$136 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1356 out of 1356
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Mar 2, 2008

Great Deal and location

The location of the Wellington was very convenient. The Subway was just out the door. Of the few hotels I have stayed at in NY this is by far the best for the price. Hope to visit there again unless I upgrade to Trump Tower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

This is next to everything!!! Subway, Park, Times Square, Broadway.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Sep 2, 2007

Great Location

The Wellington was a great stay for touring the city. It was perfect for visiting Time Square and Central Park. The subway was easily accessible and the hotel staff were very friendly in helping learn the subway system. The Wellington also allows you to enjoy New York on a budget...very cost effective. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for the best location and bang for the buck. I look forward to going back in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Many attractions are in walking distance from the hotel. I would recommend purchasing a Metro Card which will make riding the subway very simple. Train (R) which is right outside of the hotel will take you all the way to Brooklyn all main attractions within walking distance at each subway stop.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Sep 13, 2007

My review of Wellington Hotel

The hotel itself is very nice. My requests for smoking and upgraded room type/location were met on both my visits. Only 1 big issue--cleaning staff: repeatedly entered my room even w/o clean sign hung, Also somehow defeated the chain lock. Staging their carts 24/7 in the hall also very tacky. Aside from that a nice, very fair cost and if you're in NYC for theater it's outside your door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs. Dutchess
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 3, 2009

New York 3

Staff was excellent service was fast check in and check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's 10 minute walk

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joe B. senior person
Business
Inverness Ca.
May 3, 2010

unbelievable location [...]

this was a fantastic stay especially regarding the location for restaurants, theater, transportation(buses and subways) and wonderful to come back to the room and rest up. Friendly and helpful staff was a big plus and also the convenience of an excellent restaurant right in the lobby. Thoroughly enjoyable and would love to do it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TideJCR
Business
Tuscaloosa, AL
Jun 21, 2011

Excellent Location, Clean Room!

The Wellington Hotel is a short walk to Times Square, Central Park, Broadway shows, and excellent restaurants. Plus, there's a subway stop just outside the hotel door. We will absolutely stay at the Wellington again when we travel to NYC. Clean room and spacious for NYC at a good price. You can't beat it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Wellington Hotel is a short walk to Times Square, Central Park, Broadway shows, and excellent restaurants. Plus, there's a subway stop just outside the hotel door. Absolutely will stay at the Wellington again when we travel to NYC.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Aug 28, 2010

my dream vacation

We basically showered and slept there but there was no pool and i'm sure not everyone goes to new york to swim but it would have been relaxing after a long day of walking. the room needed updating, back was coming off nightstand. not many outlets for charging electronics. otherwise great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

take the subway to the harbor lights cruise. it gets you the closest to the statue of liberty without going inside. otherwise staten island ferry is free but the cruise offers so much more. and the statue sits at your heartstrings.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 8, 2007

This was a very ...

This was a very comfortable, safe hotel. Entry to a subway station right on the corner, two blocks from Central Park on the north and just a few blocks from Times Square to the south. Lots of little delis and cafes across the street. The hotel itself was well kept, clean, and the staff was nothing but friendly. Would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you need is within walking distance

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 13, 2008

Close to everyting!

The Wellington Hotel was very handy to everything. The subway, Central Park, Time Square, etc. were all within minutes. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was very nice, clean and affordable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico City
Apr 6, 2010

Great time!!

The hotel is so good, my trip was with my sister and we really enjoyed the hotel, it has a very good location and everything that you need if you go to know and visit the city, it is on a safety street, with many restaurants, entertainment places to go near from there. We found all the staff so friendly, and their restaurant is delicious!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

All the reacreations and attractions are near from the hotel, you just need to walk some blocks, the bus and train station is so near, in the corners, as this hotel is in 7th avenue, you can walk one more block and you are on 5th avenue, so nice!!

Back to menu Return to top