$272 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 19, 2015 Check-out: May 22, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1478 out of 1478
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eunice
Dec 11, 2008

Not what I thought it would be

I was very disappointed in the room. The rooms were extremely small for the price paid per night. The bathroom was very small with no room at all to get dressed. there was really no extra space in the room to store anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

plenty of things to do within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Home
Sep 14, 2009

A Bit Short

This was my second stay at the Wellington. I returned, obviously, because my experience two years ago was good. Unfortunately, I did no have the same experience this time around. My room was much smaller this time. Apparently, a regular sized mattress would not fit in this very small room. Not only had the mattress been significantly shortened, it sank in the center. It reminded me of one Lucy & Ricky tried to sleep in on their way to California. The staff was friendly and the Park Cafe has good food and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Park Cafe, on site, has good food and service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
In for one day
Business
IN
Apr 14, 2010

Clean but Noisy

Hotel is old and priced low - reason is that the windows are in bad shape and the noise during the night was relentless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Ana
Dec 24, 2008

Tiny room

The staff at the Wellington Hotel was courteous and the location was fantastic (couple blocks from Central Park, Rockefeller Center, and Times Square - 1,2,3 train station right outside the door). Unfortunately, the room was ridiculously small. It was the smallest hotel room we've ever stayed in. Also, the bed linens were sparse, just a sheet and rough felt blanket and a comforter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nixon33
Business
austin, tx
Apr 16, 2010

New York in the Spring

The hotel left a lot to be desired. It needs a remodel in the worst way, it (the hotel) looks to be stuck in the 70's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location for seeing time square or going to the theater

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CT
Dec 9, 2010

Wellington Hotel

Nice hotel, especially the main area. Gets less attractive as you move to rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jun 21, 2009

try to get some sleep

business trip no internet too noisy to sleep very dark room minimal TV channels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
chris and liz
Business
Saratoga Springs, NY
Dec 18, 2010

Outdated Rooms

Close to attractions but the room was dirty and had a very old decore and the matress was old and lumpy.It was the type of room that you were not happy to go back to after a long day of sightseeing. You get what you pay for so next time I will not be staying there. The staff was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel coffee shop had a great breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DFW/TX
Dec 6, 2010

Great Location / Swamp in Room

Great location close to every thing you would want to see or do. Front staff was great and very happy to help with ideas for dinner's and subway info. One problem our room ended up as a swamp the Heater/AC leaked on the carpet the entire 5 days. They took the towels out from under it but did not fix it. Couldn't walk on one side of the small room or you would get your feet wet... Fix the unit and you have a great hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BIBA
Business
Bucharest, Romania
Jul 28, 2010

It only looks good from the outside

The 2010 July was the second trip to NY in . We love the city, simply adore it. We wnet to NY in the winter and stayed at the City Club Hotel. We wanted to change the location, still in Manhattan.The Wellington hotel should have been perfect for us. The real experience was awful.The location is great but it is extremely noisy and the side streets smelled very badly. We booked a standard room, thinking that it should be enough. We were given a very tiny room, with a very noisy and built in the window air conditioning unit. I wanted to upgrade the room and discover that there are several standard rooms' sizes. We got a bigger (normal size) room. I thought that the story had ended there but I was so wrong. The room we were given was on a floor with poor wiring system which could not maintain the consumption in teh rooms so the energy and plugs would go off every 20 - 30 minutes. We were out during the day but it wsa awful during the night. No one from the reception are seem to react, at least by apologizing. I took the situation for 3 days and I have demanded to see the GM of the hotel. The manager of the reception (I have managed to find the same one every time) was the most lacking respect person I have ever met. I will not quote all his answers, I will only say that we ere told that we had dumm luck with the rooms, that he would [...] have us relocated to another hotel (like we were his slaves or something) and that the GM would not be able to see me. I was very tough and persistant and managed to meet both the GM and the Assistant GM. They were truly embarassed with what we had through their hotel (and may I remind you that it was not a cheap one at all) and as a token of respect, they offered us a complimentary stay in a King Size room and reimburse 3 nights.My advice to you. If you choose Wellington, do not choose a standard room and be tough. And expect no minibar, by the way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Oyster Bar - to try it out!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top