$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
1,416 reviews
Great location, great staff!!!!

This hotel is in a perfect location, and the staff makes you feel home!!!! See full review

  • Antonio from Mex
  • Nov 19, 2014
perfect location, clean..

what a perfect location, bit dated, however clean, great staff...good internet. See full review

  • Okanjo mike
  • Oct 14, 2014
Radiating history from its walls, the Wellington Hotel New York?built in 1901?stands apart from the fast pace of modern city life surrounding it. The plush lobby is decked out in rich tones and intricate murals, while focal chandeliers give the interiors a classical ambience.  If you are here on business, the hotel?s central location and 24-hour business center will cater to your every need. Midtown Manhattan is full of excellent restaurants; gourmets would do well to try the Wellington?s delicious plates of Greek mezze at the Molyvos restaurant, or the Park Cafe's informal all-day dining options.
Key facts
  • 700 guestrooms
  • Two restaurants: Molyvos and Park Cafe
  • 24-hour business center
  • Gift shop
  • Hair salon
  • Multilingual staff
Neighborhood

With Central Park just three blocks away, the Wellington places guests close to a welcoming green space featuring a wide range of activities, including roller skating and boating, on the calm waters of the lake. Every type of cuisine is represented in this neighborhood, with area favorites ranging from Ray’s Pizza on Broadway to The Russian Tea Room on West 57th Street, where visitors can choose from more than 40 types of vodka, or book the facility for a classical afternoon tea. Retail therapy can be found inside the designer stores of 5th Avenue or the dependable establishment of Bloomingdale’s, which combines major lines and fresh labels.

Hints and tips
Some of the rooms have kitchenettes-perfect for hot snacks and downtime after a long day. If you're visiting in November or December, stock up on gifts and Christmas decorations at the Wellington's Christmas Cottage store.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wellington Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Wellington Hotel Rooms

Standard Double -Double
Standard Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee. Note: a third person cannot be accommodated
Deluxe Double-Double
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with two double beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features two flat screen TVs with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, one bathroom; refrigerator and microwave (no utensils). High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Standard Room with One Double Bed
Standard Room with One Double Bed accommodates one or two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • University Club: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.4 mi

Dining

Park Cafe
A traditional New York coffee shop,The Park Cafe, which has been welcoming guests for more than 25 years, was recently renovated. Breakfast is served every day beginning at 6:00am. You can also enjoy lunch, dinner and after-theater dining until 1:00am.
Molyvos
Enjoy award winning Mediterranean cuisine at Molyvos. From noon Monday to Friday traditional Greek dishes and grilled fish specialties are served. Saturday and Sunday also offers brunch from 11:00am. Molyvos is located in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1416)

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
1416 out of 1416
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jean loves new york
florida
Sep 12, 2012

delightful stay

lovely room,double on the top floor, fantastic view-everyone exceptionally nice and helpful to us from the check in counter to all the bellmen & doorman and the hotel car to airport so much more connfortable than a cab

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great restaurants and theater all easy walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Dec 17, 2007

so so

The Wellington was not very friendly.I felt like the room was way over priced compared to my last seven visits this year.The room had a hard mattress.It was so hot that you could not sleep,tried to adjust heat but was preset.The location was great between time square and central park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the castle pub two streets down had great food and service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan, PR
May 4, 2009

Wellington Hotel

This hotel looks like it has never been remodelled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Jun 19, 2009

Terrible!!

Location is good but room was dirty, old and depressing. Comforters on bed were very old and dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travel Maestro
Business
Centereach, NY
Sep 27, 2009

Weekend event

I did not get to stay at the hotel. On getting there, I was told my room was unavailable and had to be relocated to a sister hotel. I was disappointed by the way the whole process was handled. I would have preferred to be informed about the situation before my arrival. I will have to rethink ever making a reservation at the wellington.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kaufman Tx
Jun 13, 2010

