$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
2,124 reviews
Beautiful hotel!!

First trip to New York! The hotel was beautiful with nice large rooms. Very clean!! We were able to... See full review

  • Letterman Fan
  • Jul 21, 2014
Excellent value for money

Good location, friendly staff. Allows you to walk to everything that is worth seeing. See full review

  • LeoSV
  • Jul 16, 2014
Radiating history from its walls, the Wellington Hotel New York?built in 1901?stands apart from the fast pace of modern city life surrounding it. The plush lobby is decked out in rich tones and intricate murals, while focal chandeliers give the interiors a classical ambience.  If you are here on business, the hotel?s central location and 24-hour business center will cater to your every need. Midtown Manhattan is full of excellent restaurants; gourmets would do well to try the Wellington?s delicious plates of Greek mezze at the Molyvos restaurant, or the Park Cafe's informal all-day dining options.
Key facts
  • 700 guestrooms
  • Two restaurants: Molyvos and Park Cafe
  • 24-hour business center
  • Gift shop
  • Hair salon
  • Multilingual staff
Neighborhood

With Central Park just three blocks away, the Wellington places guests close to a welcoming green space featuring a wide range of activities, including roller skating and boating, on the calm waters of the lake. Every type of cuisine is represented in this neighborhood, with area favorites ranging from Ray’s Pizza on Broadway to The Russian Tea Room on West 57th Street, where visitors can choose from more than 40 types of vodka, or book the facility for a classical afternoon tea. Retail therapy can be found inside the designer stores of 5th Avenue or the dependable establishment of Bloomingdale’s, which combines major lines and fresh labels.

Hints and tips
Some of the rooms have kitchenettes-perfect for hot snacks and downtime after a long day. If you're visiting in November or December, stock up on gifts and Christmas decorations at the Wellington's Christmas Cottage store.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7644 -73.9807
Area served
New York, Manhattan
Nearby airports
J.F.K., LaGuardia, and Newark airports
Area description
Centrally located in Midtown Manhattan, the Wellington Hotel is steps to Carnegie Hall, City Center, Central Park and Broadway, New York's celebrated Theatre District. Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center, Times Square and the Museum of Radio and Television are within easy walking distance. Equally accessible are the United Nations, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Jacob K. Javitis Convention Center. Fortune 500 headquarters and many corporate offices are nearby as are a variety of fine dining and world famous restaurants. Public Transportation is at our door and can take you in minutes to the Statue of Liberty, Wall Street, South Street Seaport, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim Museum, Museum of Natural History, Intrepid Air and Space Museum and Yankee and Shea Stadiums

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wellington Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Wellington Hotel Rooms

Standard Double -Double
Standard Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee. Note: a third person cannot be accommodated
Deluxe Double-Double
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with two double beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features two flat screen TVs with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, one bathroom; refrigerator and microwave (no utensils). High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Standard Room with One Double Bed
Standard Room with One Double Bed accommodates one or two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • University Club: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.4 mi

Dining

Park Cafe
A traditional New York coffee shop,The Park Cafe, which has been welcoming guests for more than 25 years, was recently renovated. Breakfast is served every day beginning at 6:00am. You can also enjoy lunch, dinner and after-theater dining until 1:00am.
Molyvos
Enjoy award winning Mediterranean cuisine at Molyvos. From noon Monday to Friday traditional Greek dishes and grilled fish specialties are served. Saturday and Sunday also offers brunch from 11:00am. Molyvos is located in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (2124)

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
2124 out of 2124
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chesterfield, MO
Oct 29, 2008

My review of Wellington Hotel

very dirty small room will never stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kwilson0120
Mays Landing NJ
Feb 4, 2014

New Years Eve Celebration

Very convienate. The location was perfect. Wasn't at the hotel much but was very homey. Just a lil warm. I would prefer warmth over being cold. Staff was awesome. They are very friendly and helpful. Thanks for the recommendation....one of the best times of my life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take comfortable shoes.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Stewart Field/Newbur, NY
Apr 7, 2008

Wellington not so well

The towels were thread bare - pat do not rub but excellent for exfoliation! The noise outside was unbearable and neither of us got any sleep. The adjoining cafe was excellent, although not part of the hotel! Excellent food and moderate prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Across from the gift shop is the Park Cafe - excellent food and moderate prices.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Feb 10, 2010

A attempt to show my girl a good time

The heater kept us up all night. The soap and shampoo smelled horiably. The room was soo small. My elbows hit the tiles as I washed my hair.. Do not reccomend...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oregon
Jun 21, 2009

Don't waste your money here

Don't waste your money staying here. The rooms are very small, the bed isn't much larger then a twin size and not very long, if you are over 5'5" tall your feet will hang over the bed. The towel rack is in the bath tub area, the toilet paper roll is centered in the middle of the toilet on the wall, so the seat won't open or close. You store your clothes in a 3 DRAWER NIGHT STAND. The shower water is either extremely hot or extremely cold so be careful if you do stay here so you don't get burned. The only remodeled part of the hotel is the lobby. Elevators are extremely slow and very small. Again don't waste your money here......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is close by this hotel or a very short walk.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bigger than Full Size Guy
Business
OH
Jun 9, 2009

Not so good

Was barely okay for one night, would not stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
ny
Dec 30, 2010

Really ugly

Uncomfortable small bed small bathroom

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Upstate NY
Jul 19, 2010

shabby, overpriced

A microscopic, expensive room with bad plumbing (brown water on the floor of the bathroom, seeping from another floor, it turned out), maid forgot to make the room, and they want money for online access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Carnegie Deli is across the corner

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Nov 28, 2007

My review of Wellington Hotel

When I arrived at my Hotel there was no one to bring my bag into the Lobby or no one to bring my bag down the stairs to the elevator. I was my own bellman. On my first night a hot water boiler blew and hot steam was pouring into my room under the carpet. A real mess. The Hotel then put me into another room the size of a closet and it was a smokers room. Cigar smoke at that. This room change ocured about 12:35am and I was too tired to complain to the front desk. The next morning however I took my complaint to the front desk and the manager on duty offered no no more than it was beyond our control and offered another room for my last night there. I left very early the next morning and forgot a new pair of cufflinks on the desk. The hotel stressed my word against the hosekeeper. Anyway, I will not stay at that hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disgruntled NJ Dad
New Jersey
Apr 6, 2013

Badly in need of updating - location does not trump the skeeve factor

I thought it would be fun to take the family into the City for a couple of nights over Easter Break, but...the sofa bed in our "Queen Suite" was so vile I could not let our kids sleep in it. The Queen bed itself was in such poor shape, it collapsed in the middle. The carpet was dirty and in need of replacement. Overall a disgusting experience. We actually left the first night in spite of losing the prepaid 2 night fee. I figured the money was sunk, and it was not worth enduring the situation. It is shameful that they charge as much as they do for what can only be referred to as a dump. I felt bad for all the Europeans who had nowhere to escape to - we only had to drive back through the Lincoln Tunnel, thank goodness...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top