$121 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
1,394 reviews
perfect location, clean..

what a perfect location, bit dated, however clean, great staff...good internet. See full review

  • Okanjo mike
  • Oct 14, 2014
family trip

As we were checking in a young lady by the name of Caroline said that she was going to find us a... See full review

  • GB nanny
  • Aug 24, 2014
Radiating history from its walls, the Wellington Hotel New York?built in 1901?stands apart from the fast pace of modern city life surrounding it. The plush lobby is decked out in rich tones and intricate murals, while focal chandeliers give the interiors a classical ambience.  If you are here on business, the hotel?s central location and 24-hour business center will cater to your every need. Midtown Manhattan is full of excellent restaurants; gourmets would do well to try the Wellington?s delicious plates of Greek mezze at the Molyvos restaurant, or the Park Cafe's informal all-day dining options.
Key facts
  • 700 guestrooms
  • Two restaurants: Molyvos and Park Cafe
  • 24-hour business center
  • Gift shop
  • Hair salon
  • Multilingual staff
Neighborhood

With Central Park just three blocks away, the Wellington places guests close to a welcoming green space featuring a wide range of activities, including roller skating and boating, on the calm waters of the lake. Every type of cuisine is represented in this neighborhood, with area favorites ranging from Ray’s Pizza on Broadway to The Russian Tea Room on West 57th Street, where visitors can choose from more than 40 types of vodka, or book the facility for a classical afternoon tea. Retail therapy can be found inside the designer stores of 5th Avenue or the dependable establishment of Bloomingdale’s, which combines major lines and fresh labels.

Hints and tips
Some of the rooms have kitchenettes-perfect for hot snacks and downtime after a long day. If you're visiting in November or December, stock up on gifts and Christmas decorations at the Wellington's Christmas Cottage store.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7644 -73.9807
Area served
New York, Manhattan
Nearby airports
J.F.K., LaGuardia, and Newark airports
Area description
Centrally located in Midtown Manhattan, the Wellington Hotel is steps to Carnegie Hall, City Center, Central Park and Broadway, New York's celebrated Theatre District. Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center, Times Square and the Museum of Radio and Television are within easy walking distance. Equally accessible are the United Nations, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Jacob K. Javitis Convention Center. Fortune 500 headquarters and many corporate offices are nearby as are a variety of fine dining and world famous restaurants. Public Transportation is at our door and can take you in minutes to the Statue of Liberty, Wall Street, South Street Seaport, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim Museum, Museum of Natural History, Intrepid Air and Space Museum and Yankee and Shea Stadiums

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wellington Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Wellington Hotel Rooms

Standard Double -Double
Standard Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee. Note: a third person cannot be accommodated
Deluxe Double-Double
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with two double beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features two flat screen TVs with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, one bathroom; refrigerator and microwave (no utensils). High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Standard Room with One Double Bed
Standard Room with One Double Bed accommodates one or two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • University Club: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.4 mi

Dining

Park Cafe
A traditional New York coffee shop,The Park Cafe, which has been welcoming guests for more than 25 years, was recently renovated. Breakfast is served every day beginning at 6:00am. You can also enjoy lunch, dinner and after-theater dining until 1:00am.
Molyvos
Enjoy award winning Mediterranean cuisine at Molyvos. From noon Monday to Friday traditional Greek dishes and grilled fish specialties are served. Saturday and Sunday also offers brunch from 11:00am. Molyvos is located in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1394)

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
474 out of 1394
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dmzafran
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jan 14, 2014

Very good option

This is one of the great older hotels in the midtown area with a perfect location to base yourself for a stay in the city. We were upgraded for free to a larger room for no apparent reason. The only complaints were that there was still some leftover trash in one of the bins in the room and the heater made some strange noises during the night. Other than that, a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Herb World Traveler
Business
Louisville, Kentcky
Feb 16, 2014

