$136 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1359 out of 1359
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Apr 10, 2008

Superb Location, Stunning Views

I had a wonderful corner room on the 24th floor with drop-dead-gorgeous views of 7th Avenue and 55th Street. I left the curtains and blinds open, and got to bed later than I should have simply because of the stunning vistas out of both windows. The room was adequate in size, well furnished and even had a tiny kitchenette. My only negative comment is that the bed was a touch hard. I'd just love to spend more time in this hotel, and will return to it whenever I revisit New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The famous Carnegie Deli is just across the street, and virtually all of the attractions of Manhattan - Times Square, Radio City, Rockefeller Center, Park Avenue, Madison Avenue, Lexington Avenue - are just a pleasant walk from the hotel.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AUEagle
Business
Milwaukee, WI
May 24, 2009

Amazing New York Hotel

Traveling to New York City for the first time. Wonderful location (walking distance to most things). Staff great. Very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
X1Leanne
Business
Marysville, WA
Aug 4, 2009

Great Location!

We traveled to New York State for a wedding, coming into New York Sunday, staying at the Wellington Sunday thru Thursday, then coming back into town and staying again on Sunday before flying out Monday am. The bell staff suggested and arranged for some of our luggage to stay at the hotel while we traveled north for the wedding, arranged for all of our transportation (nice!)and offered helpful site-seeing suggestions. The room was always spotless and dining was nearby. I would highly recommend this hotel to all my friends, it made our visit most enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The subway entrance is just around the corner from the hotel, easy to use (we were first timers in NYC). Makes traveling around the city fast and inexpensive.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mary Loly
Business
Orlando
Aug 24, 2011

Trip to New York

Excellent Location !!!!! Walking distance from Central Park and Times Square !! Room was big enough for all four of us although bathroom was really small and outdated . Room even had a kitchen !!!!! Hotel was really clean, elevators were allways available , staff allways on hand and with great attitude. I really recommend this hotel !!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MPGEORGE2
Business
SANTA BARBARA,CA.
Jun 7, 2009

I LOVE ORBITZ!

PERFECT LOCATION, MY FIRST TIME TO NYC. THANKS ORBIZT FOR AN UNREAL DEAL!! I TOLD ALL OF MY FRIENDS TO ONLY USE YOUR SERVICE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Mar 2, 2008

Great Deal and location

The location of the Wellington was very convenient. The Subway was just out the door. Of the few hotels I have stayed at in NY this is by far the best for the price. Hope to visit there again unless I upgrade to Trump Tower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

This is next to everything!!! Subway, Park, Times Square, Broadway.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Sep 2, 2007

Great Location

The Wellington was a great stay for touring the city. It was perfect for visiting Time Square and Central Park. The subway was easily accessible and the hotel staff were very friendly in helping learn the subway system. The Wellington also allows you to enjoy New York on a budget...very cost effective. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for the best location and bang for the buck. I look forward to going back in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Many attractions are in walking distance from the hotel. I would recommend purchasing a Metro Card which will make riding the subway very simple. Train (R) which is right outside of the hotel will take you all the way to Brooklyn all main attractions within walking distance at each subway stop.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Sep 13, 2007

My review of Wellington Hotel

The hotel itself is very nice. My requests for smoking and upgraded room type/location were met on both my visits. Only 1 big issue--cleaning staff: repeatedly entered my room even w/o clean sign hung, Also somehow defeated the chain lock. Staging their carts 24/7 in the hall also very tacky. Aside from that a nice, very fair cost and if you're in NYC for theater it's outside your door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs. Dutchess
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 3, 2009

New York 3

Staff was excellent service was fast check in and check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's 10 minute walk

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joe B. senior person
Business
Inverness Ca.
May 3, 2010

unbelievable location [...]

this was a fantastic stay especially regarding the location for restaurants, theater, transportation(buses and subways) and wonderful to come back to the room and rest up. Friendly and helpful staff was a big plus and also the convenience of an excellent restaurant right in the lobby. Thoroughly enjoyable and would love to do it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top