Horrible, horrible, horrible

The staff was friendly and helpful, but the hotel itself is a dump. Your site advertised it as a 3.5 - 4.0 star and thats a joke. This place was herendous and I will NEVER stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

you can ride the subway anywhere you need to go and then may have a short walk. the sites were amazing. It was out first trip to NY and we loved it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Nov 24, 2010

Avoid this hotel

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Room was very small, bathroom was tiny. There was a double bed with one bedside locker. There was no kettle, fridge, mini bar. The room was extremely noisy. We were 15 floors up and could hear everything on the streets below. Roller blind did not stay down, curtains could not be pulled together. There was a huge gap under the door and each night we had to roll up a towel and place under door of room to try and keep the light out. The noise of the heating system was horrendous - you would think someone was in the door banging on the pipes. Please do not consider staying in this hotel. The only good thing about it was its location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Only good thing about this hotel was its location to Broaday, Times Square and Central Park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sunshinesharla
Business
Clarksville, AR
Apr 5, 2011

Tiny w/GREAT Water Pressure & Location!

The hotel didn't have a lot to offer, and the rooms seemed smaller than my child's 12X12 room. Not to mention, the "double" bed is actually a full size... tiny! The view stunk. We could see a dirty rooftop on one side, and a dark street adjacent a tall building on the other. Plus, the room smelled stale and smokey, though it was a non-smoking room, and we had to call the electrician the first night because our air didn't work, and our shades wouldn't stay down. On the other hand, the hotel is centrally located near Times Square and the shower had the BEST water pressure of any hotel I have ever stayed at. I seriously didn't want to leave the "massage". There was also an affordable eatery across the street called "Cafe Metro." That was nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We LOVED "Wicked" on Broadway, and it was only 3 blocks from the hotel!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shoelover970
Business
Colorado, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Big Mistake

We had some serious issues with this Hotel. For starters, I made reservations about 3 months in advance, for my mom, my aunt and myself. I requested 3 beds, and was told we would get 2 beds and a sleeper sofa. When we checked in, we were taken to a two room suite that was a total dump, and a roll-away cot was brought in for the 3rd bed. On the wall in one of the rooms, someone had written "Everyone Dies!". This was quite disturbing. We also observed dirty hand-prints on the ceiling and the air-conditioner was being held in with what looked like medical tape?!?! We of course called to complain, and were told that we needed to talk to the day manager (we arrived at around 11pm). Then at 5:30 am, someone had opened the door to our room! He apologized when I sat up terrified and saw him, and he said he was with security and sent to the wrong room. After trying to fall back to sleep, the room was then invaded by another two people. At this point, we were irate. So, again we tried to talk to the manager. We were apologized to, and were told that the room would be cleaned up and that they did not have another room available to accommodate the three of us. On the 3rd day, we came back to the room and the smoke detector was beeping because the batteries were dying. Finally, they gave us a different room. The room they gave us was nice, and had three beds. But this is the room I requested to begin with, 3 months prior to the trip. This was a total hassle, and I will never stay here again, nor would I recommend it to anyone else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Madison Ave shopping, and to Central Park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JNack
Business
San Jose, CA
Oct 30, 2011

What a dump

If you're looking for a cramped lobby full of overseas students piled up on their hard luggage, combined with cramped & dingy rooms, the Wellington's for you! It's easy to see where your money was (barely) saved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hibbsy
Business
England
Dec 11, 2011

Fantastic trip - Let down by the hotel

Whilst we did not go to New York to sit in our hotel, I did expect to find it in the 21st Century. I don't live like a king but it wasn't a place we looked forward to coming back to after a busy day sight seeing and shopping. The Hotel was: * Dated * Lacked amenities * No safety deposit box in the room * Not clean * Noisey air con - (could not have it on at night) * Room too small * Lifts out of operation (an absolute pain when they did work) * Un helpful staff * Door swipe cards that worked intermittently * Bathroom had a smell (missing plugs, inserts off taps) * Generally not looked after. I have stayed in several hotels in New York and many other parts of the world and this is by far the worst I've visited. I will not return here and I do not think it was worth what we paid Very disappointed!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Woodbury Common for some shopping bargains

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top