Perfect Location

The Wellington is a great value. Only recommendation for improvement would be free coffee in the room or a pot in the lobby for guests. The Park Café located within the confines of the hotel building is fantastic to breakfast. New York can be expensive, so deal with that and put it in perspective, you will find it doesn't disappoint. Staff was outstanding and the cleaning maids outstanding, timely and friendly...not what I was led to believe about New Yorkers. I am sure a few folks would have a complaint about something, but then again your expectations are out of whack and you are too spoiled. If you want perfection and snobby type service...then head to a Ritz type hotel. This place is perfect couples, families and small groups that want to really enjoy the town. It is close to everything from the Park to Theatre District and most of the sites that anyone would care to visit. ALSO IF YOU ARE THERE, GO ACROSS THE STREET AND HAVE A PASTRIMI SANDWICH AT THE CARNEGIE DINER. FANTASTIC!!! I also tried KATZ's, another outstanding deli...but, I have to say, Carnegie is better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Show tickets in Times Square. Same day performances for half price and the lines moves quickly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Romanvanegas
Business
Caborca sonora
Mar 13, 2014

Good one

Good experience and price so confortable. The restaurant its prety good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Jun 25, 2007

My review of Wellington Hotel

We were very pleased with the Wellington. The location was great! The staff was great at check in and we were very pleased with our room. The room appeared to have been redecorated recently. The only complaint we had was we didn't have a closet to hang clothes, but adequate drawer space. We felt the Wellington was a good value for the money we would definitely recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We enjoyed going to the famous Carnegie deli which was right across the street! Be sure to try the open face corn beef, it is awesome! The Wellington is located in the theater district, so we enjoyed the short walk to the theaters in the evening.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alexandria, LA
May 4, 2008

25th anniversary gettaway

OUr stay at the Wellington exceeded our expectations.It was very clean, friendly and in a good location. I would recommend it to anyone for whatever reason.it was close to a lot of attractions we were interested in seeing. close to the tour buses and subway. We were able to walk to Rockerfella Center and other attractions. I was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wofeys
Business
Newport Beach, Ca
Jul 1, 2009

great location

great location minutes from time square, but away from the noise close to central park, and tour buses close to great restaurants liked that most of the guests were european loved the wellington only thing that would make it 100% perfect would be if they had a small coffee maker in the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

many restaurants to chose from

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lauralemon
Business
london
Jan 7, 2010

Wellington Hotel well worth it!!

We stayed at the wellington hotel over the new year and couldn't find any faults with it we were given a free upgrade in room without asking and the staf were very helpful and always enough staff on so there wasn't much waiting around to be seen! Location wise it is fantastic!! Walk out the main doors and you are a 2 second walk to Central Park and a 5 min walk in the other direction you are in times square you are 5 mins from rockerfeller centre 15 mins from empire state we didn't get a taxi anywhere apart from statue of liberty! you are on top of everything without having the noise outside your window! When we checked out our luggage was looked after and we were asked if we wanted a car to the airport which was great! Would defo stay here again and would recommend it to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant under the empire state building was fab and normal portions unlike everywhere else!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEW ORLEANS,LA
Jan 8, 2010

MERRY CHRISTMAS IN NEW YORK

VERY COLD !!!!!! WOULD LIKE TO GO BACK IN THE SPRING OF 2011. WOULD LIKE TO SEE A YANKEE BASEBALL GAME. I ENJOYED MYSELF WOULD LOVE TO GO BACK TO THE WELLINGTON HOTEL !!!GREAT PALCE TO STAY!!!!! THANKS FOR THE HELP !!!!GOOD JOB!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
spads
Business
Buffalo, NY, USA
Dec 5, 2011

great location

We had a wonderful stay. Nice comfortable room and pretty quiet for NYC. The location was excellent for walking to Times Square as well as up to Central Park. The subway station was right outside. We've stayed here before and will do so again when visiting NYC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CindyM
Business
Texas, USA
Dec 26, 2011

Great NY experience

I had booked a double bed, but when they showed us to our room, it hadn't been cleaned yet. However, they upgraded us to a king size bed which was a much roomier room!!! Loved it. Check-in was real quick with no waiting! Attended to us really well and our room was cleaned very good every day! No complaints at all! Our hotel was close walking distance to Times Square, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, and many other great attractions! Noise level was pretty low from our room. Overall, our first time in NYC was a great experience and our stay at the hotel was excellent! Would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top