotels. Was pleasantly surprised to see the amount of children at the hotel. That sealed it for me because anyplace that is kid friendly is a safe place. I was a short walk from Central Park, Columbus Circle, and for me Times Square. The subway is two blocks away which will give you the rest of the city for a small fee. Even when you check out if you need to stow your bags before you fly out they will lock them away for you for $1 per bag. My only issue with the place is that I needed to iron a shirt and no iron was available and the cleaners across the street needed 48hrs to press a shirt. If you are looking for a clean quiet place to stay I strongly recommend staying their.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan to stay in NYC longer than 3 nights and are not scary. Spend $29 for a weekly Metro pass for access to the buses and subway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love PCV
Boston, MA
Aug 18, 2014

More than a bed

My friend and I spent 3 nights at the West Side Y. Every aspect of the stay was great: the ease of check-in, the full access to the many gym classes offered, the opens-early and closes-late pool, the friendly and helpful staff, and the location, too. I swam laps while my friend took a zumba class. (Note: swim caps required for pool, but they are a reasonable $6.50 to purchase.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Just in case you are indecisive based on the location of the Y, you should know that 20 (street) blocks is roughly a mile. So, you can walk from West 63rd St to Times Square in roughly twenty minutes. (Note: the Avenues are much further apart!) We came back after midnight and didn't have any safety concerns.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
csc1999
chicago
Aug 8, 2014

perfect location.

The YMCA on the Upper West Side is very well located and is quite inexpensive for New York standards. Perfect, if you are okay with very simple accommodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ninjaface
Kearney, Nebraska
Aug 5, 2014

Needs an exterminator

The overall stay was very good...the staff were friendly, polite, and easy to work with for the few things we needed. The room was clean, but small. Really the only thing that kept me from giving it a higher rating was the cockroaches living there. Also, my traveling companions reported that they had bed bugs. I still have my stuff in my car, I'm kind of scared to bring it in the house.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A restaurant called "The Flame" is only a 5 minute walk, and has great food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vinga
Berkeley, CA
Aug 2, 2014

great location, clean room

super convenient - near Columbus circle and just steps from Central Park. The indoor YMCA gym on the 3rd and 4th floors is available to hotel guests. It has saunas. -- I had a single room on the 9th floor. It was spartan, but clean. Bed, TV, small desk, mirror, linoleum floor, air conditioner. The showers and bathroom down the hall were clean. There wasn't anywhere to hang things in the shower, and the sink counter was soaking wet (but clean). There is a small convenience store with basic food, etc. just off the lobby. I'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

try the passion roll at Sushi Damo 330 West 58th St

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KLM5
PA
Jul 28, 2014

weekend trip

Fine for the price. Convenient location. Long lines for shower and restroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dancing Chris
Washington DC
Jul 21, 2014

West side YMCA

It was a cool experience. Lots of foreigners which is nice. It was clean, quiet, and a good rest. That's all I wanted and neede. The staff was friendly and helpful and the location is the best!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Whole Foods 3 blocks away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
A glaswegian
Glasgow, Scotland
Jul 2, 2014

Nice location but staff not very helpful

The west side YMCA has one of the best locations for a budget traveller that New York can offer. I didn't expect much seeing as it was so cheap, but I have to say that I was disappointed with the unhelpfulness of the staff. Apart from Nick (I think that is the guys name if I remember correctly), no one else seemed to want to offer any help at all. In fact the guy at the desk when I arrived told me that I could go and find somewhere else to stay (after they'd taken my money) when I asked why he needed to take my passport from me overnight. I know it is a youth hostel, but the rooms could also do with a lick of paint. In short, if you're heading to New York and you need a cheap place to stay, cut your trip by 1 day and use the money you save to stay somewhere else

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Viagero
Glendale, CA
Jun 15, 2014

Basic, but great value for NYC

Staff helpful, if somewhat impersonal. Change of room based on a faulty air conditioner was handled OK, if a bit slowly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AbsalomAbsalom
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 13, 2014

You get what you're hoping for

you'll get exactly the level of service, location, amenities you would expect. It's a really great option for anyone on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Side YMCA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Taisho
Business
Woodbridge, Va
Jun 6, 2014

Best Valued acomodations in the heart of NY

Clean, Inexpensive, Best Location, Courteous Staff, and more. I am considering of purchasing membership. The best value for the $ you pay !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search