$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1646 out of 1646
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rikisa
San Francisco,California
Oct 3, 2012

Our first family visit to New York

We had a great experience. We arrived early morning with very little sleep. The manager arranged to get us into a room at a much earlier time which was greatly appreciated. The staff was courteous,pleasant and helpful. We will definitely recommend the Wellington Hotel to all of our friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the hotel shuttle. Worth every penny.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Shlasky
Business
Netanya
Apr 6, 2015

An old crowded hotel at a good location

The location of the hotel and the funny doorman are the two main advantages of this hotel. The hotel is old, the room was very small and there are no amenities. Not the best value for your money. I don't recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Darryn C.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Wonderful Honeymoon

We arrived at the hotel and were delighted to have been upgraded to a top floor suite with balcony and amazing views down to Times Square. There was also a chilled bottle of champagne left in the room courtesy of Lucille. We loved the more traditional New York feel to the hotel and the location was perfect. The rooms aren't huge but how much time do you spend in your room in New York? Staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Will definitely return and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EVREN O.
Business
istanbul
Apr 6, 2015

great location

after renovation prices increased a lot, 4 star hotel in Manhattan costs that much

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed guests
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

the worst experience

First of all, there are very loud noise coming from outside. It may come from heating machine host. The noise echo between very closed two building and just like aircraft roar. The next door is being renovated. We have a sleepless night and have to call for change a room at early morning. The staff told us no room available. We have to walk out at 8 am even paid whole night fee! We have to came back to check room status two times as time schedule that they told us. They insisted on no noise in the room. If you have chance to live in X04 room, you will know how loud the noise. My friend live in this hotel too. The room's noise is normal. And the staffs are so unfriendly, especially the manager. He is so rude when we came back to check the available room at noon. The worst experience we have! We will never come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shaun H
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

A great place

We ( wife and 2 teenage sons ) vacation in NYC a few times a year and stay at the Wellington Hotel only. The staff are great, from the 'bellboys' who we know on a first name basis, to the hair stylist Mickey, who cuts my boys hair evertime we are there. GREAT location where we can run in central park each morning, and walk to Times Square. We will not stay at any other place as the price is GREAT too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FRANCESCA
Business
LANCASTER
Mar 26, 2015

Great stay!

The Wellington Hotel was great, overall. Our toilet was leaking upon arrival, but a maintenance worker came to fix it quickly. The room was a bit warm. The location was wonderful! We will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Floriane and friends
Business
Cypress
Mar 24, 2015

Awesome location

The room was small...but it was kind of expected for NYC...Great location, nice welcome...Older hotel but very nice.. I would stay there again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dai
Business
Reidsville
Mar 19, 2015

Great Reunion with Friends

I stayed here while in NYC for a reunion with some friends, and we all enjoyed it very much! The location was central to many of our stops in the city--very close to both Central Park and Times Square attractions. There are also good subway stops on both corners of this block. The interior was nice--old, but well-preserved. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The only things that disappointed me were the view from my window (no lights, just power units) and the rates for in-room wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mistals
Business
Waterford
Mar 12, 2015

graduation trip

Fantastic location. Room was a little outdated, but clean and functional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HAR
Business
N/A
Mar 4, 2015

Great Location, Friendly Service

Perfect walking distance to Times Square, Carnegie Hall, Broadway shows, Central Park, museums, etc. Friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable beds. Clean and well maintained. But there's always room for improvement: Too many towels delivered every day. We followed the notecard instructions by hanging the towels to use again, but still more were delivered. We had to put all the extras in the closet. Also, the shower could use improvement. Shower head sprayed water everywhere, and the water temperature was unsteady: scalding, cold, just right, scalding, cold, etc. I stayed on the fifth floor, and my friend stayed on the 14th floor. He had the same complaints about the shower in his room. But everything else was so nice, we were willing to overlook this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top