$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 4, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1487 out of 1487
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Naples, Florida.
Aug 25, 2009

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly"

Very small room, view ?? to the next window bilding, ugly,old, not even a coffe machine in the bed room. I will never recomend this hotel to anybody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin
Jan 22, 2011

Wellington Hotel

Room not as requested. When fire alarm went off while I was away all day and stayed on through the time I arrived, I insisted on a diferent room. The bellman came without a rolloing rack - he and I had to hand carry haning items and luggage- cumbersome and awkward. The room I was moved to was TINY - no clock - phone stuck tempermentaly not allowing a dial tone unless jiggled several times to release the hang up button. There was no chest of drawers, so I had to live out of my luggage further diminishing what room space there was. NOT A GOOD EXPERIENCE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay at the Park Central Hotel across the street on 55th.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stewart Field/Newbur, NY
Apr 7, 2008

Wellington not so well

The towels were thread bare - pat do not rub but excellent for exfoliation! The noise outside was unbearable and neither of us got any sleep. The adjoining cafe was excellent, although not part of the hotel! Excellent food and moderate prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Across from the gift shop is the Park Cafe - excellent food and moderate prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dayton, Ohio
Apr 3, 2009

not recommended

I was looking for a reasonable rate for a short business trip. I was frankly appalled at everything about this dumpy hotel. All of the online info was very distorted. I would never recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

great Manhattan shopping all around

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
May 19, 2011

The Worst in my life

In all my years of travel,this hotel had to be the worst and the most I've ever spent for a room. Was promised one type of room and received another; was told if I needed to be warmer, they would supply a blanket. Water in shower would get hot and cold. This hotel should not be a THREE STAR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis, TN
Aug 8, 2007

Unhappy Camper

The room was uncomfortable. Drinking glasses hidden. If the bathroom door were opened you could not open the room door. There was no pad in the bathroom to collect water when leaving the shower to dry off. No internet although another guest said there was wireless in the lobby at least. I owed $2.60 and the desk wanted me to pay $3 as they did not have any change when I checked out. I told them they could use my AMEX card which will surly cost them more than that. I could not recommend this hotel to any one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chesterfield, MO
Oct 29, 2008

My review of Wellington Hotel

very dirty small room will never stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Upstate NY
Jul 19, 2010

shabby, overpriced

A microscopic, expensive room with bad plumbing (brown water on the floor of the bathroom, seeping from another floor, it turned out), maid forgot to make the room, and they want money for online access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Carnegie Deli is across the corner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed in Wellington
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Oct 8, 2009

"Bad customer service"

DO NOT STAY HERE...I thought NY was over their "attitude", WORST customer service in a long time, not just 1 front desk person but ALL 3 that I spoke with. This hotel only cares about getting you in, GETTING YOUR MONEY, and getting you out. Front desk girls were the pits, they CONTROL all your needs or concerns and on top of that they dont have ANY sense of care. "Im in control, dont ask me any thing because I will not help, just doing my job" I had to try to get my room 3 times, yes I did get to the hotel early, around 10:30am, I was told to check back later, ALL rooms were dirty, I checked back again around 1:15pm, still room not ready, check in is 3:00pm, I know that but most hotels can accomadate you somewhat earlier. Had to pay to have my bags held, had to keep checking back and interupting my "fun in the city". Very crowded and smoke filled non English speaking lobby. My travel partner has Asthma, he started to have breathing difficulty in the lobby, advised [...] of situation, they were helpful, but hotel manager states that we could leave but he would still charge 1 night stay, OK, when I finally got my room at 530pm I had no where else to stay and the cost for a last minute NY hotel room was unreasonable, my friend had to go stay with a friend in Hoboken, NJ! The first night my window in the room #1044 that looked directly across the inside corridor into another brick wall was broken and stayed fully open ALL night, No shampoo, condition, or small refridgerator, you could stretch your arms straight out and practically touch both side of the room, extremely small for the $$. However room was clean, except for the worn out pillows and stains on the velour blanket.THIS HOTEL IS WORN OUT, the staff and the facility!But hey, this was my experience maybe yours will be better! Stay at Marriott Marquis, a little higher rate but its well worth it, and sometimes you can get a comparable rate, just keep looking. And to top it off, I stayed here 12yrs ago when I got married, BIG BIG Difference!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
youth
Business
GA
Aug 4, 2011

wellington nyc

shows

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to most places of interest

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top