$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1467 out of 1467
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
visitor to NY
Business
Winchester, MA
Dec 4, 2010

way too noisy

With all windows closed I could hear a loud and continuous noise throughout the whole night. In addition to that noise there were also trash trucks that made additional beeping noises. I could not sleep even though I was on the 18th floor, i.e. supposedly pretty high up to hear noises from the street. I picked that hotel because it was conviniently located to where I was going the next day, and because it was relatively cheap to other hotels in the area, but I would never go there again considering the fact that in spite of me being totally exhausted I could not get a good night's rest!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 21, 2010

Beware!

I was in New York City for business. The hotel security was very rude to me. The security would not let my food and grocery delevires be made directly to my room. My room was huge, but the floors need to be replaced. There was a constant whistling from the pipes in my bathroom. The clerks at the front desk were very rude. I would not wish the customer service I received on my worst enemy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Georgia
Nov 6, 2010

Wellington Hotel

Sight seeing and seeing children that live in Brooklyn. Enjoyed all of New York except for the hotel room. Room was very small and the bed was most uncomfortable and was a three quarter bed not even full size. Hair dryer did not work and no coffee station in room. Extremely small bath room. When we go to New York again will NOT stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

most plays were in the Broaddway area but the walk was long it was worth it!! Resturants near the hotel were more expensive than those several blocks away.Subway's made the whole city accessible. City passes were well worth the cost just on the time saved in line at the events.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clearwater, Florida
May 31, 2009

great location

I chose the wellington because of price then location I will never do that again. Next time I will stay in something newer and more modern

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Upstate NY
Jul 19, 2010

shabby, overpriced

A microscopic, expensive room with bad plumbing (brown water on the floor of the bathroom, seeping from another floor, it turned out), maid forgot to make the room, and they want money for online access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Carnegie Deli is across the corner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hbwt
Business
michigan
Feb 20, 2010

Not so great!

We were there on business and we decided to take in a broadway show. We choose Wellington for several reason but mainly because of the ratings. Our last visit we stayed at skyline and we had no complaints. We got what we expected. This time Wellington was less expensive but rated higher so our expectations were high. The room was not completely clean. There was a pile of dirty bath towels left in the closet and a food container left under the bed with food still in it. We got over that. The biggest complaint was the heating unit was on HELL! Called maintenance the first time and he said basically keep the window open as you are doing. We tried to turn on the cool air but it didnt work so we all thought. Well through the night we sweated like hogs. Morning came and one of us was sick as a dog. Called maintenance again and this gentleman solved the problem by turning on the air. He knew how to operate the contraption. It was miserable! Air on air off. Open window close window. One day of touring the city was cancelled and we spent the day nursing a bad cold. We purchased a lot of hot tea from the cafe downstairs and that helped to nurse him back to health. None the less the stay there was not enjoyable and we will be going back to skyline.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jose feijo
Business
portugal
Feb 21, 2010

noise heating UNBEARABLE

price fair, rooms poor, breakfast room tiny for the customer number resulting in lines and stressful service. But above all, the heating system was so NOISY that I couldn't get a single good sleeping night! Every half an hour it start clinging and clanging, to climax as if I had someone in the room hitting with a steel hammer! Complained everyday about it, and the only visit I had from maintenance was when the toilette clogged and spilled over (what a dream week...; to be fair, they acted reapidly on this one). Hotelwise I believe this was one of the most uncomfortable trips I ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
youth
Business
GA
Aug 4, 2011

wellington nyc

shows

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to most places of interest

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sexy shirl
Business
uk
May 10, 2009

very dissapointed

very dissapointed. we travelled all the way from uk to find that the wellington was overbooked and they sent us to the blakely hotel around the corner

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

never would recommend this hotel to no one

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gravytrain
Business
Montreal, Canada
Sep 26, 2011

Wellington Hotel

The room was small, the bathroom too small, dim lighting, elevators dirty. The only good thing about this hotel is the location. It is rated 3* but should get a 1*.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Old Castle pub on 54th street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top