$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
1,416 reviews
Great location, great staff!!!!

This hotel is in a perfect location, and the staff makes you feel home!!!! See full review

  • Antonio from Mex
  • Nov 19, 2014
perfect location, clean..

what a perfect location, bit dated, however clean, great staff...good internet. See full review

  • Okanjo mike
  • Oct 14, 2014
Radiating history from its walls, the Wellington Hotel New York?built in 1901?stands apart from the fast pace of modern city life surrounding it. The plush lobby is decked out in rich tones and intricate murals, while focal chandeliers give the interiors a classical ambience.  If you are here on business, the hotel?s central location and 24-hour business center will cater to your every need. Midtown Manhattan is full of excellent restaurants; gourmets would do well to try the Wellington?s delicious plates of Greek mezze at the Molyvos restaurant, or the Park Cafe's informal all-day dining options.
Key facts
  • 700 guestrooms
  • Two restaurants: Molyvos and Park Cafe
  • 24-hour business center
  • Gift shop
  • Hair salon
  • Multilingual staff
Neighborhood

With Central Park just three blocks away, the Wellington places guests close to a welcoming green space featuring a wide range of activities, including roller skating and boating, on the calm waters of the lake. Every type of cuisine is represented in this neighborhood, with area favorites ranging from Ray’s Pizza on Broadway to The Russian Tea Room on West 57th Street, where visitors can choose from more than 40 types of vodka, or book the facility for a classical afternoon tea. Retail therapy can be found inside the designer stores of 5th Avenue or the dependable establishment of Bloomingdale’s, which combines major lines and fresh labels.

Hints and tips
Some of the rooms have kitchenettes-perfect for hot snacks and downtime after a long day. If you're visiting in November or December, stock up on gifts and Christmas decorations at the Wellington's Christmas Cottage store.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wellington Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Wellington Hotel Rooms

Standard Double -Double
Standard Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee. Note: a third person cannot be accommodated
Deluxe Double-Double
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with two double beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features two flat screen TVs with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, one bathroom; refrigerator and microwave (no utensils). High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Standard Room with One Double Bed
Standard Room with One Double Bed accommodates one or two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • University Club: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.4 mi

Dining

Park Cafe
A traditional New York coffee shop,The Park Cafe, which has been welcoming guests for more than 25 years, was recently renovated. Breakfast is served every day beginning at 6:00am. You can also enjoy lunch, dinner and after-theater dining until 1:00am.
Molyvos
Enjoy award winning Mediterranean cuisine at Molyvos. From noon Monday to Friday traditional Greek dishes and grilled fish specialties are served. Saturday and Sunday also offers brunch from 11:00am. Molyvos is located in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1416)

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
1416 out of 1416
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Haven, CT
Jun 13, 2007

Great resturant next door.

Great deli sandwiches next door at the Park Cafe . Also, had great breakfasts and dinners .Prices not bad for NYC . If i am in the city again I would stay at the Wellington .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Nov 21, 2007

Business in NY style

the Hotel was comfortable an well located a short walk from Broadway and Times Sqr. The room was comfortable with a en suite bathroom . the Main room contained a Queen bed table and unit that held a 20 TV. there was also a small desk. The wireless network was very good . All in all a very nice boutique hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Merry Wanderer
Business
Mississippi
May 16, 2009

Best kept secret in Midtown Manhatten

I have stayed at the Wellington about 10 times. I have tried other hotels but always come back to the Wellington. I won't stray again! It is a great location, a few blocks from Central Park. The Theatre District and Rockefeller Center are not that far so are walkable. The subway is right at the hotel. Many great deli's close by and Fluffy's Cafe and Bakery in the next block is a daily stop for me. Bagels, black and white cookies, pastries, sandwiches, breakfast, etc. and their staff is great. There is a restaurant connected to the Wellington. Sorry, the name escapes me but it has a variety of foods and the service is very good. The staff at the Wellington-reception, bellboys, and housekeepers- are very helpful and friendly. I had a bathroom problem and it was fixed immediately. The Wellington also has their own transportation vehicles. I don't know if they pick up at the airport. I took it back to the airport and it was a good ride. My new experiences for this trip: the New York Public Library has a free tour at 11 am and at 2pm. It is well worth the hour it lasts. Also their gift shop is one of the best I have seen. I also found the MOMA Design store on 53rd St and it has some of the neatest and most useful products for sale.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 27, 2008

Location

The best part of the hotel was the location. we could walk to almost every neighborhood we wanted to visit and if the distance was further than what we wanted to walk, it was a quick cab ride. The room wasn't anything fancy but who stays in the hotel when in NYC anyway?!!?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

between Central Park and Time Square/Theater district

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico, DF.
Oct 11, 2009

I Loved visitingNY from Wellington Hotel

I loved visiting New York. I visited many places of interest along Manhattan. I enjoyed my Stay a lot. The only thing that I miss on the trip was my husband, he could not travel with me as it was suppoused to be, so it was not the same without him. But anyway my Stay was great. I hope the next time we can travel together and show him New York and all the wonderfull thing that I´ve seen .[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to go to dinner in New York and you are Staying at the wellington Hotel, you can`t miss a dinner at the Italian Restorant that is located at 900 Seventh Avenue at 57st.Just across the street from the Carnagie Hall. It´s name is "Trattoria dellárte" They have a sea food bar full of delicious meal and a lot of excelent Italian dishes so there is no way that you don´t find something that you like. Go there and enjoy the excelent ambiance and a delicious meal. The prices are great for the quality they have.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 13, 2008

Close to everyting!

The Wellington Hotel was very handy to everything. The subway, Central Park, Time Square, etc. were all within minutes. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was very nice, clean and affordable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico City
Apr 6, 2010

Great time!!

The hotel is so good, my trip was with my sister and we really enjoyed the hotel, it has a very good location and everything that you need if you go to know and visit the city, it is on a safety street, with many restaurants, entertainment places to go near from there. We found all the staff so friendly, and their restaurant is delicious!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

All the reacreations and attractions are near from the hotel, you just need to walk some blocks, the bus and train station is so near, in the corners, as this hotel is in 7th avenue, you can walk one more block and you are on 5th avenue, so nice!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Nov 16, 2009

Great at $189++

Big difference between the first room they gave us on the 6th floor and the next one on the 25th floor. Like night and day. Refrig/microwave (but no coffee and pot), small marble bathroom w/ hairdryer. Even a door out to a large balcony. The location is great and the staff is happy and friendly. Very happy with this 3 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fluffy's beats the adjacent deli prices. PAX Wholesome Foods is great too. Chinese restaurant at 50th near 8th is a great bargain too. $10 for full meal. Adjacent to the Duane Reade.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Jun 24, 2007

Great servic

I got to the hotel at 9 am (checkin time is 3 pm). Not only was I able to get my room, but they upgraded me to a suite. The room was very clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. I will definitely stay at the Wellington again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jane, the traveler
Business
Powell, Ohio
Nov 16, 2009

A brief visit ti the Big Apple

[...] It was very roomy and comfortable. The location is convenient to everything and it was no trouble finding taxis. There's a coffee shop in the hotel and they had very fast service so you were in and out in no time. The hotel was very busy and a little noisy but that caused no problems. Even though it rained off and on all day Saturday, it didn't dampen our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Stage Door Deli and many other restaurants are closeby as are the stores, museums, etc. It's a great location for everything!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top