$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
1,409 reviews
Great location, great staff!!!!

This hotel is in a perfect location, and the staff makes you feel home!!!! See full review

  • Antonio from Mex
  • Nov 19, 2014
perfect location, clean..

what a perfect location, bit dated, however clean, great staff...good internet. See full review

  • Okanjo mike
  • Oct 14, 2014
Radiating history from its walls, the Wellington Hotel New York?built in 1901?stands apart from the fast pace of modern city life surrounding it. The plush lobby is decked out in rich tones and intricate murals, while focal chandeliers give the interiors a classical ambience.  If you are here on business, the hotel?s central location and 24-hour business center will cater to your every need. Midtown Manhattan is full of excellent restaurants; gourmets would do well to try the Wellington?s delicious plates of Greek mezze at the Molyvos restaurant, or the Park Cafe's informal all-day dining options.
Key facts
  • 700 guestrooms
  • Two restaurants: Molyvos and Park Cafe
  • 24-hour business center
  • Gift shop
  • Hair salon
  • Multilingual staff
Neighborhood

With Central Park just three blocks away, the Wellington places guests close to a welcoming green space featuring a wide range of activities, including roller skating and boating, on the calm waters of the lake. Every type of cuisine is represented in this neighborhood, with area favorites ranging from Ray’s Pizza on Broadway to The Russian Tea Room on West 57th Street, where visitors can choose from more than 40 types of vodka, or book the facility for a classical afternoon tea. Retail therapy can be found inside the designer stores of 5th Avenue or the dependable establishment of Bloomingdale’s, which combines major lines and fresh labels.

Hints and tips
Some of the rooms have kitchenettes-perfect for hot snacks and downtime after a long day. If you're visiting in November or December, stock up on gifts and Christmas decorations at the Wellington's Christmas Cottage store.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wellington Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Wellington Hotel Rooms

Standard Double -Double
Standard Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee. Note: a third person cannot be accommodated
Deluxe Double-Double
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with two double beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features two flat screen TVs with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, one bathroom; refrigerator and microwave (no utensils). High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Standard Room with One Double Bed
Standard Room with One Double Bed accommodates one or two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • University Club: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.4 mi

Dining

Park Cafe
A traditional New York coffee shop,The Park Cafe, which has been welcoming guests for more than 25 years, was recently renovated. Breakfast is served every day beginning at 6:00am. You can also enjoy lunch, dinner and after-theater dining until 1:00am.
Molyvos
Enjoy award winning Mediterranean cuisine at Molyvos. From noon Monday to Friday traditional Greek dishes and grilled fish specialties are served. Saturday and Sunday also offers brunch from 11:00am. Molyvos is located in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1409)

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
1409 out of 1409
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
1aunt
Beaver falls, pa
Aug 21, 2013

fantastic family getaway

The staff and room were wonderful. The location is perfect because it is within walking distance to out favorite spots and a subway access very close for other excursions. Will definitely return soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Jun 25, 2007

My review of Wellington Hotel

We were very pleased with the Wellington. The location was great! The staff was great at check in and we were very pleased with our room. The room appeared to have been redecorated recently. The only complaint we had was we didn't have a closet to hang clothes, but adequate drawer space. We felt the Wellington was a good value for the money we would definitely recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We enjoyed going to the famous Carnegie deli which was right across the street! Be sure to try the open face corn beef, it is awesome! The Wellington is located in the theater district, so we enjoyed the short walk to the theaters in the evening.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alexandria, LA
May 4, 2008

25th anniversary gettaway

OUr stay at the Wellington exceeded our expectations.It was very clean, friendly and in a good location. I would recommend it to anyone for whatever reason.it was close to a lot of attractions we were interested in seeing. close to the tour buses and subway. We were able to walk to Rockerfella Center and other attractions. I was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Little Rock, AR
May 1, 2007

Perfect Location!

