$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1647 out of 1647
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dutchies
Business
Rotterdam
May 2, 2009

great hotel to explore NYC

The Wellington has a great location. Close to Central Park and about 10 blocks from Times Square. You can do a lot by foot, except when you want to visit lower Manhattan or Harlem. The hotel offers great value for money, friendly staff and the rooms are fine (bit out of date in terms of decoration). Our room was a bit noisy but after another exiciting day in NYC we didn't notice the noise for too long. Bathroom and bed were all good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fmart
Business
Massachusetts
May 2, 2009

The room was too small

I had to move to Manhatan Sheraton with bigger rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
get out and travel
Business
Charlotte NC
Apr 24, 2009

Wellington was perfect

I liked the lobby areas the art deco fire place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs. Dutchess
Business
Beaumont, Texas
Apr 23, 2009

Lovely

The staff was great and most helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Time square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Western Washington State
Apr 23, 2009

Great visit, friendly and helpful staff

Arrived early, they were able to check me in early, a few hours later. They provided a fridge for my meds. There was a great view from my corner room looking down 7th Ave to its crossing with Broadway,and all the lights of the theater district.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Apr 23, 2009

Great Location, Great Staff

The location was great. Easy subway access and close walk to many attractions. The staff was first rate and very helpful. I would like to see them update the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Dont miss Rudy's dive bar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYCboy
Business
Jackson, TN
Apr 22, 2009

Well worth the price

The room was great. The location was great. Everything was great. Nice sized LCD tv in the room and nice room service. We got there a couple hours before check-in and our room was ready for us. We could see Central Park from our room. It's about a 5 minute walk to Times Square, and 2 minutes to Central Park. There's a Subway terminal right outside one of the entrances. I definitely plan on staying here again. If you plan your booking, you can get a really great rate. Rooms are a bit small, which I understand is normal for New York, so if you plan on taking kids or don't like close quarters, you may want two rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LLM
Business
Baltimore, Maryland
Apr 22, 2009

Not so good!

I requested a non-smoking room; the room that was given to us was a smoking room and we were told there were no non-smoking. I thought I could deal with it until my eyes started watering. The staff said they could come up and spray something in the room. They then found a non-smoking room but it had a double bed. I took it just to get out of the smoking room. The ventilation system in the room did not work; made a lot of noise, started out cool and then turned to HOT within a matter of minutes. We had to open the windows which made for a very noisy night. The sheets did not want to stay on the bed so it was a wrestling match. I guess for the price for one night it was doable; but I will not consider this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Potential NY Grad Student
Business
Portland, OR
Apr 22, 2009

Eh.

The room was the size of a broom closet. The bathroom had a heating pipe running through it (floor to ceiling) that caused the bathroom to be approximately 20 degrees hotter than the room. When we ordered room service and the food was delivered, the staff seemed to be extremely surprised the room was even a room! When we checked in, there were no towels in the room, and had to call the front desk to deliver towels. Over all, it was an appropriate place to lay your head down at night, and the staff in the lobby was fairly friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Carnegie Deli is kitty-corner to the hotel! Hint - get cash before you go as they only take cash!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ragtime Willie
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 22, 2009

Not the Best!

My chief complaint was that the radiator could not be shut off. There was no thermostat in the room. Even with three windows open on cold days, the room was sweltering. It drove me outside. I was told it was a building problem and nothing could be done. Most unpleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to many major places, most notably MOMA and Times Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top