Wellington Hotel

3 stars
871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
1,409 reviews
Great location, great staff!!!!

This hotel is in a perfect location, and the staff makes you feel home!!!! See full review

  • Antonio from Mex
  • Nov 19, 2014
perfect location, clean..

what a perfect location, bit dated, however clean, great staff...good internet. See full review

  • Okanjo mike
  • Oct 14, 2014
Radiating history from its walls, the Wellington Hotel New York?built in 1901?stands apart from the fast pace of modern city life surrounding it. The plush lobby is decked out in rich tones and intricate murals, while focal chandeliers give the interiors a classical ambience.  If you are here on business, the hotel?s central location and 24-hour business center will cater to your every need. Midtown Manhattan is full of excellent restaurants; gourmets would do well to try the Wellington?s delicious plates of Greek mezze at the Molyvos restaurant, or the Park Cafe's informal all-day dining options.
Key facts
  • 700 guestrooms
  • Two restaurants: Molyvos and Park Cafe
  • 24-hour business center
  • Gift shop
  • Hair salon
  • Multilingual staff
Neighborhood

With Central Park just three blocks away, the Wellington places guests close to a welcoming green space featuring a wide range of activities, including roller skating and boating, on the calm waters of the lake. Every type of cuisine is represented in this neighborhood, with area favorites ranging from Ray’s Pizza on Broadway to The Russian Tea Room on West 57th Street, where visitors can choose from more than 40 types of vodka, or book the facility for a classical afternoon tea. Retail therapy can be found inside the designer stores of 5th Avenue or the dependable establishment of Bloomingdale’s, which combines major lines and fresh labels.

Hints and tips
Some of the rooms have kitchenettes-perfect for hot snacks and downtime after a long day. If you're visiting in November or December, stock up on gifts and Christmas decorations at the Wellington's Christmas Cottage store.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Wellington Hotel Rooms

Standard Double -Double
Standard Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee. Note: a third person cannot be accommodated
Deluxe Double-Double
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with two double beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features two flat screen TVs with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, one bathroom; refrigerator and microwave (no utensils). High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Standard Room with One Double Bed
Standard Room with One Double Bed accommodates one or two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Map

40.7644 -73.9807
Area served
New York, Manhattan
Nearby airports
J.F.K., LaGuardia, and Newark airports
Area description
Centrally located in Midtown Manhattan, the Wellington Hotel is steps to Carnegie Hall, City Center, Central Park and Broadway, New York's celebrated Theatre District. Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center, Times Square and the Museum of Radio and Television are within easy walking distance. Equally accessible are the United Nations, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Jacob K. Javitis Convention Center. Fortune 500 headquarters and many corporate offices are nearby as are a variety of fine dining and world famous restaurants. Public Transportation is at our door and can take you in minutes to the Statue of Liberty, Wall Street, South Street Seaport, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim Museum, Museum of Natural History, Intrepid Air and Space Museum and Yankee and Shea Stadiums

Nearby points of interest

  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • University Club: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.4 mi

Dining

Park Cafe
A traditional New York coffee shop,The Park Cafe, which has been welcoming guests for more than 25 years, was recently renovated. Breakfast is served every day beginning at 6:00am. You can also enjoy lunch, dinner and after-theater dining until 1:00am.
Molyvos
Enjoy award winning Mediterranean cuisine at Molyvos. From noon Monday to Friday traditional Greek dishes and grilled fish specialties are served. Saturday and Sunday also offers brunch from 11:00am. Molyvos is located in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1409)

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
1409 out of 1409
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BG Artist
Business
Wilmington, NC
May 11, 2014

Wonderful Stay in NYC

We and our friends enjoyed our stay at The Wellington. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially Judd the Bellman. The rooms were small, but nicely appointed and the bed comfortable. The location of the hotel is excellent. Within blocks of Times Square and Central Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All the restaurants we ate at were very good and an enjoyable dining experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BostonTraveler09
Business
Boston
May 6, 2014