My stay at the Wellington was great. At 55th and 7th... it's located only a few blocks from everything! Central Park is only 2 or 3 blocks to the North, with a great little Greek food vendor on the way, perfect for a lunch in the park! Time Square is right down the street, with Theaters just within 5 minutes walk! The Carnagie Deli is across the street with the most gigantic pastrami sandwiches you can imagine! There's the NRQW Subway right outside the 7th Street exit that'll take you anywhere Uptown or Downtown you could care to go! 5th Avenue is a short walk away, so you can shop til you drop or for a quieter jaunt, slip into Joseph Patelson Music House, a great little music store on 56th street! The rooms are small, but comfortable. Considering what little time is spent in the room...it's perfect. Complete with a closet, an ironing board, iron and hairdryer...has pretty much what I needed!! The staff is friendly and very helpful. I highly recommend the Wellington to New York City travellers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park is wonderful on a sunny, warm day...just to take a few moments to relax from the hustle and bustle! Some great photo ops as well!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
snapelu[@]
Business
Charleston,WV
Jun 16, 2009

Room was very crean and friendly staff!

Nice location and very clean room,I got free up-grade to suite room! Just me is too much...and the hotel staff was excellent. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for the best location and bang for the buck. I look forward to going back in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wofeys
Business
Newport Beach, Ca
Jul 1, 2009

great location

great location minutes from time square, but away from the noise close to central park, and tour buses close to great restaurants liked that most of the guests were european loved the wellington only thing that would make it 100% perfect would be if they had a small coffee maker in the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

many restaurants to chose from

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
The Netherlands, Europe
Aug 27, 2009

Fantastic hotel!

The hotel was great! When we arrived, the bedlight wasn't working, so we called the reception, and they came within 5 minutes! Everything looked great, they were cleaning the room every day. As for the location, it coudn't get any better. 10 minutes to times square, 5 minutes to central park, 5 minutes to 5th avenue! We really enjoyed our stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Woodbury's common shopping! An outlet where you'll find Chanel, Prada, Dolce & Gabbana, and other stores, for less money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
G ZUZ
Business
Wales
Dec 31, 2009

Awesome!!

Great location, 2 minute walk to central park and Columbus circle, 5 minute walk to Times Square. Carnegie Deli across the street is fantastic. Hotel was spotless and staff very helpful. Strongly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Burger Joint best kept secret in new york.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lauralemon
Business
london
Jan 7, 2010

Wellington Hotel well worth it!!

We stayed at the wellington hotel over the new year and couldn't find any faults with it we were given a free upgrade in room without asking and the staf were very helpful and always enough staff on so there wasn't much waiting around to be seen! Location wise it is fantastic!! Walk out the main doors and you are a 2 second walk to Central Park and a 5 min walk in the other direction you are in times square you are 5 mins from rockerfeller centre 15 mins from empire state we didn't get a taxi anywhere apart from statue of liberty! you are on top of everything without having the noise outside your window! When we checked out our luggage was looked after and we were asked if we wanted a car to the airport which was great! Would defo stay here again and would recommend it to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant under the empire state building was fab and normal portions unlike everywhere else!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEW ORLEANS,LA
Jan 8, 2010

MERRY CHRISTMAS IN NEW YORK

VERY COLD !!!!!! WOULD LIKE TO GO BACK IN THE SPRING OF 2011. WOULD LIKE TO SEE A YANKEE BASEBALL GAME. I ENJOYED MYSELF WOULD LOVE TO GO BACK TO THE WELLINGTON HOTEL !!!GREAT PALCE TO STAY!!!!! THANKS FOR THE HELP !!!!GOOD JOB!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chave
Business
Minneapolis , MN
Jun 29, 2010

Wellington

We did a variety of tourist activites, shopping, theatre, museums, tours and fabulous lunches and dinners. This was a wonderful trip I cannot wait to return! The city was unusually clean and we felt very safe no matter what time of day. This hotel was in a perfect location with wonderful service ,I would reccomend this to anyone ! Loved Molyvos restaurant attached to the lobby , charming wonderful service and great food, perfect place for a night cap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Theatre District-- choose any play build in time to linger at the small restaurants and beautiful patios or parks. This is not expensive if you get the 1/2 price tickets in the am in Times Square (long lines but they move fast -- 60 min. )

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top