$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
2,122 reviews
Beautiful hotel!!

First trip to New York! The hotel was beautiful with nice large rooms. Very clean!! We were able to... See full review

  • Letterman Fan
  • Jul 21, 2014
Excellent value for money

Good location, friendly staff. Allows you to walk to everything that is worth seeing. See full review

  • LeoSV
  • Jul 16, 2014
Radiating history from its walls, the Wellington Hotel New York?built in 1901?stands apart from the fast pace of modern city life surrounding it. The plush lobby is decked out in rich tones and intricate murals, while focal chandeliers give the interiors a classical ambience.  If you are here on business, the hotel?s central location and 24-hour business center will cater to your every need. Midtown Manhattan is full of excellent restaurants; gourmets would do well to try the Wellington?s delicious plates of Greek mezze at the Molyvos restaurant, or the Park Cafe's informal all-day dining options.
Key facts
  • 700 guestrooms
  • Two restaurants: Molyvos and Park Cafe
  • 24-hour business center
  • Gift shop
  • Hair salon
  • Multilingual staff
Neighborhood

With Central Park just three blocks away, the Wellington places guests close to a welcoming green space featuring a wide range of activities, including roller skating and boating, on the calm waters of the lake. Every type of cuisine is represented in this neighborhood, with area favorites ranging from Ray’s Pizza on Broadway to The Russian Tea Room on West 57th Street, where visitors can choose from more than 40 types of vodka, or book the facility for a classical afternoon tea. Retail therapy can be found inside the designer stores of 5th Avenue or the dependable establishment of Bloomingdale’s, which combines major lines and fresh labels.

Hints and tips
Some of the rooms have kitchenettes-perfect for hot snacks and downtime after a long day. If you're visiting in November or December, stock up on gifts and Christmas decorations at the Wellington's Christmas Cottage store.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7644 -73.9807
Area served
New York, Manhattan
Nearby airports
J.F.K., LaGuardia, and Newark airports
Area description
Centrally located in Midtown Manhattan, the Wellington Hotel is steps to Carnegie Hall, City Center, Central Park and Broadway, New York's celebrated Theatre District. Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center, Times Square and the Museum of Radio and Television are within easy walking distance. Equally accessible are the United Nations, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Jacob K. Javitis Convention Center. Fortune 500 headquarters and many corporate offices are nearby as are a variety of fine dining and world famous restaurants. Public Transportation is at our door and can take you in minutes to the Statue of Liberty, Wall Street, South Street Seaport, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim Museum, Museum of Natural History, Intrepid Air and Space Museum and Yankee and Shea Stadiums

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wellington Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Wellington Hotel Rooms

Standard Double -Double
Standard Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee. Note: a third person cannot be accommodated
Deluxe Double-Double
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with two double beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features two flat screen TVs with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, one bathroom; refrigerator and microwave (no utensils). High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Standard Room with One Double Bed
Standard Room with One Double Bed accommodates one or two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • University Club: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.4 mi

Dining

Park Cafe
A traditional New York coffee shop,The Park Cafe, which has been welcoming guests for more than 25 years, was recently renovated. Breakfast is served every day beginning at 6:00am. You can also enjoy lunch, dinner and after-theater dining until 1:00am.
Molyvos
Enjoy award winning Mediterranean cuisine at Molyvos. From noon Monday to Friday traditional Greek dishes and grilled fish specialties are served. Saturday and Sunday also offers brunch from 11:00am. Molyvos is located in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (2122)

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
2122 out of 2122
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bellbrook, Ohio
Jul 1, 2009

great location!

