$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2014 Check-out: Apr 22, 2014

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
1,342 reviews
better than expected!!!

For our first time in NYC.. we didn't know what to expect. The location was amazing, down the... See full review

  • qbolt
  • Apr 3, 2014
Perfect location

We had such a good time in NY and the Wellington definitely contributed to the visit. I would... See full review

  • Carol from SATx
  • Apr 1, 2014
Classic comfort in the heart of Midtown
The Wellington Hotel's classic style and location close to many attractions, restaurants and theatres make this a popular choice. Just three blocks south of Central Park, five blocks north of Radio City Music Hall and Rockefeller Center, the Wellington is within easy walking distance of all Broadway theaters, museums, many restaurants of different styles and cuisines and Times Square. The Art Deco lobby and classically decorated rooms provide a warm atmosphere. All suites have a refrigerator and microwave, making the Wellington perfect for business and family travel. The smoke-free property also provides on-site services including 24-hour business center, hairdresser and two gift shops.
Highlights
  • All suites (and some rooms) have a refrigerator and microwave.
  • Walk to Braodway theatres, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, New York City Center and much more.
Location

Popular stores such as the Apple Store and American Girl Place are within a short walk and the David Letterman Show is just two blocks.

Rooms
The Wellington Hotel has 700 rooms including 85 one-bedroom suites. In-room amenities include Wi-Fi access (fee applies), flat-screen TV with Pay Per View movies, clock radio, hair dryer and iron/ironing board.
Features
There are three on-site gift shops. The Piccolo Gift Shop on the lobby level offer snacks and souvenirs as well as theatre tickets, sightseeing and airport transportation.
Dining
  • Molyvos, located on the lobby level, offers Greet cuisine for lunch and dinner from 12 noon, Monday to Friday. In addition, on Saturday and Sunday brunch starts at 11am (1130am in July and August).
  • The Park Cafe serves breakfast, lunch, dinner and after-theatre snacks from 6am to 1am every day.
  • Room Service is available from 6am to 12midnight every day.
  • There are more than 100 restaurants within a seven-minute walk including the Carnegie Deli, known for its enormous sandwiches, is across the street.
Transportation
  • Parking: Valet parking for standard size cars is $35 for 24 hours; $45 for oversized vehicles.
  • Subway: N, R, Q right outside the 55th Street entrance; E two short blocks; F one block.
  • Bus: 7, 20, 104 across the street; 31, 57 on 57th Street at Seventh Avenue.
Attractions
  • Theatre District - all Broadway theaters are within walking distance
  • Carnegie Hall
  • Central Park
  • David Letterman Show
  • Good Morning America
  • MoMA (Museum of Modern Art)
  • New York City Center
  • Radio City Music Hall
  • Rockefeller Center
  • TODAY
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • In-room WiFi ($4.99 for 1 hour; $11.99 for up to 24 hours; $24.99 for up to 72 hours; $39.99 for up to 120 hours.
  • Send or receive faxes at the front desk (fees may apply)

Wellington Hotel Rooms

Standard Double -Double
Standard Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee. Note: a third person cannot be accommodated
Deluxe Double-Double
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with two double beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features two flat screen TVs with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, one bathroom; refrigerator and microwave (no utensils). High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Standard Room with One Double Bed
Standard Room with One Double Bed accommodates one or two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wellington Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7644 -73.9807
Area served
New York, Manhattan
Nearby airports
J.F.K., LaGuardia, and Newark airports
Area description
Centrally located in Midtown Manhattan, the Wellington Hotel is steps to Carnegie Hall, City Center, Central Park and Broadway, New York's celebrated Theatre District. Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center, Times Square and the Museum of Radio and Television are within easy walking distance. Equally accessible are the United Nations, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Jacob K. Javitis Convention Center. Fortune 500 headquarters and many corporate offices are nearby as are a variety of fine dining and world famous restaurants. Public Transportation is at our door and can take you in minutes to the Statue of Liberty, Wall Street, South Street Seaport, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim Museum, Museum of Natural History, Intrepid Air and Space Museum and Yankee and Shea Stadiums

Nearby points of interest

  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • University Club: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.4 mi

Dining

Park Cafe
A traditional New York coffee shop,The Park Cafe, which has been welcoming guests for more than 25 years, was recently renovated. Breakfast is served every day beginning at 6:00am. You can also enjoy lunch, dinner and after-theater dining until 1:00am.
Molyvos
Enjoy award winning Mediterranean cuisine at Molyvos. From noon Monday to Friday traditional Greek dishes and grilled fish specialties are served. Saturday and Sunday also offers brunch from 11:00am. Molyvos is located in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1342)

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
1342 out of 1342
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Girls from South Texas
Texas
Aug 20, 2013

Awesome stay!!!!!

