$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 5, 2015 Check-out: Mar 6, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
1,457 reviews
Awesome family trip!!!

Excellent location! Must try Carnagie Deli. Since we went in winter time the rooms were a bit warm... See full review

  • QueenDi
  • Feb 14, 2015
Great hotel!

This is our second stay at the Wellington. We love the location and it's proximity to the subway,... See full review

  • Malinda M.
  • Feb 12, 2015
Radiating history from its walls, the Wellington Hotel New York?built in 1901?stands apart from the fast pace of modern city life surrounding it. The plush lobby is decked out in rich tones and intricate murals, while focal chandeliers give the interiors a classical ambience.  If you are here on business, the hotel?s central location and 24-hour business center will cater to your every need. Midtown Manhattan is full of excellent restaurants; gourmets would do well to try the Wellington?s delicious plates of Greek mezze at the Molyvos restaurant, or the Park Cafe's informal all-day dining options.
Key facts
  • 700 guestrooms
  • Two restaurants: Molyvos and Park Cafe
  • 24-hour business center
  • Gift shop
  • Hair salon
  • Multilingual staff
Neighborhood

With Central Park just three blocks away, the Wellington places guests close to a welcoming green space featuring a wide range of activities, including roller skating and boating, on the calm waters of the lake. Every type of cuisine is represented in this neighborhood, with area favorites ranging from Ray’s Pizza on Broadway to The Russian Tea Room on West 57th Street, where visitors can choose from more than 40 types of vodka, or book the facility for a classical afternoon tea. Retail therapy can be found inside the designer stores of 5th Avenue or the dependable establishment of Bloomingdale’s, which combines major lines and fresh labels.

Hints and tips
Some of the rooms have kitchenettes-perfect for hot snacks and downtime after a long day. If you're visiting in November or December, stock up on gifts and Christmas decorations at the Wellington's Christmas Cottage store.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wellington Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Wellington Hotel Rooms

Standard Double -Double
Standard Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee. Note: a third person cannot be accommodated
Deluxe Double-Double
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with two double beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features two flat screen TVs with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, one bathroom; refrigerator and microwave (no utensils). High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Standard Room with One Double Bed
Standard Room with One Double Bed accommodates one or two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • University Club: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi

Dining

Park Cafe
A traditional New York coffee shop,The Park Cafe, which has been welcoming guests for more than 25 years, was recently renovated. Breakfast is served every day beginning at 6:00am. You can also enjoy lunch, dinner and after-theater dining until 1:00am.
Molyvos
Enjoy award winning Mediterranean cuisine at Molyvos. From noon Monday to Friday traditional Greek dishes and grilled fish specialties are served. Saturday and Sunday also offers brunch from 11:00am. Molyvos is located in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1457)

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
496 out of 1457
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Dec 17, 2007

so so

The Wellington was not very friendly.I felt like the room was way over priced compared to my last seven visits this year.The room had a hard mattress.It was so hot that you could not sleep,tried to adjust heat but was preset.The location was great between time square and central park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the castle pub two streets down had great food and service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Jun 19, 2009

Terrible!!

Location is good but room was dirty, old and depressing. Comforters on bed were very old and dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travel Maestro
Business
Centereach, NY
Sep 27, 2009

Weekend event

I did not get to stay at the hotel. On getting there, I was told my room was unavailable and had to be relocated to a sister hotel. I was disappointed by the way the whole process was handled. I would have preferred to be informed about the situation before my arrival. I will have to rethink ever making a reservation at the wellington.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Nov 24, 2010

Avoid this hotel

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Room was very small, bathroom was tiny. There was a double bed with one bedside locker. There was no kettle, fridge, mini bar. The room was extremely noisy. We were 15 floors up and could hear everything on the streets below. Roller blind did not stay down, curtains could not be pulled together. There was a huge gap under the door and each night we had to roll up a towel and place under door of room to try and keep the light out. The noise of the heating system was horrendous - you would think someone was in the door banging on the pipes. Please do not consider staying in this hotel. The only good thing about it was its location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Only good thing about this hotel was its location to Broaday, Times Square and Central Park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hibbsy
Business
England
Dec 11, 2011

Fantastic trip - Let down by the hotel

Whilst we did not go to New York to sit in our hotel, I did expect to find it in the 21st Century. I don't live like a king but it wasn't a place we looked forward to coming back to after a busy day sight seeing and shopping. The Hotel was: * Dated * Lacked amenities * No safety deposit box in the room * Not clean * Noisey air con - (could not have it on at night) * Room too small * Lifts out of operation (an absolute pain when they did work) * Un helpful staff * Door swipe cards that worked intermittently * Bathroom had a smell (missing plugs, inserts off taps) * Generally not looked after. I have stayed in several hotels in New York and many other parts of the world and this is by far the worst I've visited. I will not return here and I do not think it was worth what we paid Very disappointed!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Woodbury Common for some shopping bargains

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
freeflyin180
Business
Houston, TX
Dec 20, 2011

Wouldn't recommend

First, the staff was friendly enough when we first arrived. However, that's where to good part of the review ends. Having never traveled to New York before, I read reviews and tried to find as many pictures as possible when considering a hotel. I did like the location of this hotel, but that alone wasn't enough to make up for the short comings. The room was very small, not a deal breaker, but it was more liken to what you'd expect checking in to a $30 budget hotel in the middle of no where. Dirty, run down, old, these are the best descriptors. The shower; excellent water pressure, however you had to jump out of the stream every few seconds for the wave of scolding hot water that was impossible to control. Now, granted we were on the 9th floor but the bathroom window didn't even have a latch to lock it. On the second day staying we returned to our room around 3:30pm, it hadn't been cleaned yet. The answer to this was pretty evident since we walked past the maid sitting on a bucket next to a closet in the hallway. We spoke with a lady at the front desk as we headed back out almost an hour and a half later. She apologized and said she'd send someone up and I told her not to bother. Never heard back from a manager on it or anyone else from the hotel for that matter. As with many others i'm sure, I chose this hotel based on my package price. End result, I will definitely budget more money on my next trip to stay somewhere better. I wouldn't stay here again if it was free!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pazzo Notte. If you like italian this is a great place to eat. Dinner for two with drinks and tip was around $92.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Courteous
Business
Delaware
Sep 15, 2012

disgusting staying

the hotel room was dirty, mold on the bathroom walls. the bed sheets very old and dirt on them. Location is perfect but next time i am deffinetely not taking this place again i do not recomend it to any people I know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jela717
Business
Long Island, NY
Feb 18, 2013

WORST hotel in NYC

The room needs to be updated, it was cold and outside the window was very noisy with machinery.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PaulaSC
Business
Great River, NY
Feb 18, 2013

Great Location

Front desk staff excellent. Upgraded us to a King room, but went downhill after that. The cold water fauset did not work. The room was SO HOT and the adjustments on the thermostat did not work. We had to sleep with the windows open, (thank God it was able to work) all night. On the 5th floor, a little nervous about leaving window open. Sorry, but NO 3 STAR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a great location. Everything in the neighborhood, from high end to fast food. Great location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jela717
Business
Long Island, NY
Feb 17, 2013

Worst room in NYC

We stayed in room 726 and it was the worst. We just needed a room for the night and it was horrible. The noise level outside our window was loud, the room was cold with no control for heat and you had to sit sideways on the toilet. Will never stay in this Hotel again. Would not recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top