$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
1,655 reviews
Granny's Birthday

For the price, the hotel was subpar. The rooms are rather small but we did receive an upgrade which... See full review

  • Tiffany F.
  • Jul 1, 2015
Excellent deal

Great location, nice people, really big safety deposit boxes at the front desk so we could store... See full review

  • Armin B.
  • Jun 16, 2015

The Wellington Hotel in New York is a luxury establishment that has welcomed guests in New York City for over 113 years. Known for its classic design, the style of the hotel captures the true spirit of the Big Apple with elegant chandeliers and gold accents in the interior space. Each room features luxurious decor with free access to WiFi, Kewl bath amenities and a 32-inch flat screen television.

Location

With Central Park just three blocks away, the Wellington places guests close to a welcoming green space featuring a wide range of activities, including roller skating and boating, on the calm waters of the lake. Every type of cuisine is represented in this neighborhood, with area favorites ranging from Ray’s Pizza on Broadway to The Russian Tea Room on West 57th Street, where visitors can choose from more than 40 types of vodka, or book the facility for a classical afternoon tea. Retail therapy can be found inside the designer stores of 5th Avenue or the dependable establishment of Bloomingdale’s, which combines major lines and fresh labels.

Highlights

The Wellington Hotel is located just a few blocks from Central Park and is half a mile from Times Square. It's conveniently located on the corner of West 55th Street and Seventh Avenue. For breakfast, guests can enjoy dining at the Park Cafe for traditional American menu items that include French toast and omelettes. Molyvos Greek Restaurant is an award-winning restaurant on the lobby level and offers a variety of Greek dishes. It is most commonly known for its flavorful grilled fish that is served throughout the day. Room service is also available in each room. A gift shop is located on-site for a great place to pick up souvenirs or snacks. Outside of the hotel, over 100 restaurants are available within walking distance. Guests can also visit some of the most popular attractions nearby, which include Carnegie Hall, Rockefeller Center and the Museum of Modern Art.

Policies
Some of the rooms have kitchenettes-perfect for hot snacks and downtime after a long day. If you're visiting in November or December, stock up on gifts and Christmas decorations at the Wellington's Christmas Cottage store.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wellington Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Wellington Hotel Rooms

Standard Double -Double
Standard Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee. Note: a third person cannot be accommodated
Deluxe Double-Double
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with two double beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features two flat screen TVs with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, one bathroom; refrigerator and microwave (no utensils). High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Standard Room with One Double Bed
Standard Room with One Double Bed accommodates one or two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • University Club: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi

Dining

Park Cafe
A traditional New York coffee shop,The Park Cafe, which has been welcoming guests for more than 25 years, was recently renovated. Breakfast is served every day beginning at 6:00am. You can also enjoy lunch, dinner and after-theater dining until 1:00am.
Molyvos
Enjoy award winning Mediterranean cuisine at Molyvos. From noon Monday to Friday traditional Greek dishes and grilled fish specialties are served. Saturday and Sunday also offers brunch from 11:00am. Molyvos is located in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
218 out of 1655
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Little Rock, AR
May 1, 2007

Perfect Location!

My stay at the Wellington was great. At 55th and 7th... it's located only a few blocks from everything! Central Park is only 2 or 3 blocks to the North, with a great little Greek food vendor on the way, perfect for a lunch in the park! Time Square is right down the street, with Theaters just within 5 minutes walk! The Carnagie Deli is across the street with the most gigantic pastrami sandwiches you can imagine! There's the NRQW Subway right outside the 7th Street exit that'll take you anywhere Uptown or Downtown you could care to go! 5th Avenue is a short walk away, so you can shop til you drop or for a quieter jaunt, slip into Joseph Patelson Music House, a great little music store on 56th street! The rooms are small, but comfortable. Considering what little time is spent in the room...it's perfect. Complete with a closet, an ironing board, iron and hairdryer...has pretty much what I needed!! The staff is friendly and very helpful. I highly recommend the Wellington to New York City travellers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park is wonderful on a sunny, warm day...just to take a few moments to relax from the hustle and bustle! Some great photo ops as well!

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
snapelu[@]
Business
Charleston,WV
Jun 16, 2009

Room was very crean and friendly staff!

Nice location and very clean room,I got free up-grade to suite room! Just me is too much...and the hotel staff was excellent. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for the best location and bang for the buck. I look forward to going back in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tesla Boy
Business
New York, New York
Apr 23, 2013

Wellington Over Night

We were checked in fast and not hassled.The hotel lobby was packed and it was still organized and professionally orchestrated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alex the Traveling Man
Business
Glendale, CA
Jul 12, 2013

Cheap & Perfect Spot in Manhattan

Second visit to The Wellington. It's definitely improved since the last time I stayed. Hotel Front Staff Desk just okay. The Bell Guys are great! If you can get a good deal, go for it. It's in a perfect spot in Manhattan...with the good price and location...you can't beat it. So I'm hoping for another great deal with The Wellington again for my next visit. Thanks for saving me money and stretching out my dollar because NYC is expensive...amazing city...so every deal counts!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marathon Mikey
Business
Boulder, CO
Dec 13, 2013

Great Location

Locations was fantastic, easy to get to meetings and Central Park was really close so was able to take a nice run there. Only downside is that there was no control on the heat so I ended up sweating all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 5, 2007

excellent location

The Wellington was in a great location for me as my first trip to New York, I wanted to see a lot and was able to walk most places. The room was small and not updated, but since I was alone it wasn't an issue for me. The staff (front desk and door) were very eager to help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham
Jan 6, 2009

Paradise In New York City

The Wellington Hotel was one of the best located hotels i have ever been to. From the moment i arrived, i felt very comfortable. The check in was very quick with no problems. The most significant thing was the rooms. They are very spacious and comfortable. I felt as if i were at home. When i made it home from my visit, i immediately told all my friends and family about the Wellington Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks from 5th Avenue. Every shoppers dream.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dayton, OH
May 13, 2008

Wonderful NYC location

We stayed a week at the Wellington Hotel, and it was the perfect location for seeing the city. We had a very good and reasonable dining area, proximity to the City Tour buses (two blocks), excellent service from check-in to check-out, and our corner room gave us views of 7th Avenue as well as 56th STreet and a peek of Broadway. Several good eating places in the two block area, all types and prices. It is an older hotel, but in great shape, and small but nice rooms. We loved it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Next to Carnegie Hall, two blocks from Lindy's, Ed Sullivan Theater, a few blocks from Rockefeller Center, and three blocks south of Central Park.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Apr 10, 2008

Superb Location, Stunning Views

I had a wonderful corner room on the 24th floor with drop-dead-gorgeous views of 7th Avenue and 55th Street. I left the curtains and blinds open, and got to bed later than I should have simply because of the stunning vistas out of both windows. The room was adequate in size, well furnished and even had a tiny kitchenette. My only negative comment is that the bed was a touch hard. I'd just love to spend more time in this hotel, and will return to it whenever I revisit New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The famous Carnegie Deli is just across the street, and virtually all of the attractions of Manhattan - Times Square, Radio City, Rockefeller Center, Park Avenue, Madison Avenue, Lexington Avenue - are just a pleasant walk from the hotel.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MPGEORGE2
Business
SANTA BARBARA,CA.
Jun 7, 2009

I LOVE ORBITZ!

PERFECT LOCATION, MY FIRST TIME TO NYC. THANKS ORBIZT FOR AN UNREAL DEAL!! I TOLD ALL OF MY FRIENDS TO ONLY USE YOUR SERVICE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top