Stayed at this hotel for 5 days and it was absolutely wonderful!!! The location is great because it is blocks away from everything--including Central Park and Times Square. The staff is so friendly and anxious to help with everything. Our room was so comfortable and we never heard any noise from anyone on the floor. Housekeeping staff were very prompt and very friendly. The gift shop staff also were very helpful and friendly. Doormen very efficient with getting you directions and transportation if needed. The diner attached to the hotel had the most delicious breakfast. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and lots of it had to do with the stay at The Wellington. Will definitely return as soon as I can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
NYLIMOM
NY
Feb 10, 2014

Great location but lacks customer service

I called in the early evening to request extra pillows and blankets. My daughter is pregnant and needed extra for comfort and assistance. We never received them. In addition, the heater was so noisy, it sounded as if someone was banging a bat against the pipes! It was a restless sleep. I received the extra pillow and blanket the NEXT DAY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Sunshinesharla
Clarksville, AR
Apr 5, 2011

Tiny w/GREAT Water Pressure & Location!

The hotel didn't have a lot to offer, and the rooms seemed smaller than my child's 12X12 room. Not to mention, the "double" bed is actually a full size... tiny! The view stunk. We could see a dirty rooftop on one side, and a dark street adjacent a tall building on the other. Plus, the room smelled stale and smokey, though it was a non-smoking room, and we had to call the electrician the first night because our air didn't work, and our shades wouldn't stay down. On the other hand, the hotel is centrally located near Times Square and the shower had the BEST water pressure of any hotel I have ever stayed at. I seriously didn't want to leave the "massage". There was also an affordable eatery across the street called "Cafe Metro." That was nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We LOVED "Wicked" on Broadway, and it was only 3 blocks from the hotel!!!

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Steph.K
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 26, 2013

Not gonna stay there again

The room was way too small and our room was next to the elevator so it was noisy every morning. Also, the heat was too high and there was no controller in the room, I woke up with headache and bad cough every morning. If I kept the window open, the noise from the street was not acceptable. It's great location, but that's it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Enidd
Puerto Rico
Jan 8, 2014

Vacations....

This hotel is not handicap friendly. The only access to the hotel is through stairs and I had a lot of trouble to get my luggage in the lobby. The elevators are only for the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Niraj
Business
Plano, TX
May 23, 2012

Wellington experience

It is good hotel location wise. But should not expect amenities.. hotel is costly, compared to price you may not get internet connection. You need to pay extra for internet connection. Poor ventilated hotel. But it has spacious bed room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
valaue hunter
Washington, DC
Apr 1, 2013

Good location, ove fprices

a great location, but $35 to park a car; no breakfast and you have to pay for internet. I will not stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Kaufman Tx
Jun 13, 2010

Horrible, horrible, horrible

The staff was friendly and helpful, but the hotel itself is a dump. Your site advertised it as a 3.5 - 4.0 star and thats a joke. This place was herendous and I will NEVER stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

you can ride the subway anywhere you need to go and then may have a short walk. the sites were amazing. It was out first trip to NY and we loved it.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Business
Dayton, Ohio
Apr 3, 2009

not recommended

I was looking for a reasonable rate for a short business trip. I was frankly appalled at everything about this dumpy hotel. All of the online info was very distorted. I would never recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

great Manhattan shopping all around

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Made105
Michigan
Oct 28, 2013

Disappointing and Dirty

We reserved 2 double beds and none where available. My 6'3 son had to sleep on a little cot. Both the tub and the sink had running faucets (the one in the tub finally broke and had to be replaced). Large hair balls in the bathroom. Towels weren't clean. Our floor smelled like mold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Are you for real ...
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 11, 2011

are you kidding me ...

The Wellington Hotel may have been acceptable in 1972 but come on Orbitz ... has any of your staff checked out this place lately?? It's a dump plain and simple

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great Italian restaurant at 57th and 7th across from Carnegie Hall

Back to menu Return to top