$157 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
2,124 reviews
Beautiful hotel!!

First trip to New York! The hotel was beautiful with nice large rooms. Very clean!! We were able to... See full review

  • Letterman Fan
  • Jul 21, 2014
Excellent value for money

Good location, friendly staff. Allows you to walk to everything that is worth seeing. See full review

  • LeoSV
  • Jul 16, 2014
Radiating history from its walls, the Wellington Hotel New York?built in 1901?stands apart from the fast pace of modern city life surrounding it. The plush lobby is decked out in rich tones and intricate murals, while focal chandeliers give the interiors a classical ambience.  If you are here on business, the hotel?s central location and 24-hour business center will cater to your every need. Midtown Manhattan is full of excellent restaurants; gourmets would do well to try the Wellington?s delicious plates of Greek mezze at the Molyvos restaurant, or the Park Cafe's informal all-day dining options.
Key facts
  • 700 guestrooms
  • Two restaurants: Molyvos and Park Cafe
  • 24-hour business center
  • Gift shop
  • Hair salon
  • Multilingual staff
Neighborhood

With Central Park just three blocks away, the Wellington places guests close to a welcoming green space featuring a wide range of activities, including roller skating and boating, on the calm waters of the lake. Every type of cuisine is represented in this neighborhood, with area favorites ranging from Ray’s Pizza on Broadway to The Russian Tea Room on West 57th Street, where visitors can choose from more than 40 types of vodka, or book the facility for a classical afternoon tea. Retail therapy can be found inside the designer stores of 5th Avenue or the dependable establishment of Bloomingdale’s, which combines major lines and fresh labels.

Hints and tips
Some of the rooms have kitchenettes-perfect for hot snacks and downtime after a long day. If you're visiting in November or December, stock up on gifts and Christmas decorations at the Wellington's Christmas Cottage store.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7644 -73.9807
Area served
New York, Manhattan
Nearby airports
J.F.K., LaGuardia, and Newark airports
Area description
Centrally located in Midtown Manhattan, the Wellington Hotel is steps to Carnegie Hall, City Center, Central Park and Broadway, New York's celebrated Theatre District. Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center, Times Square and the Museum of Radio and Television are within easy walking distance. Equally accessible are the United Nations, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Jacob K. Javitis Convention Center. Fortune 500 headquarters and many corporate offices are nearby as are a variety of fine dining and world famous restaurants. Public Transportation is at our door and can take you in minutes to the Statue of Liberty, Wall Street, South Street Seaport, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim Museum, Museum of Natural History, Intrepid Air and Space Museum and Yankee and Shea Stadiums

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wellington Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Wellington Hotel Rooms

Standard Double -Double
Standard Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee. Note: a third person cannot be accommodated
Deluxe Double-Double
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with two double beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features two flat screen TVs with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, one bathroom; refrigerator and microwave (no utensils). High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Standard Room with One Double Bed
Standard Room with One Double Bed accommodates one or two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • University Club: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.4 mi

Dining

Park Cafe
A traditional New York coffee shop,The Park Cafe, which has been welcoming guests for more than 25 years, was recently renovated. Breakfast is served every day beginning at 6:00am. You can also enjoy lunch, dinner and after-theater dining until 1:00am.
Molyvos
Enjoy award winning Mediterranean cuisine at Molyvos. From noon Monday to Friday traditional Greek dishes and grilled fish specialties are served. Saturday and Sunday also offers brunch from 11:00am. Molyvos is located in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (2124)

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
2124 out of 2124
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alex the Traveling Man
Business
Glendale, CA
Jul 12, 2013

Cheap & Perfect Spot in Manhattan

Second visit to The Wellington. It's definitely improved since the last time I stayed. Hotel Front Staff Desk just okay. The Bell Guys are great! If you can get a good deal, go for it. It's in a perfect spot in Manhattan...with the good price and location...you can't beat it. So I'm hoping for another great deal with The Wellington again for my next visit. Thanks for saving me money and stretching out my dollar because NYC is expensive...amazing city...so every deal counts!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Greg Barrett
Waterford, Ireland
Mar 3, 2014

Spot On

I have just returned from a stay at the Wellington and all in all I can't complain at all. Its location is ideal, the staff are lovely and helpful and the rooms are kept very clean. My only gripe with the Wellington is that it is in need of a bit of TLC in the rooms but my understanding is that this is being done. At the end of the day, the room was clean - mine in particular had a balcony with a view down 7th Ave. to Times Square and a view of Central Park; the shower was lovely and the bed was comfy. Its very well priced considering its location and I for one would have no issue returning to this hotel time & time again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SimonH
U.K
Mar 1, 2014

Perfect Location.

