$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
1,413 reviews
Great location, great staff!!!!

This hotel is in a perfect location, and the staff makes you feel home!!!! See full review

  • Antonio from Mex
  • Nov 19, 2014
perfect location, clean..

what a perfect location, bit dated, however clean, great staff...good internet. See full review

  • Okanjo mike
  • Oct 14, 2014
Radiating history from its walls, the Wellington Hotel New York?built in 1901?stands apart from the fast pace of modern city life surrounding it. The plush lobby is decked out in rich tones and intricate murals, while focal chandeliers give the interiors a classical ambience.  If you are here on business, the hotel?s central location and 24-hour business center will cater to your every need. Midtown Manhattan is full of excellent restaurants; gourmets would do well to try the Wellington?s delicious plates of Greek mezze at the Molyvos restaurant, or the Park Cafe's informal all-day dining options.
Key facts
  • 700 guestrooms
  • Two restaurants: Molyvos and Park Cafe
  • 24-hour business center
  • Gift shop
  • Hair salon
  • Multilingual staff
Neighborhood

With Central Park just three blocks away, the Wellington places guests close to a welcoming green space featuring a wide range of activities, including roller skating and boating, on the calm waters of the lake. Every type of cuisine is represented in this neighborhood, with area favorites ranging from Ray’s Pizza on Broadway to The Russian Tea Room on West 57th Street, where visitors can choose from more than 40 types of vodka, or book the facility for a classical afternoon tea. Retail therapy can be found inside the designer stores of 5th Avenue or the dependable establishment of Bloomingdale’s, which combines major lines and fresh labels.

Hints and tips
Some of the rooms have kitchenettes-perfect for hot snacks and downtime after a long day. If you're visiting in November or December, stock up on gifts and Christmas decorations at the Wellington's Christmas Cottage store.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wellington Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Wellington Hotel Rooms

Standard Double -Double
Standard Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee. Note: a third person cannot be accommodated
Deluxe Double-Double
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with two double beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features two flat screen TVs with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, one bathroom; refrigerator and microwave (no utensils). High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Standard Room with One Double Bed
Standard Room with One Double Bed accommodates one or two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • University Club: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.4 mi

Dining

Park Cafe
A traditional New York coffee shop,The Park Cafe, which has been welcoming guests for more than 25 years, was recently renovated. Breakfast is served every day beginning at 6:00am. You can also enjoy lunch, dinner and after-theater dining until 1:00am.
Molyvos
Enjoy award winning Mediterranean cuisine at Molyvos. From noon Monday to Friday traditional Greek dishes and grilled fish specialties are served. Saturday and Sunday also offers brunch from 11:00am. Molyvos is located in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1413)

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
1413 out of 1413
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sunday
Business
Clearwater, FL, USA
Dec 17, 2011

poor customer svc from manager to housekeeper

Poor customer svc. They act like there doing you a favor by allowing you to stay there. Housekeeping don't have necessary stuff to stock room correcttly. Room to hot or to cold mostly to hot. The hold they put on visa never comes off it seems. Lot of money for just location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
freeflyin180
Business
Houston, TX
Dec 20, 2011

Wouldn't recommend

First, the staff was friendly enough when we first arrived. However, that's where to good part of the review ends. Having never traveled to New York before, I read reviews and tried to find as many pictures as possible when considering a hotel. I did like the location of this hotel, but that alone wasn't enough to make up for the short comings. The room was very small, not a deal breaker, but it was more liken to what you'd expect checking in to a $30 budget hotel in the middle of no where. Dirty, run down, old, these are the best descriptors. The shower; excellent water pressure, however you had to jump out of the stream every few seconds for the wave of scolding hot water that was impossible to control. Now, granted we were on the 9th floor but the bathroom window didn't even have a latch to lock it. On the second day staying we returned to our room around 3:30pm, it hadn't been cleaned yet. The answer to this was pretty evident since we walked past the maid sitting on a bucket next to a closet in the hallway. We spoke with a lady at the front desk as we headed back out almost an hour and a half later. She apologized and said she'd send someone up and I told her not to bother. Never heard back from a manager on it or anyone else from the hotel for that matter. As with many others i'm sure, I chose this hotel based on my package price. End result, I will definitely budget more money on my next trip to stay somewhere better. I wouldn't stay here again if it was free!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pazzo Notte. If you like italian this is a great place to eat. Dinner for two with drinks and tip was around $92.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Niraj
Business
Plano, TX
May 23, 2012

Wellington experience

It is good hotel location wise. But should not expect amenities.. hotel is costly, compared to price you may not get internet connection. You need to pay extra for internet connection. Poor ventilated hotel. But it has spacious bed room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Irish
Business
Ireland
May 30, 2012

Bed linen NOT washed!

