$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1356 out of 1356
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gazzer
Business
London, UK
Feb 23, 2014

Satisfactory at best

We were upgraded to one bedroom apartments with another double bed in the lounge - if we had known those were available we would have booked that for the four of us. Big problems with noisy central heating radiators banging loudly through the night in both rooms. Window blinds did not pull down properly, and curtains are only 1/4 width for show, so light coming in the rooms was a problem. Overall a bit shabby.Doubt we will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kristy31803
Business
Massachusetts
Feb 26, 2014

Quick Overnight Trip

My friend and I went to stay overnight for a comedy benefit being held right around the corner from the Wellington. The location could not have been better-- sooooo close to Times Square, right in the heart of the Theater District. The room and hotel left a lot to be desired, though. The bathroom was small and inconveniently laid out. The shower was difficult to use and randomly scalded us. The A/C didn't work and the room was extremely warm. The window opened a little, but not enough to combat the stuffiness. Ice was located on the ground floor, and you could ring someone to bring it up for you, but there were no vending machines with water or anything on the floors. The Wellington does have a nice diner/breakfast/dinner place on the ground floor that was expensive, but very good. The staff in the restaurant was very friendly. At the end of the day, the price was good for the excellent location, but I think I would consider looking at other hotels in the area if we go to the same benefit next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Beeonit
Business
Long Island, New York
Mar 8, 2014

Wellington Review

The Wellington is a decent hotel, with a great location, in walking distance to a lot of NYC attractions. Decently clean, no bed bugs or dirty towels in site, and the staff is ok. Overall worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NYCvisitor11
Business
New York
Mar 31, 2014

You get what you pay for

everything is very old and worn out, which explains the price of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
first time visitor in ny
Business
Pennsylvania
Apr 1, 2014

tiny little bit of room

Location is great. I enjoyed the shops and restaurants around. Great lively surroundings but my room which was on the 7th floor was tiny and bore. But overall I'll give it a two stars. Plus staffs could be nicer... customer service improvement. If you need just an overnight stay fairly priced for the location of the hotel then I'd certainly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DKNYC
Business
Manchester, UK
Nov 16, 2009

Excellent location!

My 3 friends and I were on a special birthday treat to NYC. I did call ahead and asked them for 2 beds instead of 1 bed and a pull-out and they did accomodate us which was good. The room was ok but nothing special, however, was clean and we got maid service everyday. The main selling point of the hotel is it's fabulous location, turn right out of the hotel and you can see Central Park, turn left and you can see Times Sq. The reception staff were a bit unfriendly, I had to wait ages for them to acknowledge me, despite the abundance of them on duty. However, the concierge staff were excellent and very friendly. The main disadvantage to this hotel is there is no bar, and the reception has one sofa and a couple of chairs. Many people who were checking out waiting for transport had no alternative but to sit on the floors which was a bit ridiculous, with no refreshments. Ok there is an adjoining diner, but this got very busy also. There was nowhere really just to sit and wait with a drink. I would recommend this hotel if you are on a tight schedule to NYC, its has basic amenities and you really can walk to a lot of the attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ems
Business
Essex
Jun 6, 2011

Good location but shabby

Had great time in New York visiting all the well known landmarks. The hotel was ideally situated between Central Park and Times Square but was in need of urgent refurbishment. Rooms looked shabby, furniture was broken, curtains not fixed to wall properly, very noisy air-conditioning - I do not believe it warrants a 3* rating, I have stayed in much better quality B&Bs in England

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

New York Pass is a good way to see the sights as this gets you into a number of attractions, and covers a variety of periods. The more you use the more you save

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RonDennis
Business
Toronto
Nov 24, 2011

Great Location, rooms leave much to be desired..

Fair experience. The room we were booked into had such a small bathroom that I was almost unable to sit on the toilet! We asked for a room change. WSe were eventually put into a very pleasant room in the "East Wing" of the hotel. The problem with the East Wing is that you must go down almost a full flighnt of stairs to reach the elevators that serve that wing. As my wife and I both have mobility problems, we will not book at the Wellington again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TheTruth
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Dec 14, 2011

Just a place to lay your head

The lady and I walked in, paused, and started laughing. The room was the size of a matchbox and the bed was sloped, seriously. The foot of the bed was about 4-5 inches higher than the center. We were so tired by the end of the night though that the uncomfortable bed wasn't an issue. The bathroom was no better. Cramped, and with a leak under and on top of the sink. It was about 25 degrees outside that weekend, but about 80 inside the room. We had to turn on the AC to balance out the temperature. There are no ice buckets in the room or ice machines on the floor; you must get those from the bellmen (PC: bell-persons?) in the lobby. On a positive note, the best thing about the room was the shower- powerful and hot. And the room wasn't dirty, just old and in need of renovation. The best thing about the hotel itself was the location. The R & N trains are literally 5 steps out the side door, and the 1 train is about 4 blocks away. The hotel is also on 7th Ave, so Times Square, the Broadway theaters, etc, are walkable. I'd say Penn Station (also on 7th Ave.) is also walkable, but that's up for debate. Bottom line- We would not look to stay here again, but if the price was right and it was another 2 night stay, we'd seriously consider it as a last resort. Just know going into it that it is only a place to sleep, and not relax and unwind in comfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
steve1977
Business
Staffordshire, UK
Dec 26, 2011

holiday

The staff were fantastic, but was lead to believe that every room came with tea/coffee making facilities but was not, when went down to reception they said only the suites have these facilities, on check in, when we arrived at our room, it was dirty with cobwebs, and also stained duvet cover, the carpet was filty and stained, bathroom was not the best to, went and complained to reception, they sent in the cleaners, which soaked the place in bleach and cleaner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top