$83 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2015 Check-out: Mar 4, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
1,455 reviews
Awesome family trip!!!

Excellent location! Must try Carnagie Deli. Since we went in winter time the rooms were a bit warm... See full review

  • QueenDi
  • Feb 14, 2015
Great hotel!

This is our second stay at the Wellington. We love the location and it's proximity to the subway,... See full review

  • Malinda M.
  • Feb 12, 2015
Radiating history from its walls, the Wellington Hotel New York?built in 1901?stands apart from the fast pace of modern city life surrounding it. The plush lobby is decked out in rich tones and intricate murals, while focal chandeliers give the interiors a classical ambience.  If you are here on business, the hotel?s central location and 24-hour business center will cater to your every need. Midtown Manhattan is full of excellent restaurants; gourmets would do well to try the Wellington?s delicious plates of Greek mezze at the Molyvos restaurant, or the Park Cafe's informal all-day dining options.
Key facts
  • 700 guestrooms
  • Two restaurants: Molyvos and Park Cafe
  • 24-hour business center
  • Gift shop
  • Hair salon
  • Multilingual staff
Neighborhood

With Central Park just three blocks away, the Wellington places guests close to a welcoming green space featuring a wide range of activities, including roller skating and boating, on the calm waters of the lake. Every type of cuisine is represented in this neighborhood, with area favorites ranging from Ray’s Pizza on Broadway to The Russian Tea Room on West 57th Street, where visitors can choose from more than 40 types of vodka, or book the facility for a classical afternoon tea. Retail therapy can be found inside the designer stores of 5th Avenue or the dependable establishment of Bloomingdale’s, which combines major lines and fresh labels.

Hints and tips
Some of the rooms have kitchenettes-perfect for hot snacks and downtime after a long day. If you're visiting in November or December, stock up on gifts and Christmas decorations at the Wellington's Christmas Cottage store.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wellington Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Wellington Hotel Rooms

Standard Double -Double
Standard Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee. Note: a third person cannot be accommodated
Deluxe Double-Double
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with two double beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features two flat screen TVs with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, one bathroom; refrigerator and microwave (no utensils). High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Standard Room with One Double Bed
Standard Room with One Double Bed accommodates one or two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • University Club: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi

Dining

Park Cafe
A traditional New York coffee shop,The Park Cafe, which has been welcoming guests for more than 25 years, was recently renovated. Breakfast is served every day beginning at 6:00am. You can also enjoy lunch, dinner and after-theater dining until 1:00am.
Molyvos
Enjoy award winning Mediterranean cuisine at Molyvos. From noon Monday to Friday traditional Greek dishes and grilled fish specialties are served. Saturday and Sunday also offers brunch from 11:00am. Molyvos is located in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1455)

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
406 out of 1455
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kaufman Tx
Jun 13, 2010

Horrible, horrible, horrible

The staff was friendly and helpful, but the hotel itself is a dump. Your site advertised it as a 3.5 - 4.0 star and thats a joke. This place was herendous and I will NEVER stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

you can ride the subway anywhere you need to go and then may have a short walk. the sites were amazing. It was out first trip to NY and we loved it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shoelover970
Business
Colorado, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Big Mistake

We had some serious issues with this Hotel. For starters, I made reservations about 3 months in advance, for my mom, my aunt and myself. I requested 3 beds, and was told we would get 2 beds and a sleeper sofa. When we checked in, we were taken to a two room suite that was a total dump, and a roll-away cot was brought in for the 3rd bed. On the wall in one of the rooms, someone had written "Everyone Dies!". This was quite disturbing. We also observed dirty hand-prints on the ceiling and the air-conditioner was being held in with what looked like medical tape?!?! We of course called to complain, and were told that we needed to talk to the day manager (we arrived at around 11pm). Then at 5:30 am, someone had opened the door to our room! He apologized when I sat up terrified and saw him, and he said he was with security and sent to the wrong room. After trying to fall back to sleep, the room was then invaded by another two people. At this point, we were irate. So, again we tried to talk to the manager. We were apologized to, and were told that the room would be cleaned up and that they did not have another room available to accommodate the three of us. On the 3rd day, we came back to the room and the smoke detector was beeping because the batteries were dying. Finally, they gave us a different room. The room they gave us was nice, and had three beds. But this is the room I requested to begin with, 3 months prior to the trip. This was a total hassle, and I will never stay here again, nor would I recommend it to anyone else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Madison Ave shopping, and to Central Park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
snurse
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 5, 2012

Remove this one from your list!

The room was dirty and the maid service horrible! When you have to ask for more soap that is totally unacceptable. We found bottle caps under the bed and dust everywhere. Don't expect a sheet change as we were there five nights. The only positive was we had airconditioning and fresh towels. This is not a three star hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Subways are the best form of transportation. Get a pass and see the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
valaue hunter
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 1, 2013

Good location, ove fprices

a great location, but $35 to park a car; no breakfast and you have to pay for internet. I will not stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disgruntled NJ Dad
Business
New Jersey
Apr 6, 2013

Badly in need of updating - location does not trump the skeeve factor

I thought it would be fun to take the family into the City for a couple of nights over Easter Break, but...the sofa bed in our "Queen Suite" was so vile I could not let our kids sleep in it. The Queen bed itself was in such poor shape, it collapsed in the middle. The carpet was dirty and in need of replacement. Overall a disgusting experience. We actually left the first night in spite of losing the prepaid 2 night fee. I figured the money was sunk, and it was not worth enduring the situation. It is shameful that they charge as much as they do for what can only be referred to as a dump. I felt bad for all the Europeans who had nowhere to escape to - we only had to drive back through the Lincoln Tunnel, thank goodness...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Aming
Business
Portland, OR
Sep 13, 2013

Yuck!

The lobby is nice. However, the room is very outdated. Carpet needed to be replaced. Old, smelly, scary I might add. Everything about it was dissapointing. What a waste of money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Made105
Business
Michigan
Oct 28, 2013

Disappointing and Dirty

We reserved 2 double beds and none where available. My 6'3 son had to sleep on a little cot. Both the tub and the sink had running faucets (the one in the tub finally broke and had to be replaced). Large hair balls in the bathroom. Towels weren't clean. Our floor smelled like mold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Enidd
Business
Puerto Rico
Jan 8, 2014

Vacations....

This hotel is not handicap friendly. The only access to the hotel is through stairs and I had a lot of trouble to get my luggage in the lobby. The elevators are only for the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NYLIMOM
Business
NY
Feb 10, 2014

Great location but lacks customer service

I called in the early evening to request extra pillows and blankets. My daughter is pregnant and needed extra for comfort and assistance. We never received them. In addition, the heater was so noisy, it sounded as if someone was banging a bat against the pipes! It was a restless sleep. I received the extra pillow and blanket the NEXT DAY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cali Angel
Business
Manteca, CA
May 31, 2014

Managers are too busy.

We were not acknowledged when we were waiting to check in and when she finally saw us, she didn't help us, she said somebody will be right with us. We waited for another employee to help us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is very close to Central Park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top