$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1646 out of 1646
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Angry Director
Business
New York
Feb 16, 2014

Nice getaway spot.

Stayed here with my girlfriend on Valentines Day. Staff was great. The location was perfect. Nice NY hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the Time warner center.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
88Einer Danes
Business
new york
Feb 16, 2014

NICE AND CHEAP

NICE AND CHEAP ... aircon is busted ... but overall this place is good for a temporary stay =

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Herb World Traveler
Business
Louisville, Kentcky
Feb 16, 2014

Perfect Location

The Wellington is a great value. Only recommendation for improvement would be free coffee in the room or a pot in the lobby for guests. The Park Café located within the confines of the hotel building is fantastic to breakfast. New York can be expensive, so deal with that and put it in perspective, you will find it doesn't disappoint. Staff was outstanding and the cleaning maids outstanding, timely and friendly...not what I was led to believe about New Yorkers. I am sure a few folks would have a complaint about something, but then again your expectations are out of whack and you are too spoiled. If you want perfection and snobby type service...then head to a Ritz type hotel. This place is perfect couples, families and small groups that want to really enjoy the town. It is close to everything from the Park to Theatre District and most of the sites that anyone would care to visit. ALSO IF YOU ARE THERE, GO ACROSS THE STREET AND HAVE A PASTRIMI SANDWICH AT THE CARNEGIE DINER. FANTASTIC!!! I also tried KATZ's, another outstanding deli...but, I have to say, Carnegie is better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Show tickets in Times Square. Same day performances for half price and the lines moves quickly.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ebony100
Business
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire, UK
Feb 13, 2014

Long weekend away

This is our fourth stay at this hotel, and while it's a mid level hotel, it does everything we need. It has a great location easy access to Times Sq, Central Pk, and only a 2 block walk away from fifth ave. The rooms are pretty average, however this time we had issues with the heating, it was simply far too hot, even with the window open (and it was -5) outside. The staff responded quickly by fixing the fan allowing us to cool the room but it was still very warm! I would def return to the hotel, it is good value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brooklyns Diner - two blocks away on 57th avenue, a bit pricey the burgers to die for!

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JTHH
Business
NYC
Feb 13, 2014

Staff and room, equally cold

Checked in earlier and returned after a light night event about 1am. Room was cold but after being up for 23 hours, I was too tired to wait for maintenance or change rooms. Note on thermostat read "do not work." Not the best english, but it tells me they knew there were issues. The shivered throughout the evening. The next morning I warmed the room by running a hot shower with doors open. What frustrated me most was that when I reported it during checkout, she coldly said " I'm sorry," and that was the end of it. She didn't ask for details or show any concern about my miserable experience at the Wellington.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LauraE
Business
washington dc
Feb 10, 2014

mediocure

Room was small. No free wifi. Cable channels were all fuzzy. Good if you dont plan on spending alot of time in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NYLIMOM
Business
NY
Feb 10, 2014

Great location but lacks customer service

I called in the early evening to request extra pillows and blankets. My daughter is pregnant and needed extra for comfort and assistance. We never received them. In addition, the heater was so noisy, it sounded as if someone was banging a bat against the pipes! It was a restless sleep. I received the extra pillow and blanket the NEXT DAY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Whackobird
Business
New York, NY
Feb 8, 2014

Great room, Excellent location, Outstanding price

Had no problems getting in early. Room was HUGE - it was a suite! Clean, comfortable, outstanding location. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the sampedros
Business
buenos aires, argentina
Feb 6, 2014

1st time in NYC

the wellington was a great place to be to see downtown Manhatten. Close to Carnegie Hall, the Metropolitan Opera, Museams and Central Park makes it within walking distance for a first time in the big apple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CMCP
Business
Boston, ma
Feb 5, 2014

Good location, small, worn, moldy shower

The room was small, the building old, and the shower was moldy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top