$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1646 out of 1646
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Courteous
Business
Delaware
Sep 15, 2012

disgusting staying

the hotel room was dirty, mold on the bathroom walls. the bed sheets very old and dirt on them. Location is perfect but next time i am deffinetely not taking this place again i do not recomend it to any people I know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Valiko
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 30, 2012

Pick another hotel...

Hotel is close to many interesting places, and metro station is right next door. Location is great but unfortunately hotel it's self if lousy. I travel to NYC 3 times a year for business and stayed in a lot of hotels and this is the worst one. My biggest complain is that hotel is dirty and i really mean dirty. Too many dirty things to list. Rooms and beds are very small and everything is VERY outdated. Construction outside is very loud and doesn't seem to be over very any time soon, so if you can't stand the noise at night pick another hotel. Elevators are slow and tiny so be prepared to wait a long time. Food in the hotels restaurant is horrible don't even try. I ordered a simple mean that was so bad that i barely touched it, just paid the bill and left. Pick another hotel even if location isn't as good. Metro stations are everywhere and it is very easy to get around. Hope it helps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit museum of natural history you'll enjoy it.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jela717
Business
Long Island, NY
Feb 18, 2013

WORST hotel in NYC

The room needs to be updated, it was cold and outside the window was very noisy with machinery.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PaulaSC
Business
Great River, NY
Feb 18, 2013

Great Location

Front desk staff excellent. Upgraded us to a King room, but went downhill after that. The cold water fauset did not work. The room was SO HOT and the adjustments on the thermostat did not work. We had to sleep with the windows open, (thank God it was able to work) all night. On the 5th floor, a little nervous about leaving window open. Sorry, but NO 3 STAR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a great location. Everything in the neighborhood, from high end to fast food. Great location.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jela717
Business
Long Island, NY
Feb 17, 2013

Worst room in NYC

We stayed in room 726 and it was the worst. We just needed a room for the night and it was horrible. The noise level outside our window was loud, the room was cold with no control for heat and you had to sit sideways on the toilet. Will never stay in this Hotel again. Would not recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disgruntled NJ Dad
Business
New Jersey
Apr 6, 2013

Badly in need of updating - location does not trump the skeeve factor

I thought it would be fun to take the family into the City for a couple of nights over Easter Break, but...the sofa bed in our "Queen Suite" was so vile I could not let our kids sleep in it. The Queen bed itself was in such poor shape, it collapsed in the middle. The carpet was dirty and in need of replacement. Overall a disgusting experience. We actually left the first night in spite of losing the prepaid 2 night fee. I figured the money was sunk, and it was not worth enduring the situation. It is shameful that they charge as much as they do for what can only be referred to as a dump. I felt bad for all the Europeans who had nowhere to escape to - we only had to drive back through the Lincoln Tunnel, thank goodness...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
valaue hunter
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 1, 2013

Good location, ove fprices

a great location, but $35 to park a car; no breakfast and you have to pay for internet. I will not stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nkio
Business
petersburg, va
May 5, 2013

what happened

i've stayed here many times in the past. never again. shower curtain too short-"flooding" bathroom floor. the overall appearance is one of sloppiness, chipped paint, stains on wallpaper, a loose access panel inthe bathroom, etc. way overpriced for this experience. and what's your problem-a nickname is a nickname is a nickname?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Aming
Business
Portland, OR
Sep 13, 2013

Yuck!

The lobby is nice. However, the room is very outdated. Carpet needed to be replaced. Old, smelly, scary I might add. Everything about it was dissapointing. What a waste of money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Made105
Business
Michigan
Oct 28, 2013

Disappointing and Dirty

We reserved 2 double beds and none where available. My 6'3 son had to sleep on a little cot. Both the tub and the sink had running faucets (the one in the tub finally broke and had to be replaced). Large hair balls in the bathroom. Towels weren't clean. Our floor smelled like mold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top