$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2014 Check-out: May 12, 2014

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
1,343 reviews
Old World Charm - Right Next to Carnegie Hall

As an experienced/budget traveler, loved my stay in this charming old-world hotel. Simple small... See full review

  • John Foley
  • Apr 16, 2014
better than expected!!!

For our first time in NYC.. we didn't know what to expect. The location was amazing, down the... See full review

  • qbolt
  • Apr 3, 2014
Classic comfort in the heart of Midtown
The Wellington Hotel's classic style and location close to many attractions, restaurants and theatres make this a popular choice. Just three blocks south of Central Park, five blocks north of Radio City Music Hall and Rockefeller Center, the Wellington is within easy walking distance of all Broadway theaters, museums, many restaurants of different styles and cuisines and Times Square. The Art Deco lobby and classically decorated rooms provide a warm atmosphere. All suites have a refrigerator and microwave, making the Wellington perfect for business and family travel. The smoke-free property also provides on-site services including 24-hour business center, hairdresser and two gift shops.
Highlights
  • All suites (and some rooms) have a refrigerator and microwave.
  • Walk to Braodway theatres, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, New York City Center and much more.
Location

Popular stores such as the Apple Store and American Girl Place are within a short walk and the David Letterman Show is just two blocks.

Rooms
The Wellington Hotel has 700 rooms including 85 one-bedroom suites. In-room amenities include Wi-Fi access (fee applies), flat-screen TV with Pay Per View movies, clock radio, hair dryer and iron/ironing board.
Features
There are three on-site gift shops. The Piccolo Gift Shop on the lobby level offer snacks and souvenirs as well as theatre tickets, sightseeing and airport transportation.
Dining
  • Molyvos, located on the lobby level, offers Greet cuisine for lunch and dinner from 12 noon, Monday to Friday. In addition, on Saturday and Sunday brunch starts at 11am (1130am in July and August).
  • The Park Cafe serves breakfast, lunch, dinner and after-theatre snacks from 6am to 1am every day.
  • Room Service is available from 6am to 12midnight every day.
  • There are more than 100 restaurants within a seven-minute walk including the Carnegie Deli, known for its enormous sandwiches, is across the street.
Transportation
  • Parking: Valet parking for standard size cars is $35 for 24 hours; $45 for oversized vehicles.
  • Subway: N, R, Q right outside the 55th Street entrance; E two short blocks; F one block.
  • Bus: 7, 20, 104 across the street; 31, 57 on 57th Street at Seventh Avenue.
Attractions
  • Theatre District - all Broadway theaters are within walking distance
  • Carnegie Hall
  • Central Park
  • David Letterman Show
  • Good Morning America
  • MoMA (Museum of Modern Art)
  • New York City Center
  • Radio City Music Hall
  • Rockefeller Center
  • TODAY
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • In-room WiFi ($4.99 for 1 hour; $11.99 for up to 24 hours; $24.99 for up to 72 hours; $39.99 for up to 120 hours.
  • Send or receive faxes at the front desk (fees may apply)

Wellington Hotel Rooms

Standard Double -Double
Standard Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee. Note: a third person cannot be accommodated
Deluxe Double-Double
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with two double beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features two flat screen TVs with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, one bathroom; refrigerator and microwave (no utensils). High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Standard Room with One Double Bed
Standard Room with One Double Bed accommodates one or two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wellington Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7644 -73.9807
Area served
New York, Manhattan
Nearby airports
J.F.K., LaGuardia, and Newark airports
Area description
Centrally located in Midtown Manhattan, the Wellington Hotel is steps to Carnegie Hall, City Center, Central Park and Broadway, New York's celebrated Theatre District. Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center, Times Square and the Museum of Radio and Television are within easy walking distance. Equally accessible are the United Nations, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Jacob K. Javitis Convention Center. Fortune 500 headquarters and many corporate offices are nearby as are a variety of fine dining and world famous restaurants. Public Transportation is at our door and can take you in minutes to the Statue of Liberty, Wall Street, South Street Seaport, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim Museum, Museum of Natural History, Intrepid Air and Space Museum and Yankee and Shea Stadiums

Nearby points of interest

  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • University Club: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.4 mi

Dining

Park Cafe
A traditional New York coffee shop,The Park Cafe, which has been welcoming guests for more than 25 years, was recently renovated. Breakfast is served every day beginning at 6:00am. You can also enjoy lunch, dinner and after-theater dining until 1:00am.
Molyvos
Enjoy award winning Mediterranean cuisine at Molyvos. From noon Monday to Friday traditional Greek dishes and grilled fish specialties are served. Saturday and Sunday also offers brunch from 11:00am. Molyvos is located in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1343)

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
1343 out of 1343
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Fitton family
New York
Nov 3, 2013

Wellington Hotel NY

Ideal location for exploring New York, Five minutes from Times Square and Central Park, Underground station outside the door, making travel easy. First class!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Carneys Bar excellent food.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Mark Mark Mark
Schenectady, NY
Jan 17, 2014

