$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1647 out of 1647
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
New York Shoppers
Business
Indpls. In.
May 27, 2009

New York Wellington

The room was very nice but very small. There was only one bed for two people. I do not mind sleeping in the same bed with my best friend but, would have preferred to have two beds. I heard other quest complaining of the same thing and there were no 2 bedrooms available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Ver close to time square. GREAT LOCATION!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Travelers
Business
San Jose, Ca
Oct 13, 2009

Check before you go

Very disappointed to learn upon arrival that they charge $35 for every 24 hours to park a rental car AND you can't take it in and out. Any time you take your car out and return a new $35 24 hour period begins new!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
motivatordan
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 8, 2009

Ok Place to Stay

the Hotel was ok... The location was great and great prices but the room was tiny and not clean. The pillows had mold on them and my sinus went nuts during my stay. If you are there for a quick stay and are not looking for frills this is your place. a short walk to Times Square or Central Park. The restaurant across the street RedEye is a place to eat. I would not have my family stay here but for business its ok....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You have to visit the RedEye Restaurant and ask for [...] the host...She will take good care of you!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DKNYC
Business
Manchester, UK
Nov 16, 2009

Excellent location!

My 3 friends and I were on a special birthday treat to NYC. I did call ahead and asked them for 2 beds instead of 1 bed and a pull-out and they did accomodate us which was good. The room was ok but nothing special, however, was clean and we got maid service everyday. The main selling point of the hotel is it's fabulous location, turn right out of the hotel and you can see Central Park, turn left and you can see Times Sq. The reception staff were a bit unfriendly, I had to wait ages for them to acknowledge me, despite the abundance of them on duty. However, the concierge staff were excellent and very friendly. The main disadvantage to this hotel is there is no bar, and the reception has one sofa and a couple of chairs. Many people who were checking out waiting for transport had no alternative but to sit on the floors which was a bit ridiculous, with no refreshments. Ok there is an adjoining diner, but this got very busy also. There was nowhere really just to sit and wait with a drink. I would recommend this hotel if you are on a tight schedule to NYC, its has basic amenities and you really can walk to a lot of the attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
drdave
Business
GA
Nov 17, 2009

Not so well-ington

An aging hotel in a good location; for the same amount/night I stayed at the Breakers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The coffee shop has great food at a good price, served quick. You have to work to get staff to attend to water refills, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Holiday Heather
Business
Texas
Jan 17, 2010

Good location, but hotel was eh....

Hotel is in good location. It is 2 blocks from Central Park and the Ed Sullivan Theatre. It is about 13 blocks to Times Square. The rooms were super tiny and they were clean- but not really that nice. There was no control over the heater/ ac- it is on a central one for the whole building. It was burning up and the radiator made so much noise all night that we could hardly sleep. We thought it was going to explode. We had to leave our 18th floor windows open to let in some air. The staff wasn't rude, but they weren't friendly either. One bellman helped us with directions, but the rest of the staff were just there. They don't give you conditioner- just shampoo and soap- so bring your own if you need it. You have to ask the bellman for ice, there aren't any machines. The location was good- safe area. It is right next to Carnegie Hall. The Park Cafe downstairs is delicious and a decent price. Also there is Subway next door- for a cheap meal. The hotel was decent, not great. I was dissapointed though. From the pics it looked really grand and beautiful. In person, it was a real let down. It is old (not in the beautiful antique way) and small. My past experience with hotels/ motels has been with Marriot, Holiday Inn, Motel 6, and Super 8. This hotel was way more pricey than those and honestly the rooms themselves were not nearly as roomy or nice. The lobby is pretty and the location is good- but that's about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

* Take the subway- it is way cheaper than a taxi. A 7 day unlimited ride pass is only $27/person. The taxi from the airport to the hotel uis $30. It is well worth doing the subway and we felt safe there. * 2 hours prior to showtime the theatres on Broadway have a lottery. It is free. You can win 2 front row tickets to the show you want to see at a markdown price of $26.50 each (instead of $200/pp) We won West Side Story one night and Wicked the next. AMAZING! We saw two super shows in the front row for less than half of what it would have cost to see one in the cheapest seats.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
montreal, canada
Feb 28, 2010

it was o.k.

the room was very small, so much noise with the radiator. it started anytime even when it was close. we had to turn on the air conditionner. it was so hot in the room.but the staff was nice. great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

time square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gd1007
Business
north idaho
Mar 26, 2010

the pinnacle of mediocrity

No small ammenities like mini fridge, ice bucket, coffee maker,room safe, internet acess, etc. Very tiny bathroom with what can be considered either the weakest of shower flows or the heaviest mist.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sterling, VA
Aug 9, 2010

The good, the bad, and really ugly

The hotel was in a great location; however, the rooms were extremly small. I had requested two beds and instead received a small regular size bed. The rooms were too close together and you will not be any sleep. New York was great, but I recommend a nicer hotel and book in advance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
llm
Business
virginia
Apr 9, 2011

wellington hotel, nyc

the facility was relatively clean, staff was helpful when asked but, overall the hotel was not particulary helpful to a business traveler. It was much more like a residential apartment complex than a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top