I stayed in the Wellington hotel with my friend last August and it was a fantastic stay. Great room, I could not fault anything. I then returned for a one night stay on the 23rd May 2012. It was like I was in a different hotel. I paid 127 euro for one night for a room that had no air con, instead I was greeted by air blowing out under the "big gap" underneath my bedroom door. I then opened the door to find a big machine like a large hoover that took up most of the floor space in the room blowing out air. I then unplugged it. I thought first it must be a store room. I then went into the bathroom and the tap in the bath was continually dripping. As it was late, and had travelled a long way, I just wanted to go to bed. I then pulled back the bed clothes and found creases all over the pillows and the bed sheets not even dressed. again covered in creases and did not smell like they were washed. To top it off, I found a hair in the bed sheets which clearly indicated the bed sheets had not been changed. I decided to call reception and asked if they could confirm that the bed linen had been changed. I got an aggressive response from a guy telling me to call in the morning and check with house keeping!! I was so annoyed and tired, I had to strip the bed and use my clothes as well as the towels (which may I add were actually washed) as bed clothes. It seems this hotel has a small number of good rooms and the remainder are disgraceful. After my first stay, I had recommended this hotel to so many of my friends. After my second stay I will be spreading the word to stay clear for the price that the hotel is charging to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
snurse
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 5, 2012

Remove this one from your list!

The room was dirty and the maid service horrible! When you have to ask for more soap that is totally unacceptable. We found bottle caps under the bed and dust everywhere. Don't expect a sheet change as we were there five nights. The only positive was we had airconditioning and fresh towels. This is not a three star hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Subways are the best form of transportation. Get a pass and see the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Courteous
Business
Delaware
Sep 15, 2012

disgusting staying

the hotel room was dirty, mold on the bathroom walls. the bed sheets very old and dirt on them. Location is perfect but next time i am deffinetely not taking this place again i do not recomend it to any people I know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Valiko
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 30, 2012

Pick another hotel...

Hotel is close to many interesting places, and metro station is right next door. Location is great but unfortunately hotel it's self if lousy. I travel to NYC 3 times a year for business and stayed in a lot of hotels and this is the worst one. My biggest complain is that hotel is dirty and i really mean dirty. Too many dirty things to list. Rooms and beds are very small and everything is VERY outdated. Construction outside is very loud and doesn't seem to be over very any time soon, so if you can't stand the noise at night pick another hotel. Elevators are slow and tiny so be prepared to wait a long time. Food in the hotels restaurant is horrible don't even try. I ordered a simple mean that was so bad that i barely touched it, just paid the bill and left. Pick another hotel even if location isn't as good. Metro stations are everywhere and it is very easy to get around. Hope it helps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit museum of natural history you'll enjoy it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jela717
Business
Long Island, NY
Feb 18, 2013

WORST hotel in NYC

The room needs to be updated, it was cold and outside the window was very noisy with machinery.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PaulaSC
Business
Great River, NY
Feb 18, 2013

Great Location

Front desk staff excellent. Upgraded us to a King room, but went downhill after that. The cold water fauset did not work. The room was SO HOT and the adjustments on the thermostat did not work. We had to sleep with the windows open, (thank God it was able to work) all night. On the 5th floor, a little nervous about leaving window open. Sorry, but NO 3 STAR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a great location. Everything in the neighborhood, from high end to fast food. Great location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jela717
Business
Long Island, NY
Feb 17, 2013

Worst room in NYC

We stayed in room 726 and it was the worst. We just needed a room for the night and it was horrible. The noise level outside our window was loud, the room was cold with no control for heat and you had to sit sideways on the toilet. Will never stay in this Hotel again. Would not recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top