$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 1, 2015 Check-out: Feb 2, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
1,441 reviews
What a great holiday

This hotel was perfect. we couldnt believe how grand it was. the location could'nt have been better... See full review

  • shazaboo
  • Jan 19, 2015
Creat location. Clean. Good rate.

The hotel met my expectations. Great location. Clean. See full review

  • Edward Ort
  • Jan 18, 2015
Radiating history from its walls, the Wellington Hotel New York?built in 1901?stands apart from the fast pace of modern city life surrounding it. The plush lobby is decked out in rich tones and intricate murals, while focal chandeliers give the interiors a classical ambience.  If you are here on business, the hotel?s central location and 24-hour business center will cater to your every need. Midtown Manhattan is full of excellent restaurants; gourmets would do well to try the Wellington?s delicious plates of Greek mezze at the Molyvos restaurant, or the Park Cafe's informal all-day dining options.
Key facts
  • 700 guestrooms
  • Two restaurants: Molyvos and Park Cafe
  • 24-hour business center
  • Gift shop
  • Hair salon
  • Multilingual staff
Neighborhood

With Central Park just three blocks away, the Wellington places guests close to a welcoming green space featuring a wide range of activities, including roller skating and boating, on the calm waters of the lake. Every type of cuisine is represented in this neighborhood, with area favorites ranging from Ray’s Pizza on Broadway to The Russian Tea Room on West 57th Street, where visitors can choose from more than 40 types of vodka, or book the facility for a classical afternoon tea. Retail therapy can be found inside the designer stores of 5th Avenue or the dependable establishment of Bloomingdale’s, which combines major lines and fresh labels.

Hints and tips
Some of the rooms have kitchenettes-perfect for hot snacks and downtime after a long day. If you're visiting in November or December, stock up on gifts and Christmas decorations at the Wellington's Christmas Cottage store.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wellington Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Wellington Hotel Rooms

Standard Double -Double
Standard Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee. Note: a third person cannot be accommodated
Deluxe Double-Double
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with two double beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features two flat screen TVs with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, one bathroom; refrigerator and microwave (no utensils). High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Standard Room with One Double Bed
Standard Room with One Double Bed accommodates one or two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • University Club: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi

Dining

Park Cafe
A traditional New York coffee shop,The Park Cafe, which has been welcoming guests for more than 25 years, was recently renovated. Breakfast is served every day beginning at 6:00am. You can also enjoy lunch, dinner and after-theater dining until 1:00am.
Molyvos
Enjoy award winning Mediterranean cuisine at Molyvos. From noon Monday to Friday traditional Greek dishes and grilled fish specialties are served. Saturday and Sunday also offers brunch from 11:00am. Molyvos is located in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1441)

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
1441 out of 1441
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Nov 29, 2007

Over stretched staff

The receptionists were friendly, but way overstretched and overstressed because there were so many tours arriving the night I checked in. The lobby was so crowded it was probably unsafe-- people sitting on the floor everywhere. The wait for the elevator was extremely long-- at least 20-25 minutes before I could get on. The room was adequate, but there was no hot water in the shower the next morning and the excuse was that the hotel was very busy. The concierge directed me to see the gift shop staff to book a ride to the airport, and then the gift shop staff sent me back to the concierge to book a ride. Although the front desk staff were very nice, the other staff members were n't-- probably because they were so stressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

The hotel is in walking distance of 55th and 5th Ave. which is a handy location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville
Jul 24, 2008

close to central park

When we checked in the room was a disaster, bedding thrown all over the floor & had not been cleaned. Also, when we checked in, a room service tray had been placed in the hall. When we left 4 days later the same tray was still in the hall. I guess it was hard for the housekeeper or other staff to pick this up??? That says a lot about the hotels sanitary right there. I would not recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

central park, times square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans, LA
Oct 14, 2009

location not enuff for nice stay

Although we had reserved as a couple, we got a small room with a bed that was less than queen size #940. We requested and got a small room with an adequate queen size bed # 2139. Most inconvenient to repack and change rooms. Both rooms need new paint, new upholstery, clean carpets. Shower caps are only available by request and bath room do not get cleaned. We had stayed at the Wellington in the spring, when we found it adequate, possibly because we had been upgraded to a suite. Conclusion; do not stay at the Wellington. There must be better value in other good locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Jul 27, 2009

