$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
1,356 reviews
Great place to stay

In town for Super Bowl , close to everything ... Very nice See full review

  • warzecha boo
  • Jul 25, 2015
Great Location

Location was right off of Times Square - possibly 4 blocks away. Pizza Place 1 1/2 blocks away, the... See full review

  • MARGARITA G.
  • Jul 22, 2015

The Wellington Hotel in New York is a luxury establishment that has welcomed guests in New York City for over 113 years. Known for its classic design, the style of the hotel captures the true spirit of the Big Apple with elegant chandeliers and gold accents in the interior space. Each room features luxurious decor with free access to WiFi, Kewl bath amenities and a 32-inch flat screen television.

Location

With Central Park just three blocks away, the Wellington places guests close to a welcoming green space featuring a wide range of activities, including roller skating and boating, on the calm waters of the lake. Every type of cuisine is represented in this neighborhood, with area favorites ranging from Ray’s Pizza on Broadway to The Russian Tea Room on West 57th Street, where visitors can choose from more than 40 types of vodka, or book the facility for a classical afternoon tea. Retail therapy can be found inside the designer stores of 5th Avenue or the dependable establishment of Bloomingdale’s, which combines major lines and fresh labels.

Highlights

The Wellington Hotel is located just a few blocks from Central Park and is half a mile from Times Square. It's conveniently located on the corner of West 55th Street and Seventh Avenue. For breakfast, guests can enjoy dining at the Park Cafe for traditional American menu items that include French toast and omelettes. Molyvos Greek Restaurant is an award-winning restaurant on the lobby level and offers a variety of Greek dishes. It is most commonly known for its flavorful grilled fish that is served throughout the day. Room service is also available in each room. A gift shop is located on-site for a great place to pick up souvenirs or snacks. Outside of the hotel, over 100 restaurants are available within walking distance. Guests can also visit some of the most popular attractions nearby, which include Carnegie Hall, Rockefeller Center and the Museum of Modern Art.

Policies
Some of the rooms have kitchenettes-perfect for hot snacks and downtime after a long day. If you're visiting in November or December, stock up on gifts and Christmas decorations at the Wellington's Christmas Cottage store.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wellington Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Wellington Hotel Rooms

Standard Double -Double
Standard Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee. Note: a third person cannot be accommodated
Deluxe Double-Double
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with two double beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features two flat screen TVs with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, one bathroom; refrigerator and microwave (no utensils). High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Standard Room with One Double Bed
Standard Room with One Double Bed accommodates one or two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • University Club: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi

Dining

Park Cafe
A traditional New York coffee shop,The Park Cafe, which has been welcoming guests for more than 25 years, was recently renovated. Breakfast is served every day beginning at 6:00am. You can also enjoy lunch, dinner and after-theater dining until 1:00am.
Molyvos
Enjoy award winning Mediterranean cuisine at Molyvos. From noon Monday to Friday traditional Greek dishes and grilled fish specialties are served. Saturday and Sunday also offers brunch from 11:00am. Molyvos is located in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1356 out of 1356
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rikisa
San Francisco,California
Oct 3, 2012

Our first family visit to New York

We had a great experience. We arrived early morning with very little sleep. The manager arranged to get us into a room at a much earlier time which was greatly appreciated. The staff was courteous,pleasant and helpful. We will definitely recommend the Wellington Hotel to all of our friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the hotel shuttle. Worth every penny.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Enidd
Business
Puerto Rico
Jan 8, 2014

Vacations....

This hotel is not handicap friendly. The only access to the hotel is through stairs and I had a lot of trouble to get my luggage in the lobby. The elevators are only for the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very Displeased Guest
Business
Washington DC
Jan 14, 2014

Wellington Hotel, NY

I could not let go writing a review for the Wellington hotel that displeased me and unfortunately (for them of course) I am not returning. I was in this hotel for 3 days. Accommodations are suitable, hotel is clean, they even let us check-in an hour early. Room was cleaned every day, bathroom well maintained, BUT…..they messed up in the check-out. Unlike other hotel where you just return your room keys and take off without surprises, when I checked out, the front desk lady “Charlene” told me that I’ve watched 2 movies, each for $16 or $17. I replied several times that we hadn’t watched any movies, never ordered anything to watch and that it was a clear mistake. She had this “no, you watched it, it ran” look, which I did not appreciate at all. They offered to take one off the bill and charge only one (how nice! But I did not buy it) and even showed me a piece of paper with a few lines stating that my room had watched 2 movies. One of them was “Thor, the Dark World” and that it had ran for an hour and 19 minutes. For those who have seen this movie at the theater, it is known that it lasts more than an hour and 19 minutes. So, for a movie over 2 hours that only gets to run an hour and 19 minutes, somehow someone or something must have pressed to pause button at an hour and 19 minutes, but it certainly was not us, or the movie just runs for as long as it wants and then pauses itself. I mean, for a movie that costs $16 I’ll make sure I memorize even the credits at the end of it. So, weird, ok, but that’s not it. This movie, they claimed ran on the last day of our stay in NY precisely at noon. I informed them that regrettably for their report I was in the Cruise Line boat around Manhattan that very same day at, guess what? At noon! I can’t be at two places at the same time. So, who played the movie? Weird, right? Noticing this time conflict, we checked the other movie time, and guess what? Again run time started while we were having dinner in Queens. Weird again! What was going on here? “Let’s call security” she said when realizing that I was not letting get ripped off. The guy from security asked us for the times we left and returned to the room for the days of the supposed movies, and to their surprise the times checked out fine, we were not in the room, so they removed the movie charges. Next to us, we heard another lady (we could tell she could not speak English very well) that replied several times over “pero, yo no he visto ninguna pelicula”; that means “but I have not seen any movie” in Spanish. They did not make the same security check for her, she did not pushed back like us, and got charged $50 for three movies she never ordered. This is my experience, you judge, you decide. The lack of respect this place showed us we’ll keep us out from going back there ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Times Square, tour bus, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Cruises.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kwilson0120
Business
Mays Landing NJ
Feb 4, 2014