Wellington Hotel

My room was very comfortable, I was traveling for business and pleasure so I had a lot of different electronics and reading materials, plenty of table space to spread out my stuff. Bed and pillows were very comfortable. Big closet. The hotel was central to everything I wanted access to during my trip, Time Square, museums, shopping and Central Park. Only downside, my toilet would not flush. The maintenance stuff responded immediately to fix it, but there solution did not last. Fortunately this was on the last night of my trip, but still very inconvenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DebRN
Business
Maine
May 6, 2014

Weekend to see Broadway shows

The location in Times Square is within walking distance to all Broadway shows. Staff was great, very efficient and room was clean and comfortable. When in New York, you want to be close to all the things that you planned to see. Subway right there, and being on 7th ave, cabs were easy to catch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Tkts is where you want to get fix for shows, even the night of the show. Great discounts., Get there early for good seats,.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
landmbolduc
Business
Holden Beach, NC
May 6, 2014

Weekend away with friends.

The location of the Wellington was great!!! Lots a great restaurants close!! The rooms were small, the bath towels were very thin, the lobby was crowded and very little places to sit. No bar in the hotel, except in the Greek restaurant and it closed early. Would stay again, though as this location was great!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Europa Café across the road, has wonderful food and great crepes!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mass Casual Gambler
Business
Marlborough, MA.
May 5, 2014

Weekend getaway

The front desk staff was a little unfriendly but not too bad for NY. I was surprised that parking was $35/day and that we needed to pay for internet access. Usually those are included in hotel prices that I've stayed. We got a suite and while the rooms were nice, from the pictures I thought it would be one big room instead it was two rooms separated by a small hallway. It would be okay if there were more people staying but I booked the suite because I knew that NY hotel rooms are on the smaller side and I wanted more space. We really couldn't beat the location. 5-10 min walk to Times Sq. or Central Park. I probably wouldn't stay here again but it was an enjoyable stay nonetheless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

plenty of great dining everywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rodger B
Business
Los Gatos, CA
May 3, 2014

Wellington

The hotel is simple and clean but not fancy. The staff are good. I stay there for my business trips. The price is cheap. I did have a problem with the heat not working in my room but that's not really a problem for me. The bed is comfy and there are lots of pillows. You don't really want to spend time in your room anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Blue Smoke for ribs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carpel113
Business
Maryland
Apr 30, 2014

Wonderful stay

The staff was very friendly! We were upgraded to a suite n our room was ready way before 3 pm. The hotel is perfectly situated between Times Square and Central Park. The only downside was the morning construction noises

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scoobybutters
Business
Ormond Beach, FL
Apr 25, 2014

A Great Value

As long as u r not trying to impress somebody with how chic and cool that u r, this hotel is perfect as its only drawback is it is WORN out... But clean 7.5 out of a 10, and evrything else is a 9 or 10. So if u r in a secure relationship and u want the perfect location with larger than average rooms for NYC (as i have stayed in seversl hotels in NYC the last several years) and a GREAT value, this is the place. I will stay here again, the next time with my VERY attractive and sought after fiance.......If u want to impress, then u simply pay 3 times the price at a renown hotel......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Broadway and off Broadway shows r a 10 minute walk...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
benurit7
Business
israel
Apr 18, 2014

wellington hotel - great hotel

the staff was very kind and helpful! the room was very clean and organized ! great location !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

apple store!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John Foley
Business
Saint Paul
Apr 16, 2014

Old World Charm - Right Next to Carnegie Hall

As an experienced/budget traveler, loved my stay in this charming old-world hotel. Simple small room at a great price for NYC. Carpet was old and room was small, but I was out in the city too much to care. Room was very clean and the water pressure in the shower was high volume and perfectly relaxing. Marble floors and décor...Park Café diner in same building was awesome. Coffee, toast, egg, bacon and potatoes for about $12. 2 blocks from Central Park; walked to the Met Opera and every art museum. Staff cozy. You have to pay for internet. I didn't complain but told the ladies that they must take grief for that lack of consideration and that I wasn't going to shoot the messenger AND I understood she wasn't at fault (check-in lady); she then was gracious and gave the Wi-Fi code for the entire 5-day stay. They fixed my clogging sink and I had a quiet room on the inside...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Greek restaurant stuff meatballs were so good, my eyes watered with delight.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top