$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1363 out of 1363
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hbwt
Business
michigan
Feb 20, 2010

Not so great!

We were there on business and we decided to take in a broadway show. We choose Wellington for several reason but mainly because of the ratings. Our last visit we stayed at skyline and we had no complaints. We got what we expected. This time Wellington was less expensive but rated higher so our expectations were high. The room was not completely clean. There was a pile of dirty bath towels left in the closet and a food container left under the bed with food still in it. We got over that. The biggest complaint was the heating unit was on HELL! Called maintenance the first time and he said basically keep the window open as you are doing. We tried to turn on the cool air but it didnt work so we all thought. Well through the night we sweated like hogs. Morning came and one of us was sick as a dog. Called maintenance again and this gentleman solved the problem by turning on the air. He knew how to operate the contraption. It was miserable! Air on air off. Open window close window. One day of touring the city was cancelled and we spent the day nursing a bad cold. We purchased a lot of hot tea from the cafe downstairs and that helped to nurse him back to health. None the less the stay there was not enjoyable and we will be going back to skyline.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jose feijo
Family
portugal
Feb 21, 2010

noise heating UNBEARABLE

price fair, rooms poor, breakfast room tiny for the customer number resulting in lines and stressful service. But above all, the heating system was so NOISY that I couldn't get a single good sleeping night! Every half an hour it start clinging and clanging, to climax as if I had someone in the room hitting with a steel hammer! Complained everyday about it, and the only visit I had from maintenance was when the toilette clogged and spilled over (what a dream week...; to be fair, they acted reapidly on this one). Hotelwise I believe this was one of the most uncomfortable trips I ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sexy shirl
Couples
uk
May 10, 2009

very dissapointed

very dissapointed. we travelled all the way from uk to find that the wellington was overbooked and they sent us to the blakely hotel around the corner

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

never would recommend this hotel to no one

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gravytrain
Family
Montreal, Canada
Sep 26, 2011

Wellington Hotel

The room was small, the bathroom too small, dim lighting, elevators dirty. The only good thing about this hotel is the location. It is rated 3* but should get a 1*.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Old Castle pub on 54th street.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Chicago
Jun 13, 2011

Not Worth It

Location was the only thing positive I have to say. Hotel is old, rooms are tiny even for NY, and the accommodations were bad- extra hard bed, A/C didn't work and bathtub backed up. Had to request room transfer due to the 98 degree heat this past week. Staff was not very friendly, nor seemed to care I had issues in my room. I have stayed at much better for the same price, my advice... keep on searching!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Virginia
Dec 29, 2009

Good location but not for nights sleep

It is fine if you are tolerant of Old and European style, no frills and noise. People slam the hotel room doors at all hours. All of the water pipes are so loud specifically the sink, toilet and showers. There is no soundproofing and therefore sounds like a curse ship horn when someone starts the shower. The room radiator makes it own interesting set of sound effects. It is kind of scary for teens that are used to modern hotel rooms. There was one small door lock. On the plus side they upgraded the room type after asking to a king bed for no additional charge per night. Would have liked a coffee maker in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
San Francisco, CA
Dec 5, 2007

Not a very well=dsciplined management hotel.

Needs pin or clip for emergency party dress hold up but no one likes to help or willing to do anything for us. I just felt so bad for them. Not a very well=dsciplined management hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Feb 8, 2011

Desireable location; undesireable room

While this hotel is located mid-way between Times Square, Central Park and Rockefeller Center, in my opinion the hotel is dingy: shower's water temperature fluctuates rapidly, nearly scalding; window did not seal so there is continuous draft; the closet floor is cluttered with hair, plastic parts, dust balls; if I wasn't already concerned about it, the protesters distributing literature complaining of bed bugs and their abatement makes that hotel pretty creepy... Beyond the hotel's check-in process look a long time and requires being escorted to the room--as though we all haven't found a hotel room before--and the unhappy duty of tipping a guy to leave the room...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park: fun contrast between nature and tall buildings...

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Atlanta, GA
Dec 1, 2009

Dirty place

Nothing was working there. The Air Conditioner was too noisy, the bathtub was dirty and completely clogged and the TV remote control was not working. The room was so dirty that we could not walk wearing socks on the carpet. There were all kind of debris and nasty things under the bed; I think it was never cleaned. The worst experience ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Naples, Florida.
Aug 25, 2009

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly"

Very small room, view ?? to the next window bilding, ugly,old, not even a coffe machine in the bed room. I will never recomend this hotel to anybody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top