$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1654 out of 1654
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Dec 5, 2010

Good location for any vacation

I arrived very tired and wanted to get to my room for a quick shower.Got there at 11am and had to wait for my room until 3pm.Had to walk to time square to kill time,and get lunch. And the female employee's at the front desk ,don't smile at all.All other employees were nice and fast to respond to any request,like getting ice,ect.. Other then that,I enjoyed my stay,and the city as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

I enjoyed the night clubs,shows,food,did some shopping.It's really hard to pick only one.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Visiting sister in NYC
Business
Loveland,CO
May 31, 2009

Very nice

Great locations, small room but had a kick butt view of time square. You really don't spend all that much time in your hotel anyways...so it was perfect, comfortable bed. Close to subways! Would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hilmar
Business
caborojo P.R
Jun 6, 2009

great place and fantastic location

the location is amazing and the rooms are very clean. For the price I think is the better option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

near to time square and everything.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Jun 1, 2010

Expensive but still alright

The location was excellent but the price was rediculous, especially for what looked to be a 50 year old room. Anywhere else in the country this room would go for $70 per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chris O
Business
San Jose, CA
Jul 10, 2009

Welling Hotel Review

This hotel has a super location!!!!! Everytime we wanted to visit a attraction or take a tour or even walk down times square it was no more than a mile walk. Great views of central park from 26th floor. I wish the hotel had a pool the rooms were okay not small not big but for the price I couldn't complain. I will b staying here again!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
W
Business
Hurst, TX.
Jun 2, 2009

Perfect location with friendly staff

average rooms with a great location quiet at night restaurant adjacent was too expensive for us-especially breakfast would stay there again because of the superb location and friendly staff location is a 10!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Street vendors on 53rd and 1 or 2 blocks east of Broadway cooked the best deal in town in the evening. For a cost of $6/person you can eat all the chopped chicken,lamb or beef your heart desires served with rice. Best food and deal in town! PS-don't eat the hot sauce, very hot stuff!!

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beachtripper
Business
Arroyo Grande, CA
Aug 2, 2011

Good location

Went to a seminar and to see Lion King and sightseeing and shopping and it was in a good location. The hotel room had issues. The phone near our bed didn't work. When I thought I would check out of the room on the TV I found that neither TV worked. The hair dryer in the bathroom didn't work, but they did bring another. A small wall was only 10" or less from the toilet so you hit your knees on it. Everything needed a renovation, etc. The staff was nice though and helped whenever we told them about a situation, which was only 2 of the issues since we were too busy to care.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't waste money on the Sky Ride at the Empire State Building. Poor quality photography. It was a jerky ride which I think they tried to make like Star Tours, but the picture wasn't clear and if you were viewing an attraction of the city that you wanted to see, the ride jerked back and forth so that you couldn't focus on it. Bad and expensive.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dee at UT
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 6, 2009

Thank goodness for an upgrade...

The first night, we checked in to a room with a double bed that took up nearly the entire room. The restroom was ridiculously small. It appeared to be a storage closet converted to a room and clearly not for more than 1 person. We were offered an upgrade to a room with 2 single beds, but they only had a smoking one initially. We requested a non-smoking the next day if at all possible. Once we had our upgraded room at no extra cost, the space was double the original room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The best thing about the Wellington is that the subway terminal is right outside the side entrance from check-in. You can go one stop downtown to Times Square or one stop uptown to Central Park/5th Avenue. Also, all of the shows are in/around the area as Broadway cuts diagonally through this part of NYC-Manhattan. We were able to see 2 shows, 2 zoos, Statue of Liberty, Empire State Building, and a whole host of other sites due to the convenient access to the subway. Just request an upgrade ASAP if you booked online.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Well-traveled
Business
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Aug 16, 2010

Wonderful sisters getaway

Great price for location: easy access to subway as I travelled to Coney Island and Flushing during my 3 day stay. Walking distance to theatres, galleries, Time Sq; Central Park, etc. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms are very small but who spends time in room anyway, haven't seen such tiny bathrooms in ages and ac noisy during night! BUT would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely the city that 'never sleeps' and if you love the lights and the noise, this hotel is close to it all.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
New hubby
Business
Salem, OR
Aug 10, 2009

Small room in a great location.

My wife and I stayed at the Wellington for our honeymoon. We had never been to New York before. The room that I booked was terribly small; like smaller than most bedrooms. But then when I talked to the front desk they were happy to move us to a better room the following day free of charge. This made me very pleased of the service. The new room was still small but the view was perfect. Wellington is less than ten blocks from times square and when your looking out the window on the 22nd floor it was even closer which was pretty cool. We kinda got the feeling that all room at Wellington are small(?), maybe because its an older hotel(?). Overall we were pleased with the hotel; the weather on the other hand could have been much better. Dont go to NY the last week of July/first week of August. Actually we only had 2 days of bad weather but those 2 were terrible. The news even confirmed tornado touchdowns in nearby states. There are really no ammentities but we werent really expecting anything fancy; just a place to lay our heads down after a day of sightseeing/fun. Probably wouldnt stay here again but not because of our experience; only because I think I would be willing to spend more money and stay somewhere fancier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top