Hotel review

Bathroom vanity needed updating. Mirror was too high. Storage cabinet in bathroom was broken. Bed was comfortable. Window view was horrible. LIghts above bed did not work. The radio was all static so alarm was not usable. Tub drain did not work while shower was on; the tub filled with water. Location of hotel was perfect! Bellman/doorman service was excellent and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DFW/TX
Dec 6, 2010

Great Location / Swamp in Room

Great location close to every thing you would want to see or do. Front staff was great and very happy to help with ideas for dinner's and subway info. One problem our room ended up as a swamp the Heater/AC leaked on the carpet the entire 5 days. They took the towels out from under it but did not fix it. Couldn't walk on one side of the small room or you would get your feet wet... Fix the unit and you have a great hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BIBA
Business
Bucharest, Romania
Jul 28, 2010

It only looks good from the outside

The 2010 July was the second trip to NY in . We love the city, simply adore it. We wnet to NY in the winter and stayed at the City Club Hotel. We wanted to change the location, still in Manhattan.The Wellington hotel should have been perfect for us. The real experience was awful.The location is great but it is extremely noisy and the side streets smelled very badly. We booked a standard room, thinking that it should be enough. We were given a very tiny room, with a very noisy and built in the window air conditioning unit. I wanted to upgrade the room and discover that there are several standard rooms' sizes. We got a bigger (normal size) room. I thought that the story had ended there but I was so wrong. The room we were given was on a floor with poor wiring system which could not maintain the consumption in teh rooms so the energy and plugs would go off every 20 - 30 minutes. We were out during the day but it wsa awful during the night. No one from the reception are seem to react, at least by apologizing. I took the situation for 3 days and I have demanded to see the GM of the hotel. The manager of the reception (I have managed to find the same one every time) was the most lacking respect person I have ever met. I will not quote all his answers, I will only say that we ere told that we had dumm luck with the rooms, that he would [...] have us relocated to another hotel (like we were his slaves or something) and that the GM would not be able to see me. I was very tough and persistant and managed to meet both the GM and the Assistant GM. They were truly embarassed with what we had through their hotel (and may I remind you that it was not a cheap one at all) and as a token of respect, they offered us a complimentary stay in a King Size room and reimburse 3 nights.My advice to you. If you choose Wellington, do not choose a standard room and be tough. And expect no minibar, by the way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Oyster Bar - to try it out!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mommygoose
Business
Plymouth, MI
May 13, 2009

Trying to be thrifty in NYC

The hotel was perfect for the NYC trip my travel companion and I wanted to have. Our purpose was to enjoy as many broadway plays as possible and to explore Central Park. The Hotel Wellington was located in a great spot for both. We also wanted to minimize the costs for a hotel when we only wanted to use it to have a place to lay our heads at night. The hotel was fully booked for the weekend we were there and we were fortunate to have our room upgraded to a suite, which included a microwave and a refrigerator. We were able to save even more money by walking to a local market and preparing most of our meals in our room. The hotel is very outdated. Our room did not have air conditioning (which we did not need in the beginning of May. However, the romm was clean, the staff was friendly and responsive and it had the basic necessaties. Earplugs were also helpful since the windows were open at night and NYC is seldom quite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Bring bandaids and several changes of shoes if you plan on doing a lot of walking. The change of shoes helps to change the pressure points so the blisters do not get too bad. Also, we were two women traveling alone and felt safe using the subway and buses during the day. We saved a lot of money by not taking taxi cabs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Otto & Julie
Business
Nashville, TN
Sep 20, 2010

Good hotel for the price/Great Location

Very good for the money. Avoid elevators during peak hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
rochester
Apr 4, 2011

ok

it was just ook

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Nov 9, 2010

Dirty Hotel

Although this hotel was located near Times Square I found it to be dirty and in need of renovation. Also, don't get the breakfast included. It's better and cheaper to do it yourself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top