$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1488 out of 1488
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rodger B
Business
Los Gatos, CA
May 3, 2014

Wellington

The hotel is simple and clean but not fancy. The staff are good. I stay there for my business trips. The price is cheap. I did have a problem with the heat not working in my room but that's not really a problem for me. The bed is comfy and there are lots of pillows. You don't really want to spend time in your room anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Blue Smoke for ribs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carpel113
Business
Maryland
Apr 30, 2014

Wonderful stay

The staff was very friendly! We were upgraded to a suite n our room was ready way before 3 pm. The hotel is perfectly situated between Times Square and Central Park. The only downside was the morning construction noises

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scoobybutters
Business
Ormond Beach, FL
Apr 25, 2014

A Great Value

As long as u r not trying to impress somebody with how chic and cool that u r, this hotel is perfect as its only drawback is it is WORN out... But clean 7.5 out of a 10, and evrything else is a 9 or 10. So if u r in a secure relationship and u want the perfect location with larger than average rooms for NYC (as i have stayed in seversl hotels in NYC the last several years) and a GREAT value, this is the place. I will stay here again, the next time with my VERY attractive and sought after fiance.......If u want to impress, then u simply pay 3 times the price at a renown hotel......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Broadway and off Broadway shows r a 10 minute walk...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
benurit7
Business
israel
Apr 18, 2014

wellington hotel - great hotel

the staff was very kind and helpful! the room was very clean and organized ! great location !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

apple store!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John Foley
Business
Saint Paul
Apr 16, 2014

Old World Charm - Right Next to Carnegie Hall

As an experienced/budget traveler, loved my stay in this charming old-world hotel. Simple small room at a great price for NYC. Carpet was old and room was small, but I was out in the city too much to care. Room was very clean and the water pressure in the shower was high volume and perfectly relaxing. Marble floors and décor...Park Café diner in same building was awesome. Coffee, toast, egg, bacon and potatoes for about $12. 2 blocks from Central Park; walked to the Met Opera and every art museum. Staff cozy. You have to pay for internet. I didn't complain but told the ladies that they must take grief for that lack of consideration and that I wasn't going to shoot the messenger AND I understood she wasn't at fault (check-in lady); she then was gracious and gave the Wi-Fi code for the entire 5-day stay. They fixed my clogging sink and I had a quiet room on the inside...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Greek restaurant stuff meatballs were so good, my eyes watered with delight.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike from MD couple
Business
MD
Apr 14, 2014

Great stay in NYC

We had a Deluxe Double - 2 double beds with a balcony to see the city below from the 23rd floor. I did not expect to have a living room, little kitchen and separate bed room and 2 full bathrooms. The inside of the suite was great. It was a little pricy but we had several reductions which brought the price down. The location was great next to several metro stops within 2-3 blocks. The Breakfast was delicious and included in the room price. The staffs were very pleasant, polite and arranging.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
That Guy Rob
Business
San Diego
Apr 6, 2014

Old, Cramped, & Old

The best feature of this hotel was location. It was close to everything we needed: Times Square, Broadway, Central Park, and important subway lines. The staff was extremely accommodating; they even went inside for more umbrellas for us. Aside from those positive factors, it was an outdated place. Older carpet and cramped hallways greeted us immediately as we entered out room. The bathroom was not completely clean when we arrived, and I'm pretty sure one day we had a set of stained towels. The shower was also tiny. The heat and pressure was sufficient, but the non-hotel shower curtain, shower-head leak, and slow-drain made for a semi-McGuyver obstacle course of calf-height water and mis-sprayed water. If you are not very particular about this sort of thing and you value location above all else, The Wellington Hotel is PERFECT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shusha
Business
everywhere
Apr 3, 2014

the location is the valuable point

other then that, it's an ordinery hotel. though i didn't understand why in these days i have to pay for wifi internet while everywhere else its free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
qbolt
Business
whittier, ca
Apr 3, 2014

better than expected!!!

For our first time in NYC.. we didn't know what to expect. The location was amazing, down the street from everything there is to see!! Times square, right there. Central park.. right there. Rockefeller & Carnegie hall.. down the street. It was nice all around. The room was warm, and inviting. The bathroom was super tiny, but it's all you really need. All around, i would definitely go back and book this hotel again when in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Do one of the bus tours your first day.. so the following days you can go back and do the things that interest you most, more in depth. It will also help understand the geography if it all there. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
crystal newlywed
Business
Tamps, Florida
Apr 1, 2014

Weekend Getaway

We had such a wonderful experience at this hotel. They were accommodating from beginning to end. They had some computer troubles but they made up for it by providing us with free breakfast! The location couldn't be better! Walking distance to Broadway, Times Square, and Central Park! If you really don't want to walk you can pay $6 for a cab! There is also a subway station below to hotel, which was very accessible. We enjoyed our experience and will return and recommend the Wellington!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Les Miserbles is an amazing play!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top