$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1363 out of 1363
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Niraj
Business
Plano, TX
May 23, 2012

Wellington experience

It is good hotel location wise. But should not expect amenities.. hotel is costly, compared to price you may not get internet connection. You need to pay extra for internet connection. Poor ventilated hotel. But it has spacious bed room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Irish
Business
Ireland
May 30, 2012

Bed linen NOT washed!

I stayed in the Wellington hotel with my friend last August and it was a fantastic stay. Great room, I could not fault anything. I then returned for a one night stay on the 23rd May 2012. It was like I was in a different hotel. I paid 127 euro for one night for a room that had no air con, instead I was greeted by air blowing out under the "big gap" underneath my bedroom door. I then opened the door to find a big machine like a large hoover that took up most of the floor space in the room blowing out air. I then unplugged it. I thought first it must be a store room. I then went into the bathroom and the tap in the bath was continually dripping. As it was late, and had travelled a long way, I just wanted to go to bed. I then pulled back the bed clothes and found creases all over the pillows and the bed sheets not even dressed. again covered in creases and did not smell like they were washed. To top it off, I found a hair in the bed sheets which clearly indicated the bed sheets had not been changed. I decided to call reception and asked if they could confirm that the bed linen had been changed. I got an aggressive response from a guy telling me to call in the morning and check with house keeping!! I was so annoyed and tired, I had to strip the bed and use my clothes as well as the towels (which may I add were actually washed) as bed clothes. It seems this hotel has a small number of good rooms and the remainder are disgraceful. After my first stay, I had recommended this hotel to so many of my friends. After my second stay I will be spreading the word to stay clear for the price that the hotel is charging to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
snurse
Family
San Diego, CA
Aug 5, 2012

Remove this one from your list!

The room was dirty and the maid service horrible! When you have to ask for more soap that is totally unacceptable. We found bottle caps under the bed and dust everywhere. Don't expect a sheet change as we were there five nights. The only positive was we had airconditioning and fresh towels. This is not a three star hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Subways are the best form of transportation. Get a pass and see the city.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Courteous
Couples
Delaware
Sep 15, 2012

disgusting staying

the hotel room was dirty, mold on the bathroom walls. the bed sheets very old and dirt on them. Location is perfect but next time i am deffinetely not taking this place again i do not recomend it to any people I know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Valiko
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 30, 2012

Pick another hotel...

Hotel is close to many interesting places, and metro station is right next door. Location is great but unfortunately hotel it's self if lousy. I travel to NYC 3 times a year for business and stayed in a lot of hotels and this is the worst one. My biggest complain is that hotel is dirty and i really mean dirty. Too many dirty things to list. Rooms and beds are very small and everything is VERY outdated. Construction outside is very loud and doesn't seem to be over very any time soon, so if you can't stand the noise at night pick another hotel. Elevators are slow and tiny so be prepared to wait a long time. Food in the hotels restaurant is horrible don't even try. I ordered a simple mean that was so bad that i barely touched it, just paid the bill and left. Pick another hotel even if location isn't as good. Metro stations are everywhere and it is very easy to get around. Hope it helps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit museum of natural history you'll enjoy it.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jela717
Couples
Long Island, NY
Feb 18, 2013

WORST hotel in NYC

The room needs to be updated, it was cold and outside the window was very noisy with machinery.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PaulaSC
Couples
Great River, NY
Feb 18, 2013

Great Location

Front desk staff excellent. Upgraded us to a King room, but went downhill after that. The cold water fauset did not work. The room was SO HOT and the adjustments on the thermostat did not work. We had to sleep with the windows open, (thank God it was able to work) all night. On the 5th floor, a little nervous about leaving window open. Sorry, but NO 3 STAR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a great location. Everything in the neighborhood, from high end to fast food. Great location.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jela717
Couples
Long Island, NY
Feb 17, 2013

Worst room in NYC

We stayed in room 726 and it was the worst. We just needed a room for the night and it was horrible. The noise level outside our window was loud, the room was cold with no control for heat and you had to sit sideways on the toilet. Will never stay in this Hotel again. Would not recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disgruntled NJ Dad
Family
New Jersey
Apr 6, 2013

Badly in need of updating - location does not trump the skeeve factor

I thought it would be fun to take the family into the City for a couple of nights over Easter Break, but...the sofa bed in our "Queen Suite" was so vile I could not let our kids sleep in it. The Queen bed itself was in such poor shape, it collapsed in the middle. The carpet was dirty and in need of replacement. Overall a disgusting experience. We actually left the first night in spite of losing the prepaid 2 night fee. I figured the money was sunk, and it was not worth enduring the situation. It is shameful that they charge as much as they do for what can only be referred to as a dump. I felt bad for all the Europeans who had nowhere to escape to - we only had to drive back through the Lincoln Tunnel, thank goodness...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
valaue hunter
Family
Washington, DC
Apr 1, 2013

Good location, ove fprices

a great location, but $35 to park a car; no breakfast and you have to pay for internet. I will not stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top