$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
1,478 reviews
great broadway trip

This hotel was close to the theater and the bed was amazingly comfortable after a long walking day... See full review

  • Alisha H.
  • Apr 8, 2015
Nice place

Really happy here, loved our room and the staff was great. Fantastic location. The only complaint... See full review

  • Jessica F.
  • Apr 8, 2015
Radiating history from its walls, the Wellington Hotel New York?built in 1901?stands apart from the fast pace of modern city life surrounding it. The plush lobby is decked out in rich tones and intricate murals, while focal chandeliers give the interiors a classical ambience.  If you are here on business, the hotel?s central location and 24-hour business center will cater to your every need. Midtown Manhattan is full of excellent restaurants; gourmets would do well to try the Wellington?s delicious plates of Greek mezze at the Molyvos restaurant, or the Park Cafe's informal all-day dining options.
Key facts
  • 700 guestrooms
  • Two restaurants: Molyvos and Park Cafe
  • 24-hour business center
  • Gift shop
  • Hair salon
  • Multilingual staff
Neighborhood

With Central Park just three blocks away, the Wellington places guests close to a welcoming green space featuring a wide range of activities, including roller skating and boating, on the calm waters of the lake. Every type of cuisine is represented in this neighborhood, with area favorites ranging from Ray’s Pizza on Broadway to The Russian Tea Room on West 57th Street, where visitors can choose from more than 40 types of vodka, or book the facility for a classical afternoon tea. Retail therapy can be found inside the designer stores of 5th Avenue or the dependable establishment of Bloomingdale’s, which combines major lines and fresh labels.

Hints and tips
Some of the rooms have kitchenettes-perfect for hot snacks and downtime after a long day. If you're visiting in November or December, stock up on gifts and Christmas decorations at the Wellington's Christmas Cottage store.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wellington Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Wellington Hotel Rooms

Standard Double -Double
Standard Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee. Note: a third person cannot be accommodated
Deluxe Double-Double
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with two double beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features two flat screen TVs with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, one bathroom; refrigerator and microwave (no utensils). High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Standard Room with One Double Bed
Standard Room with One Double Bed accommodates one or two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • University Club: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi

Dining

Park Cafe
A traditional New York coffee shop,The Park Cafe, which has been welcoming guests for more than 25 years, was recently renovated. Breakfast is served every day beginning at 6:00am. You can also enjoy lunch, dinner and after-theater dining until 1:00am.
Molyvos
Enjoy award winning Mediterranean cuisine at Molyvos. From noon Monday to Friday traditional Greek dishes and grilled fish specialties are served. Saturday and Sunday also offers brunch from 11:00am. Molyvos is located in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
219 out of 1478
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sunshinesharla
Business
Clarksville, AR
Apr 5, 2011

Tiny w/GREAT Water Pressure & Location!

The hotel didn't have a lot to offer, and the rooms seemed smaller than my child's 12X12 room. Not to mention, the "double" bed is actually a full size... tiny! The view stunk. We could see a dirty rooftop on one side, and a dark street adjacent a tall building on the other. Plus, the room smelled stale and smokey, though it was a non-smoking room, and we had to call the electrician the first night because our air didn't work, and our shades wouldn't stay down. On the other hand, the hotel is centrally located near Times Square and the shower had the BEST water pressure of any hotel I have ever stayed at. I seriously didn't want to leave the "massage". There was also an affordable eatery across the street called "Cafe Metro." That was nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We LOVED "Wicked" on Broadway, and it was only 3 blocks from the hotel!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Steph.K
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 26, 2013

Not gonna stay there again

The room was way too small and our room was next to the elevator so it was noisy every morning. Also, the heat was too high and there was no controller in the room, I woke up with headache and bad cough every morning. If I kept the window open, the noise from the street was not acceptable. It's great location, but that's it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Dec 5, 2007

Not a very well=dsciplined management hotel.

