$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1654 out of 1654
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Nov 24, 2010

Avoid this hotel

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Room was very small, bathroom was tiny. There was a double bed with one bedside locker. There was no kettle, fridge, mini bar. The room was extremely noisy. We were 15 floors up and could hear everything on the streets below. Roller blind did not stay down, curtains could not be pulled together. There was a huge gap under the door and each night we had to roll up a towel and place under door of room to try and keep the light out. The noise of the heating system was horrendous - you would think someone was in the door banging on the pipes. Please do not consider staying in this hotel. The only good thing about it was its location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Only good thing about this hotel was its location to Broaday, Times Square and Central Park

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sunshinesharla
Business
Clarksville, AR
Apr 5, 2011

Tiny w/GREAT Water Pressure & Location!

The hotel didn't have a lot to offer, and the rooms seemed smaller than my child's 12X12 room. Not to mention, the "double" bed is actually a full size... tiny! The view stunk. We could see a dirty rooftop on one side, and a dark street adjacent a tall building on the other. Plus, the room smelled stale and smokey, though it was a non-smoking room, and we had to call the electrician the first night because our air didn't work, and our shades wouldn't stay down. On the other hand, the hotel is centrally located near Times Square and the shower had the BEST water pressure of any hotel I have ever stayed at. I seriously didn't want to leave the "massage". There was also an affordable eatery across the street called "Cafe Metro." That was nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We LOVED "Wicked" on Broadway, and it was only 3 blocks from the hotel!!!

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shoelover970
Business
Colorado, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Big Mistake

We had some serious issues with this Hotel. For starters, I made reservations about 3 months in advance, for my mom, my aunt and myself. I requested 3 beds, and was told we would get 2 beds and a sleeper sofa. When we checked in, we were taken to a two room suite that was a total dump, and a roll-away cot was brought in for the 3rd bed. On the wall in one of the rooms, someone had written "Everyone Dies!". This was quite disturbing. We also observed dirty hand-prints on the ceiling and the air-conditioner was being held in with what looked like medical tape?!?! We of course called to complain, and were told that we needed to talk to the day manager (we arrived at around 11pm). Then at 5:30 am, someone had opened the door to our room! He apologized when I sat up terrified and saw him, and he said he was with security and sent to the wrong room. After trying to fall back to sleep, the room was then invaded by another two people. At this point, we were irate. So, again we tried to talk to the manager. We were apologized to, and were told that the room would be cleaned up and that they did not have another room available to accommodate the three of us. On the 3rd day, we came back to the room and the smoke detector was beeping because the batteries were dying. Finally, they gave us a different room. The room they gave us was nice, and had three beds. But this is the room I requested to begin with, 3 months prior to the trip. This was a total hassle, and I will never stay here again, nor would I recommend it to anyone else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Madison Ave shopping, and to Central Park.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JNack
Business
San Jose, CA
Oct 30, 2011

What a dump

If you're looking for a cramped lobby full of overseas students piled up on their hard luggage, combined with cramped & dingy rooms, the Wellington's for you! It's easy to see where your money was (barely) saved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hibbsy
Business
England
Dec 11, 2011

Fantastic trip - Let down by the hotel

Whilst we did not go to New York to sit in our hotel, I did expect to find it in the 21st Century. I don't live like a king but it wasn't a place we looked forward to coming back to after a busy day sight seeing and shopping. The Hotel was: * Dated * Lacked amenities * No safety deposit box in the room * Not clean * Noisey air con - (could not have it on at night) * Room too small * Lifts out of operation (an absolute pain when they did work) * Un helpful staff * Door swipe cards that worked intermittently * Bathroom had a smell (missing plugs, inserts off taps) * Generally not looked after. I have stayed in several hotels in New York and many other parts of the world and this is by far the worst I've visited. I will not return here and I do not think it was worth what we paid Very disappointed!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Woodbury Common for some shopping bargains

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sunday
Business
Clearwater, FL, USA
Dec 17, 2011

poor customer svc from manager to housekeeper

Poor customer svc. They act like there doing you a favor by allowing you to stay there. Housekeeping don't have necessary stuff to stock room correcttly. Room to hot or to cold mostly to hot. The hold they put on visa never comes off it seems. Lot of money for just location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
freeflyin180
Business
Houston, TX
Dec 20, 2011

Wouldn't recommend

First, the staff was friendly enough when we first arrived. However, that's where to good part of the review ends. Having never traveled to New York before, I read reviews and tried to find as many pictures as possible when considering a hotel. I did like the location of this hotel, but that alone wasn't enough to make up for the short comings. The room was very small, not a deal breaker, but it was more liken to what you'd expect checking in to a $30 budget hotel in the middle of no where. Dirty, run down, old, these are the best descriptors. The shower; excellent water pressure, however you had to jump out of the stream every few seconds for the wave of scolding hot water that was impossible to control. Now, granted we were on the 9th floor but the bathroom window didn't even have a latch to lock it. On the second day staying we returned to our room around 3:30pm, it hadn't been cleaned yet. The answer to this was pretty evident since we walked past the maid sitting on a bucket next to a closet in the hallway. We spoke with a lady at the front desk as we headed back out almost an hour and a half later. She apologized and said she'd send someone up and I told her not to bother. Never heard back from a manager on it or anyone else from the hotel for that matter. As with many others i'm sure, I chose this hotel based on my package price. End result, I will definitely budget more money on my next trip to stay somewhere better. I wouldn't stay here again if it was free!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pazzo Notte. If you like italian this is a great place to eat. Dinner for two with drinks and tip was around $92.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Niraj
Business
Plano, TX
May 23, 2012

Wellington experience

It is good hotel location wise. But should not expect amenities.. hotel is costly, compared to price you may not get internet connection. You need to pay extra for internet connection. Poor ventilated hotel. But it has spacious bed room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Irish
Business
Ireland
May 30, 2012

Bed linen NOT washed!

I stayed in the Wellington hotel with my friend last August and it was a fantastic stay. Great room, I could not fault anything. I then returned for a one night stay on the 23rd May 2012. It was like I was in a different hotel. I paid 127 euro for one night for a room that had no air con, instead I was greeted by air blowing out under the "big gap" underneath my bedroom door. I then opened the door to find a big machine like a large hoover that took up most of the floor space in the room blowing out air. I then unplugged it. I thought first it must be a store room. I then went into the bathroom and the tap in the bath was continually dripping. As it was late, and had travelled a long way, I just wanted to go to bed. I then pulled back the bed clothes and found creases all over the pillows and the bed sheets not even dressed. again covered in creases and did not smell like they were washed. To top it off, I found a hair in the bed sheets which clearly indicated the bed sheets had not been changed. I decided to call reception and asked if they could confirm that the bed linen had been changed. I got an aggressive response from a guy telling me to call in the morning and check with house keeping!! I was so annoyed and tired, I had to strip the bed and use my clothes as well as the towels (which may I add were actually washed) as bed clothes. It seems this hotel has a small number of good rooms and the remainder are disgraceful. After my first stay, I had recommended this hotel to so many of my friends. After my second stay I will be spreading the word to stay clear for the price that the hotel is charging to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
snurse
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 5, 2012

Remove this one from your list!

The room was dirty and the maid service horrible! When you have to ask for more soap that is totally unacceptable. We found bottle caps under the bed and dust everywhere. Don't expect a sheet change as we were there five nights. The only positive was we had airconditioning and fresh towels. This is not a three star hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Subways are the best form of transportation. Get a pass and see the city.

Back to menu Return to top