If it's a clean affordable room your looking for 5mins walk from Times Square and less than that into Central Park you can't go wrong. The decor needs updating, curled up wallpaper and marks on woodwork, but who cares it's clean and comfy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JustJaker
Business
outer New York
Feb 26, 2014

working late in Manhattan

This was my fourth single night stay in the Wellington Hotel. My first two experiences were exceptional. My third and fourth not so much. I guess they figured I was looking for a place to sleep only. Honestly though, most of the midtown Manhattan hotels have upgraded their rooms with modern Euro style modular features, which I love. The Wellington rooms, though quaint are looking dated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close and convenient for either Times Square, Central Park and/ or Macy's, which all in different directions, but still close.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kristy31803
Massachusetts
Feb 26, 2014

Quick Overnight Trip

My friend and I went to stay overnight for a comedy benefit being held right around the corner from the Wellington. The location could not have been better-- sooooo close to Times Square, right in the heart of the Theater District. The room and hotel left a lot to be desired, though. The bathroom was small and inconveniently laid out. The shower was difficult to use and randomly scalded us. The A/C didn't work and the room was extremely warm. The window opened a little, but not enough to combat the stuffiness. Ice was located on the ground floor, and you could ring someone to bring it up for you, but there were no vending machines with water or anything on the floors. The Wellington does have a nice diner/breakfast/dinner place on the ground floor that was expensive, but very good. The staff in the restaurant was very friendly. At the end of the day, the price was good for the excellent location, but I think I would consider looking at other hotels in the area if we go to the same benefit next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MJD23
Milford, PA 18337, USA
Feb 24, 2014

I won't return!

Bathroom was very small. Room to Hot. No comfortable chairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gazzer
London, UK
Feb 23, 2014

Satisfactory at best

We were upgraded to one bedroom apartments with another double bed in the lounge - if we had known those were available we would have booked that for the four of us. Big problems with noisy central heating radiators banging loudly through the night in both rooms. Window blinds did not pull down properly, and curtains are only 1/4 width for show, so light coming in the rooms was a problem. Overall a bit shabby.Doubt we will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Creme Brulee
Vancouver, BC
Feb 22, 2014

First trip to New York with forest friend

The best thing about this hotel is its location only. The room was extremely small, not much walking space, and non of the pictures on their website shows the actually room condition. Towels was not washed/sanitised properly, how do I know that? 1: you will still see blood and other dark stain on the towels 2: newly changed towels has hair from the previous user (not my hair colour for sure) 3: you can't smell any chlorine that you normally smell from a hotel towel (not sure if this is a good or bad sign) You will find layers of dust around the washroom sink (rear or near the pipe). Room wireless access is pretty expensive (it is complementary if you book on their website) and no complementary internet at the lobby either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

New York has amazing museums and other attraction places. Most of them have admission fees. Get a New York Pass, New York City Pass or Explorer Pass could save you a lot of money (must plan your trip and schedule in advance). Get a 3 - day metro pass or 7-day metro pass (depends on your trip length) for unlimited subway and bus access.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bigirv
Milwaukee, Wi
Feb 17, 2014

good location

Great location, friendly staff, however no coffee maker or ice bucket in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
88Einer Danes
new york
Feb 16, 2014

NICE AND CHEAP

NICE AND CHEAP ... aircon is busted ... but overall this place is good for a temporary stay =

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Herb World Traveler
Louisville, Kentcky
Feb 16, 2014

Perfect Location

The Wellington is a great value. Only recommendation for improvement would be free coffee in the room or a pot in the lobby for guests. The Park Café located within the confines of the hotel building is fantastic to breakfast. New York can be expensive, so deal with that and put it in perspective, you will find it doesn't disappoint. Staff was outstanding and the cleaning maids outstanding, timely and friendly...not what I was led to believe about New Yorkers. I am sure a few folks would have a complaint about something, but then again your expectations are out of whack and you are too spoiled. If you want perfection and snobby type service...then head to a Ritz type hotel. This place is perfect couples, families and small groups that want to really enjoy the town. It is close to everything from the Park to Theatre District and most of the sites that anyone would care to visit. ALSO IF YOU ARE THERE, GO ACROSS THE STREET AND HAVE A PASTRIMI SANDWICH AT THE CARNEGIE DINER. FANTASTIC!!! I also tried KATZ's, another outstanding deli...but, I have to say, Carnegie is better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Show tickets in Times Square. Same day performances for half price and the lines moves quickly.

Back to menu Return to top