Better than I expected

I stayed at the Wellington 2 years ago and found the location ideal for my theater going, but the room was average at best. It was dated decor-wise but clean and adequate. I was reluctant to book them this year just because the room was so tired, but it was a great location and a great price so I gave them another try. The room was far nicer this time than the one I had before. I was very pleased. The previous visit I was on a low floor and this time on the 20th. I had a nice view and the room was updated. My only complaint was that there was no free in-room wifi, but they will certainly be on my list of places to stay in the future. Can't beat the location for the theater.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Very Displeased Guest
Washington DC
Jan 14, 2014

Wellington Hotel, NY

I could not let go writing a review for the Wellington hotel that displeased me and unfortunately (for them of course) I am not returning. I was in this hotel for 3 days. Accommodations are suitable, hotel is clean, they even let us check-in an hour early. Room was cleaned every day, bathroom well maintained, BUT…..they messed up in the check-out. Unlike other hotel where you just return your room keys and take off without surprises, when I checked out, the front desk lady “Charlene” told me that I’ve watched 2 movies, each for $16 or $17. I replied several times that we hadn’t watched any movies, never ordered anything to watch and that it was a clear mistake. She had this “no, you watched it, it ran” look, which I did not appreciate at all. They offered to take one off the bill and charge only one (how nice! But I did not buy it) and even showed me a piece of paper with a few lines stating that my room had watched 2 movies. One of them was “Thor, the Dark World” and that it had ran for an hour and 19 minutes. For those who have seen this movie at the theater, it is known that it lasts more than an hour and 19 minutes. So, for a movie over 2 hours that only gets to run an hour and 19 minutes, somehow someone or something must have pressed to pause button at an hour and 19 minutes, but it certainly was not us, or the movie just runs for as long as it wants and then pauses itself. I mean, for a movie that costs $16 I’ll make sure I memorize even the credits at the end of it. So, weird, ok, but that’s not it. This movie, they claimed ran on the last day of our stay in NY precisely at noon. I informed them that regrettably for their report I was in the Cruise Line boat around Manhattan that very same day at, guess what? At noon! I can’t be at two places at the same time. So, who played the movie? Weird, right? Noticing this time conflict, we checked the other movie time, and guess what? Again run time started while we were having dinner in Queens. Weird again! What was going on here? “Let’s call security” she said when realizing that I was not letting get ripped off. The guy from security asked us for the times we left and returned to the room for the days of the supposed movies, and to their surprise the times checked out fine, we were not in the room, so they removed the movie charges. Next to us, we heard another lady (we could tell she could not speak English very well) that replied several times over “pero, yo no he visto ninguna pelicula”; that means “but I have not seen any movie” in Spanish. They did not make the same security check for her, she did not pushed back like us, and got charged $50 for three movies she never ordered. This is my experience, you judge, you decide. The lack of respect this place showed us we’ll keep us out from going back there ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Times Square, tour bus, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Cruises.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
dmzafran
Los Angeles, California
Jan 14, 2014

Very good option

This is one of the great older hotels in the midtown area with a perfect location to base yourself for a stay in the city. We were upgraded for free to a larger room for no apparent reason. The only complaints were that there was still some leftover trash in one of the bins in the room and the heater made some strange noises during the night. Other than that, a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
the posh girl
Mexico City
Jan 13, 2014

A REALLY OLD (NOT VINTAGE) HOTEL WITH A GREAT LOCATION

THE ROOMS, THE BATHROOM EVERYTHING IS REALLY OLD, I EVEN HEARD SOME RAT SCRATCHING, AT NIGHT, IN THE HEATING !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
WA Film guy
Spokane, WA
Jan 13, 2014

Great Hotel for Broadway

My expectations were exceeded in ever way by the Wellington. Right from check-in the staff was courteous and professional. NYC was having a cold snap when we arrived and our heater was working. The engineering staff were great, got right on it and fixed the problems. There isn't much in the way of amenities, but its a great location to see the city from. I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bar Bacon on 9th in Hells Kitchen. Fantastic new bar/grill.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
MinnMike
minnesota
Jan 10, 2014

wellington hotel

Hotel was great for sight seeing due to it's location. Great cafe for meals. Hotel is old but rooms were clean and beds were comfortable and had clean linen. I would stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Fab Fred
Seattle
Jan 9, 2014

Good location and value

The best part is the hotel is in a fantastic location, close to everything in action, Time Squre, Central Park, museums, shopping, entertainment, restaurants, and transportation. The room was small, but clean and comfortable. The service was decent. The price was very good for the location, which makes it a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Enidd
Puerto Rico
Jan 8, 2014

Vacations....

This hotel is not handicap friendly. The only access to the hotel is through stairs and I had a lot of trouble to get my luggage in the lobby. The elevators are only for the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
katyan
detroit, mi
Jan 8, 2014

nice place to stay

We enjoyed our stay at Wellington hotel for a couple of nights during the Christmas break. The staff was really nice and helpful which made us enjoy the visit even more. The room was a little worn out but nice and tidy and the location was awesome, from a short walk to Times Square or Central Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Gma B Gpa R
Denver Colorado
Jan 7, 2014

Granddaughter trip to NYC

Trip with granddaughter from Alaska to see shows and experience New Years in NY. Great location for visiting and seeing activities. Convenient restaurants - great restaurant in Hotel. For the price, would have expected a Second towel bar! Also, no in-room coffee maker, refrig., free internet, bathroom vent fan, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If visiting over the holidays - cut your planned activities in half due to the overwhelming crowds at all venues.

Back to menu Return to top