New Years Eve Celebration

Very convienate. The location was perfect. Wasn't at the hotel much but was very homey. Just a lil warm. I would prefer warmth over being cold. Staff was awesome. They are very friendly and helpful. Thanks for the recommendation....one of the best times of my life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take comfortable shoes.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NYLIMOM
Business
NY
Feb 10, 2014

Great location but lacks customer service

I called in the early evening to request extra pillows and blankets. My daughter is pregnant and needed extra for comfort and assistance. We never received them. In addition, the heater was so noisy, it sounded as if someone was banging a bat against the pipes! It was a restless sleep. I received the extra pillow and blanket the NEXT DAY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Nov 24, 2010

Avoid this hotel

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Room was very small, bathroom was tiny. There was a double bed with one bedside locker. There was no kettle, fridge, mini bar. The room was extremely noisy. We were 15 floors up and could hear everything on the streets below. Roller blind did not stay down, curtains could not be pulled together. There was a huge gap under the door and each night we had to roll up a towel and place under door of room to try and keep the light out. The noise of the heating system was horrendous - you would think someone was in the door banging on the pipes. Please do not consider staying in this hotel. The only good thing about it was its location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Only good thing about this hotel was its location to Broaday, Times Square and Central Park

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shoelover970
Business
Colorado, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Big Mistake

We had some serious issues with this Hotel. For starters, I made reservations about 3 months in advance, for my mom, my aunt and myself. I requested 3 beds, and was told we would get 2 beds and a sleeper sofa. When we checked in, we were taken to a two room suite that was a total dump, and a roll-away cot was brought in for the 3rd bed. On the wall in one of the rooms, someone had written "Everyone Dies!". This was quite disturbing. We also observed dirty hand-prints on the ceiling and the air-conditioner was being held in with what looked like medical tape?!?! We of course called to complain, and were told that we needed to talk to the day manager (we arrived at around 11pm). Then at 5:30 am, someone had opened the door to our room! He apologized when I sat up terrified and saw him, and he said he was with security and sent to the wrong room. After trying to fall back to sleep, the room was then invaded by another two people. At this point, we were irate. So, again we tried to talk to the manager. We were apologized to, and were told that the room would be cleaned up and that they did not have another room available to accommodate the three of us. On the 3rd day, we came back to the room and the smoke detector was beeping because the batteries were dying. Finally, they gave us a different room. The room they gave us was nice, and had three beds. But this is the room I requested to begin with, 3 months prior to the trip. This was a total hassle, and I will never stay here again, nor would I recommend it to anyone else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Madison Ave shopping, and to Central Park.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JNack
Business
San Jose, CA
Oct 30, 2011

What a dump

If you're looking for a cramped lobby full of overseas students piled up on their hard luggage, combined with cramped & dingy rooms, the Wellington's for you! It's easy to see where your money was (barely) saved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hibbsy
Business
England
Dec 11, 2011

Fantastic trip - Let down by the hotel

Whilst we did not go to New York to sit in our hotel, I did expect to find it in the 21st Century. I don't live like a king but it wasn't a place we looked forward to coming back to after a busy day sight seeing and shopping. The Hotel was: * Dated * Lacked amenities * No safety deposit box in the room * Not clean * Noisey air con - (could not have it on at night) * Room too small * Lifts out of operation (an absolute pain when they did work) * Un helpful staff * Door swipe cards that worked intermittently * Bathroom had a smell (missing plugs, inserts off taps) * Generally not looked after. I have stayed in several hotels in New York and many other parts of the world and this is by far the worst I've visited. I will not return here and I do not think it was worth what we paid Very disappointed!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Woodbury Common for some shopping bargains

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sunday
Business
Clearwater, FL, USA
Dec 17, 2011

poor customer svc from manager to housekeeper

Poor customer svc. They act like there doing you a favor by allowing you to stay there. Housekeeping don't have necessary stuff to stock room correcttly. Room to hot or to cold mostly to hot. The hold they put on visa never comes off it seems. Lot of money for just location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
freeflyin180
Business
Houston, TX
Dec 20, 2011

Wouldn't recommend

First, the staff was friendly enough when we first arrived. However, that's where to good part of the review ends. Having never traveled to New York before, I read reviews and tried to find as many pictures as possible when considering a hotel. I did like the location of this hotel, but that alone wasn't enough to make up for the short comings. The room was very small, not a deal breaker, but it was more liken to what you'd expect checking in to a $30 budget hotel in the middle of no where. Dirty, run down, old, these are the best descriptors. The shower; excellent water pressure, however you had to jump out of the stream every few seconds for the wave of scolding hot water that was impossible to control. Now, granted we were on the 9th floor but the bathroom window didn't even have a latch to lock it. On the second day staying we returned to our room around 3:30pm, it hadn't been cleaned yet. The answer to this was pretty evident since we walked past the maid sitting on a bucket next to a closet in the hallway. We spoke with a lady at the front desk as we headed back out almost an hour and a half later. She apologized and said she'd send someone up and I told her not to bother. Never heard back from a manager on it or anyone else from the hotel for that matter. As with many others i'm sure, I chose this hotel based on my package price. End result, I will definitely budget more money on my next trip to stay somewhere better. I wouldn't stay here again if it was free!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pazzo Notte. If you like italian this is a great place to eat. Dinner for two with drinks and tip was around $92.

Back to menu Return to top