$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1467 out of 1467
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Dec 5, 2007

Not a very well=dsciplined management hotel.

Needs pin or clip for emergency party dress hold up but no one likes to help or willing to do anything for us. I just felt so bad for them. Not a very well=dsciplined management hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Feb 8, 2011

Desireable location; undesireable room

While this hotel is located mid-way between Times Square, Central Park and Rockefeller Center, in my opinion the hotel is dingy: shower's water temperature fluctuates rapidly, nearly scalding; window did not seal so there is continuous draft; the closet floor is cluttered with hair, plastic parts, dust balls; if I wasn't already concerned about it, the protesters distributing literature complaining of bed bugs and their abatement makes that hotel pretty creepy... Beyond the hotel's check-in process look a long time and requires being escorted to the room--as though we all haven't found a hotel room before--and the unhappy duty of tipping a guy to leave the room...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park: fun contrast between nature and tall buildings...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis, TN
Aug 8, 2007

Unhappy Camper

The room was uncomfortable. Drinking glasses hidden. If the bathroom door were opened you could not open the room door. There was no pad in the bathroom to collect water when leaving the shower to dry off. No internet although another guest said there was wireless in the lobby at least. I owed $2.60 and the desk wanted me to pay $3 as they did not have any change when I checked out. I told them they could use my AMEX card which will surly cost them more than that. I could not recommend this hotel to any one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Naples, Florida.
Aug 25, 2009

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly"

Very small room, view ?? to the next window bilding, ugly,old, not even a coffe machine in the bed room. I will never recomend this hotel to anybody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin
Jan 22, 2011

Wellington Hotel

Room not as requested. When fire alarm went off while I was away all day and stayed on through the time I arrived, I insisted on a diferent room. The bellman came without a rolloing rack - he and I had to hand carry haning items and luggage- cumbersome and awkward. The room I was moved to was TINY - no clock - phone stuck tempermentaly not allowing a dial tone unless jiggled several times to release the hang up button. There was no chest of drawers, so I had to live out of my luggage further diminishing what room space there was. NOT A GOOD EXPERIENCE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay at the Park Central Hotel across the street on 55th.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jun 13, 2011

Not Worth It

Location was the only thing positive I have to say. Hotel is old, rooms are tiny even for NY, and the accommodations were bad- extra hard bed, A/C didn't work and bathtub backed up. Had to request room transfer due to the 98 degree heat this past week. Staff was not very friendly, nor seemed to care I had issues in my room. I have stayed at much better for the same price, my advice... keep on searching!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Dec 29, 2009

Good location but not for nights sleep

It is fine if you are tolerant of Old and European style, no frills and noise. People slam the hotel room doors at all hours. All of the water pipes are so loud specifically the sink, toilet and showers. There is no soundproofing and therefore sounds like a curse ship horn when someone starts the shower. The room radiator makes it own interesting set of sound effects. It is kind of scary for teens that are used to modern hotel rooms. There was one small door lock. On the plus side they upgraded the room type after asking to a king bed for no additional charge per night. Would have liked a coffee maker in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Dec 1, 2009

Dirty place

Nothing was working there. The Air Conditioner was too noisy, the bathtub was dirty and completely clogged and the TV remote control was not working. The room was so dirty that we could not walk wearing socks on the carpet. There were all kind of debris and nasty things under the bed; I think it was never cleaned. The worst experience ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NotAWellingtonHotelFan
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 12, 2014

Cold room, thieving bellhop

My stay at the Wellington was not a pleasant experience. The room was cold, and I was told by an "engineer" who was sent to fix it that the heat in the hotel had not been turned on yet, and there was no way to get heat. Yet, when I was checking out, I overheard a another guest, who also was checking out, complain to front-desk personnel that her room had been unbearably hot. But that's nothing compared to the bellhop who stole a $100 bill out of one of my bags as he was putting it in my car. Currently security is investigating. From the way my conversation with security went, however, I doubt anything will be done about it. We stayed at this hotel because of its close proximity to Carnegie Hall. It was not worth it. Find another hotel, even if you have to walk a few extra blocks or take a taxi to where you want to go. DO NOT STAY AT THE WELLINGTON HOTEL. YOU WILL REGRET IT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very Displeased Guest
Business
Fajardo
Jan 26, 2015

Hidden charges, they rip you off!

Beware! Dont let these guys charge you with movies you never watched. Make note of the time you leave and return to the hotel, that's how you can prove you weren't in the room. I had them review the room log and left them with no choice but to drop the charges. Location is good, but service here service makes your trip insufferable. There was a lady next to me almkst crying and swearing she never watched any movies..they tried the same with me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Make note of your ins and outs of the room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top