Stay was great. Tried to book for another date but was unable to get information about booking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Apr 10, 2008

Superb Location, Stunning Views

I had a wonderful corner room on the 24th floor with drop-dead-gorgeous views of 7th Avenue and 55th Street. I left the curtains and blinds open, and got to bed later than I should have simply because of the stunning vistas out of both windows. The room was adequate in size, well furnished and even had a tiny kitchenette. My only negative comment is that the bed was a touch hard. I'd just love to spend more time in this hotel, and will return to it whenever I revisit New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The famous Carnegie Deli is just across the street, and virtually all of the attractions of Manhattan - Times Square, Radio City, Rockefeller Center, Park Avenue, Madison Avenue, Lexington Avenue - are just a pleasant walk from the hotel.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Loubo
Wales, UK
Feb 3, 2012

Great NYC Experience

From check in to departure we had a very good stay at the hotel. We were a party of 4 in one room and were very pleasantly surprised with the size of our room. 2 bathrooms made things much easier. The view of Central Park from the room was fantastic! The staff were great, housekeeping was excellent. The location of the hotel was suburb. A stone's throw from both Central Park and Times Square with subway stations near by. We caught the train in from JFK and only walked a block to the hotel. Great hotel for our long weekend. Just what we wanted. Would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tulsa, OK
Jul 16, 2009

Great hotel for tourists!

Wanted to be in the heart of NYC and the Wellington is walking distance from lots of major destinations...central park, rockefeller plaza, broadway, museums, time square, 5th avenue, etc. Great staff and comfortable rooms too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dayton, OH
May 13, 2008

Wonderful NYC location

We stayed a week at the Wellington Hotel, and it was the perfect location for seeing the city. We had a very good and reasonable dining area, proximity to the City Tour buses (two blocks), excellent service from check-in to check-out, and our corner room gave us views of 7th Avenue as well as 56th STreet and a peek of Broadway. Several good eating places in the two block area, all types and prices. It is an older hotel, but in great shape, and small but nice rooms. We loved it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Next to Carnegie Hall, two blocks from Lindy's, Ed Sullivan Theater, a few blocks from Rockefeller Center, and three blocks south of Central Park.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit
Jul 13, 2010

Perfect location and price

Very peaceful and perfect location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the Metro and walk

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TideJCR
Tuscaloosa, AL
Jun 21, 2011

Excellent Location, Clean Room!

The Wellington Hotel is a short walk to Times Square, Central Park, Broadway shows, and excellent restaurants. Plus, there's a subway stop just outside the hotel door. We will absolutely stay at the Wellington again when we travel to NYC. Clean room and spacious for NYC at a good price. You can't beat it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Wellington Hotel is a short walk to Times Square, Central Park, Broadway shows, and excellent restaurants. Plus, there's a subway stop just outside the hotel door. Absolutely will stay at the Wellington again when we travel to NYC.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joe B. senior person
Inverness Ca.
May 3, 2010

unbelievable location [...]

this was a fantastic stay especially regarding the location for restaurants, theater, transportation(buses and subways) and wonderful to come back to the room and rest up. Friendly and helpful staff was a big plus and also the convenience of an excellent restaurant right in the lobby. Thoroughly enjoyable and would love to do it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jane, the traveler
Columbus, Ohio
Sep 9, 2010

New York --Wellington Hotel

We saw two shows, ate at wonderful restaurants, and attended two sessions of the US Open. The Wellington is in a great location and, although very busy with tour groups, our stay was pleasant. We ate breakfast at the coffee shop in the hotel. They move everyone in and out in no time so the wait is never long and the food is good. The girls at the registration desk were very nice and welcoming. We enjoyed our stay there very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are restaurants galore in New York so you can walk, take a subway, bus, or taxi to any of the 20,000 or so.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cleveland, OH
May 27, 2007

speak up about room size

At first they put us in a super tiny room. I would not have been able to exit the standard bed from my side of the room. It was up against the wall. Upon immediately seeing this; I told the bellboy this was unacceptable. He immediately called the front desk and had the room changed for us. The room was very nice and large. I was just wondering though if I hadnt said anything we would have ended up in that closet sized room. That makes me very uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

walking distance to TIMES SQUARE. sTORES and restaurants everywhere. 2 blocks from central park.

Back to menu Return to top