$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1654 out of 1654
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very Displeased Guest
Business
Fajardo
Feb 17, 2015

You wanted to save money?

Do book if: if you are looking for a good location to Times Square. Don't because: These guys make their X-mas by charging you for room movies you never watched, even if you never turned the TV on. They would pull a log file stating that you "pressed" a button on the remote and the movie started running. Of course this is to their advantage since you are rushing to JFK, you don't want to miss your flight, so, the quicker is just to pay $50 worth of unwatched movies and be on your way. My second advice: Keep track of your times you leave and enter your room, that's how I was able to dispute the charges, as the movies ran in times I was not even at the hotel. My first advise: don't ever bother staying here. Shame on this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed guests
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

the worst experience

First of all, there are very loud noise coming from outside. It may come from heating machine host. The noise echo between very closed two building and just like aircraft roar. The next door is being renovated. We have a sleepless night and have to call for change a room at early morning. The staff told us no room available. We have to walk out at 8 am even paid whole night fee! We have to came back to check room status two times as time schedule that they told us. They insisted on no noise in the room. If you have chance to live in X04 room, you will know how loud the noise. My friend live in this hotel too. The room's noise is normal. And the staffs are so unfriendly, especially the manager. He is so rude when we came back to check the available room at noon. The worst experience we have! We will never come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chanice
Business
New haven ct
Aug 31, 2014

It was ok

I really felt like the staff wasn't the nicest they didn't have complimentary anything so go with everything u need

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sunshinesharla
Business
Clarksville, AR
Apr 5, 2011

Tiny w/GREAT Water Pressure & Location!

The hotel didn't have a lot to offer, and the rooms seemed smaller than my child's 12X12 room. Not to mention, the "double" bed is actually a full size... tiny! The view stunk. We could see a dirty rooftop on one side, and a dark street adjacent a tall building on the other. Plus, the room smelled stale and smokey, though it was a non-smoking room, and we had to call the electrician the first night because our air didn't work, and our shades wouldn't stay down. On the other hand, the hotel is centrally located near Times Square and the shower had the BEST water pressure of any hotel I have ever stayed at. I seriously didn't want to leave the "massage". There was also an affordable eatery across the street called "Cafe Metro." That was nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We LOVED "Wicked" on Broadway, and it was only 3 blocks from the hotel!!!

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan, PR
May 4, 2009

Wellington Hotel

This hotel looks like it has never been remodelled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Dec 17, 2007

so so

The Wellington was not very friendly.I felt like the room was way over priced compared to my last seven visits this year.The room had a hard mattress.It was so hot that you could not sleep,tried to adjust heat but was preset.The location was great between time square and central park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the castle pub two streets down had great food and service.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travel Maestro
Business
Centereach, NY
Sep 27, 2009

Weekend event

I did not get to stay at the hotel. On getting there, I was told my room was unavailable and had to be relocated to a sister hotel. I was disappointed by the way the whole process was handled. I would have preferred to be informed about the situation before my arrival. I will have to rethink ever making a reservation at the wellington.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kaufman Tx
Jun 13, 2010

Horrible, horrible, horrible

The staff was friendly and helpful, but the hotel itself is a dump. Your site advertised it as a 3.5 - 4.0 star and thats a joke. This place was herendous and I will NEVER stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

you can ride the subway anywhere you need to go and then may have a short walk. the sites were amazing. It was out first trip to NY and we loved it.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Jun 19, 2009

Terrible!!

Location is good but room was dirty, old and depressing. Comforters on bed were very old and dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Nov 24, 2010

Avoid this hotel

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Room was very small, bathroom was tiny. There was a double bed with one bedside locker. There was no kettle, fridge, mini bar. The room was extremely noisy. We were 15 floors up and could hear everything on the streets below. Roller blind did not stay down, curtains could not be pulled together. There was a huge gap under the door and each night we had to roll up a towel and place under door of room to try and keep the light out. The noise of the heating system was horrendous - you would think someone was in the door banging on the pipes. Please do not consider staying in this hotel. The only good thing about it was its location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Only good thing about this hotel was its location to Broaday, Times Square and Central Park

Back to menu Return to top