$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
1,363 reviews
Great stay!

I was very happy with our stay! Location was perfect!! Could not have asked for a better stay! Beds... See full review

  • Melanie B.
  • Aug 12, 2015
friend

i love... See full review

  • Ngoc CIA
  • Jul 29, 2015

The Wellington Hotel in New York is a luxury establishment that has welcomed guests in New York City for over 113 years. Known for its classic design, the style of the hotel captures the true spirit of the Big Apple with elegant chandeliers and gold accents in the interior space. Each room features luxurious decor with free access to WiFi, Kewl bath amenities and a 32-inch flat screen television.

Location

With Central Park just three blocks away, the Wellington places guests close to a welcoming green space featuring a wide range of activities, including roller skating and boating, on the calm waters of the lake. Every type of cuisine is represented in this neighborhood, with area favorites ranging from Ray’s Pizza on Broadway to The Russian Tea Room on West 57th Street, where visitors can choose from more than 40 types of vodka, or book the facility for a classical afternoon tea. Retail therapy can be found inside the designer stores of 5th Avenue or the dependable establishment of Bloomingdale’s, which combines major lines and fresh labels.

Highlights

The Wellington Hotel is located just a few blocks from Central Park and is half a mile from Times Square. It's conveniently located on the corner of West 55th Street and Seventh Avenue. For breakfast, guests can enjoy dining at the Park Cafe for traditional American menu items that include French toast and omelettes. Molyvos Greek Restaurant is an award-winning restaurant on the lobby level and offers a variety of Greek dishes. It is most commonly known for its flavorful grilled fish that is served throughout the day. Room service is also available in each room. A gift shop is located on-site for a great place to pick up souvenirs or snacks. Outside of the hotel, over 100 restaurants are available within walking distance. Guests can also visit some of the most popular attractions nearby, which include Carnegie Hall, Rockefeller Center and the Museum of Modern Art.

Policies
Some of the rooms have kitchenettes-perfect for hot snacks and downtime after a long day. If you're visiting in November or December, stock up on gifts and Christmas decorations at the Wellington's Christmas Cottage store.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wellington Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$134
3.7 / 5 187 reviews
★★★★
$155
4.0 / 5 210 reviews
★★★
$148
3.9 / 5 288 reviews
★★★
$130
3.7 / 5 186 reviews
★★★
$134
3.5 / 5 78 reviews
★★★
$100
3.5 / 5 757 reviews
★★★
$140
3.3 / 5 244 reviews
★★★
$126
3.2 / 5 408 reviews
★★★
$152
4.4 / 5 284 reviews

Wellington Hotel Rooms

Standard Double -Double
Standard Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee. Note: a third person cannot be accommodated
Deluxe Double-Double
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with two double beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features two flat screen TVs with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, one bathroom; refrigerator and microwave (no utensils). High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Standard Room with One Double Bed
Standard Room with One Double Bed accommodates one or two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • New York Coliseum: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • University Club: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi

Dining

Park Cafe
A traditional New York coffee shop,The Park Cafe, which has been welcoming guests for more than 25 years, was recently renovated. Breakfast is served every day beginning at 6:00am. You can also enjoy lunch, dinner and after-theater dining until 1:00am.
Molyvos
Enjoy award winning Mediterranean cuisine at Molyvos. From noon Monday to Friday traditional Greek dishes and grilled fish specialties are served. Saturday and Sunday also offers brunch from 11:00am. Molyvos is located in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 1363
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sunday
Single
Clearwater, FL, USA
Dec 17, 2011

poor customer svc from manager to housekeeper

Poor customer svc. They act like there doing you a favor by allowing you to stay there. Housekeeping don't have necessary stuff to stock room correcttly. Room to hot or to cold mostly to hot. The hold they put on visa never comes off it seems. Lot of money for just location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
visitor to NY
Single
Winchester, MA
Dec 4, 2010

way too noisy

With all windows closed I could hear a loud and continuous noise throughout the whole night. In addition to that noise there were also trash trucks that made additional beeping noises. I could not sleep even though I was on the 18th floor, i.e. supposedly pretty high up to hear noises from the street. I picked that hotel because it was conviniently located to where I was going the next day, and because it was relatively cheap to other hotels in the area, but I would never go there again considering the fact that in spite of me being totally exhausted I could not get a good night's rest!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
USA
Nov 28, 2007

My review of Wellington Hotel

When I arrived at my Hotel there was no one to bring my bag into the Lobby or no one to bring my bag down the stairs to the elevator. I was my own bellman. On my first night a hot water boiler blew and hot steam was pouring into my room under the carpet. A real mess. The Hotel then put me into another room the size of a closet and it was a smokers room. Cigar smoke at that. This room change ocured about 12:35am and I was too tired to complain to the front desk. The next morning however I took my complaint to the front desk and the manager on duty offered no no more than it was beyond our control and offered another room for my last night there. I left very early the next morning and forgot a new pair of cufflinks on the desk. The hotel stressed my word against the hosekeeper. Anyway, I will not stay at that hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very Displeased Guest
Single
Fajardo
Feb 17, 2015

You wanted to save money?

Do book if: if you are looking for a good location to Times Square. Don't because: These guys make their X-mas by charging you for room movies you never watched, even if you never turned the TV on. They would pull a log file stating that you "pressed" a button on the remote and the movie started running. Of course this is to their advantage since you are rushing to JFK, you don't want to miss your flight, so, the quicker is just to pay $50 worth of unwatched movies and be on your way. My second advice: Keep track of your times you leave and enter your room, that's how I was able to dispute the charges, as the movies ran in times I was not even at the hotel. My first advise: don't ever bother staying here. Shame on this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
first time visitor in ny
Single
Pennsylvania
Apr 1, 2014

tiny little bit of room

Location is great. I enjoyed the shops and restaurants around. Great lively surroundings but my room which was on the 7th floor was tiny and bore. But overall I'll give it a two stars. Plus staffs could be nicer... customer service improvement. If you need just an overnight stay fairly priced for the location of the hotel then I'd certainly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MB South End
Single
Boston
May 20, 2013

Okay

The hotel does not have a concierge and I needed help because of the train derailment. Reception tried to help, but are not concierges. There is no one to help in the business center, so I could not make bus reservations on line and had to go to the Port Authority to get a ticket. The bathroom was too small for one. And I was not sure they changed the bed linens every day. Good location. The hotel has an excellent car service. All in all not worth what I paid for the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
washington
Nov 25, 2010

old building but in good location

The place was in very good location. but it could of been better if i dont need to pay for everything like internet access something like that. the bathroom.the room are small. what makes me more disappointed is when i hold to the one corner in the bathrrom i burned my fingers. there was a hot metal pipe which is verry dangerous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tiny room without light
Single
marina del rey, ca
Aug 24, 2009

nice location but.....

I will probably not use this hotel again both for the small room size and minimal lighting. The location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
frank, the boss
Single
michigan
Jul 7, 2009

Needs that special something

I was not impressed with the look and feel of the facility. Room very outdated with uncomfortable bed. I did not like the facility and checked out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
K-Dwag
Single
Chicago, IL
Jan 20, 2011

Great place to sleep!

The Wellington Hotel is an excellent choice for a basic hotel in the heart of Times Square. I chose it only because I was in town for one-night to see Prince at Madison Square Garden and needed a place to sleep & shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Park Cafe on the corner of the hotel was perfect for my morning meal prior to leaving. Under $15.

Back to menu Return to top