Needs pin or clip for emergency party dress hold up but no one likes to help or willing to do anything for us. I just felt so bad for them. Not a very well=dsciplined management hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Naples, Florida.
Aug 25, 2009

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly"

Very small room, view ?? to the next window bilding, ugly,old, not even a coffe machine in the bed room. I will never recomend this hotel to anybody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very Displeased Guest
Business
Fajardo
Jan 26, 2015

Hidden charges, they rip you off!

Beware! Dont let these guys charge you with movies you never watched. Make note of the time you leave and return to the hotel, that's how you can prove you weren't in the room. I had them review the room log and left them with no choice but to drop the charges. Location is good, but service here service makes your trip insufferable. There was a lady next to me almkst crying and swearing she never watched any movies..they tried the same with me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Make note of your ins and outs of the room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
88Einer Danes
Business
new york
Feb 16, 2014

NICE AND CHEAP

NICE AND CHEAP ... aircon is busted ... but overall this place is good for a temporary stay =

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Creme Brulee
Business
Vancouver, BC
Feb 22, 2014

First trip to New York with forest friend

The best thing about this hotel is its location only. The room was extremely small, not much walking space, and non of the pictures on their website shows the actually room condition. Towels was not washed/sanitised properly, how do I know that? 1: you will still see blood and other dark stain on the towels 2: newly changed towels has hair from the previous user (not my hair colour for sure) 3: you can't smell any chlorine that you normally smell from a hotel towel (not sure if this is a good or bad sign) You will find layers of dust around the washroom sink (rear or near the pipe). Room wireless access is pretty expensive (it is complementary if you book on their website) and no complementary internet at the lobby either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

New York has amazing museums and other attraction places. Most of them have admission fees. Get a New York Pass, New York City Pass or Explorer Pass could save you a lot of money (must plan your trip and schedule in advance). Get a 3 - day metro pass or 7-day metro pass (depends on your trip length) for unlimited subway and bus access.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kristy31803
Business
Massachusetts
Feb 26, 2014

Quick Overnight Trip

My friend and I went to stay overnight for a comedy benefit being held right around the corner from the Wellington. The location could not have been better-- sooooo close to Times Square, right in the heart of the Theater District. The room and hotel left a lot to be desired, though. The bathroom was small and inconveniently laid out. The shower was difficult to use and randomly scalded us. The A/C didn't work and the room was extremely warm. The window opened a little, but not enough to combat the stuffiness. Ice was located on the ground floor, and you could ring someone to bring it up for you, but there were no vending machines with water or anything on the floors. The Wellington does have a nice diner/breakfast/dinner place on the ground floor that was expensive, but very good. The staff in the restaurant was very friendly. At the end of the day, the price was good for the excellent location, but I think I would consider looking at other hotels in the area if we go to the same benefit next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
New York Shoppers
Business
Indpls. In.
May 27, 2009

New York Wellington

The room was very nice but very small. There was only one bed for two people. I do not mind sleeping in the same bed with my best friend but, would have preferred to have two beds. I heard other quest complaining of the same thing and there were no 2 bedrooms available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Ver close to time square. GREAT LOCATION!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DKNYC
Business
Manchester, UK
Nov 16, 2009

Excellent location!

My 3 friends and I were on a special birthday treat to NYC. I did call ahead and asked them for 2 beds instead of 1 bed and a pull-out and they did accomodate us which was good. The room was ok but nothing special, however, was clean and we got maid service everyday. The main selling point of the hotel is it's fabulous location, turn right out of the hotel and you can see Central Park, turn left and you can see Times Sq. The reception staff were a bit unfriendly, I had to wait ages for them to acknowledge me, despite the abundance of them on duty. However, the concierge staff were excellent and very friendly. The main disadvantage to this hotel is there is no bar, and the reception has one sofa and a couple of chairs. Many people who were checking out waiting for transport had no alternative but to sit on the floors which was a bit ridiculous, with no refreshments. Ok there is an adjoining diner, but this got very busy also. There was nowhere really just to sit and wait with a drink. I would recommend this hotel if you are on a tight schedule to NYC, its has basic amenities and you really can walk to a lot of the attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top